Anita Cowley Savage’s Answers

Anita Cowley Savage

Dallas Child Custody Lawyer.

Contributor Level 10
  1. If my wife and I got married before her divorce was finalized is our marriage valid, how do we divorce/separate in Texas

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    2. William H. Alberts
    3. Charles Heard
    4. Michael E Hendrickson
    5. Erasmo John Compatore
    6. ···
    7 lawyer answers

    While the fact that your wife got married to you before her divorce was finalized might be considered in the child custody case, it probably will not get you the "leverage" it looks like you want. In fact, if you knew she was married and you married her anyway, that could backfire as a bad judgment call made by you as well. Who gets custody of a child is mostly dependent on factors that affect parenting itself, not necessarily any historical bad act by one parent or the other. The...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    5 people marked this answer as helpful

  2. I want to move myself and my two year old to our home state,is this possible with out anything being filed? What are my options?

    Answered about 4 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    2. Hubert Ray Steinmann
    2 lawyer answers

    The Texas legislature has clearly stated that it is in the best interests of children to have frequent and continuing contact with both parents when those parents have demonstrated that they are not a harm to the children. As a result, a "geographic restriction" is oftentimes put into place to ensure the children continue to live near the non-custodial parent (usually dad) after a divorce between mom and dad. Currently, there are no orders in place in your matter, so you technically have...

    Selected as best answer

  3. Age child can decide what parent they want to live with.

    Answered about 5 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    2. Edgardo Rafael Baez
    2 lawyer answers

    Children can give their input on who they would prefer to live with beginning at age 12. It can generally be made through a Statement of Child Twelve Years or Older that is filed with the Court. The Court's will balance the child's requests with what is in their best interests, so what a child asks for is not necessarily always what will occur. It is a case by case determination based on the facts and circumstances of each request.

    4 people marked this answer as helpful

  4. What is the cost of a non contested divorce without kids in state of Texas

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    1 lawyer answer

    The cost of filing for a divorce varies from county to county, but it normally runs about $300. That's paid to the clerk of court in your particular county. Next, if you and your spouse know how you want to divide your property, one of you could hire an attorney to draft the documents. When the draft is done, the other spouse could take it to their own attorney to review it, to ensure that it really says what you think it does. Depending on where you live, a good family law attorney will...

    4 people marked this answer as helpful

  5. What is the cost and procedure of filing for legal separation in state of TX

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Lu Ann Trevino
    2. Anita Cowley Savage
    3. Fran Brochstein
    3 lawyer answers

    The cost and procedure for filing a divorce varies slightly from county to county; however, you can expect the initial court costs to range around $300. Generally, the procedure consists of filing an Original Petition for Divorce and then having your spouse served, or receiving his or her agreement to waive service. Technically, you can be divorced 61 days after you initially file for divorce. However, most cases take much longer than 61 days, depending on the issues invovled (i.e. property...

    4 people marked this answer as helpful

  6. How long do i have to file for custody in another state?

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    2. Michael E Hendrickson
    2 lawyer answers

    You need to live in Texas for 6 months, and you must be a resident of the county you wish to file in for 90 days prior. Hope that helps!

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    2 people marked this answer as helpful

  7. I have been ordered to pay child support but ex-wife refuses to let me see our children

    Answered almost 6 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    1 lawyer answer

    While it may not make much sense, child support is NOT related to child custody. In other words, your obligation to continue to support your child does not end if your child's mother keeps them from you. Likewise, a parent cannot keep a child from the other parent just because that parent failed to pay child support. Since I don't know the circumstances around why you have been unable to see your children in 3 years, I can't answer your qeustion about what you can do. Since you have...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    2 people marked this answer as helpful

  8. Divorce

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Anita Cowley Savage
    1 lawyer answer

    Relief of divorce can be granted after publication in appropriate circumstances, but first you must meet the minimum threshold of residency in order to properly file for divorce in Texas. I'm not sure you do. Putting aside the publication issue for a moment, to have standing to file for a divorce in Texas you must have lived in Texas for the last 6 months, and you must have lived in the county you wish to file in for at least the last 90 days. You mention that you just moved to Texas "a few...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  9. Texas divorce law

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Lu Ann Trevino
    2. Anita Cowley Savage
    2 lawyer answers

    One option your fiance may have is to move to enforce the parenting plan as it is originally written (which I am guessing does not give mom the power to come and go as she pleases, but rather spells out what times and days the children will be with mom and with dad). I agree with the other attorney that he could also petition the court for expanded/full custody considering the circumstances.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  10. My ex-wife will not speak to me, look at me, or even acknowledge me as my son's father.

    Answered over 1 year ago.

    1. Mark Anthony Cohan
    2. Anita Cowley Savage
    2 lawyer answers

    There are two possible solutions available to you, depending on what the original divorce decree spells out and also depending on when that divorce decree was entered. The first solution is an enforcement - you've explained that the decree calls for nightly phone calls and you aren't able to exercise them. Presuming you are correct in your interpretation that those phone calls are ordered, you could request enforcement of that provision and make up parenting time for all the missed time...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

Protect yourself, your children & your assets. Know your options. FREE CONSULTATION.

214-707-0660