Skip to main content
Macy Michelle Jaggers

Macy Jaggers’s Answers

5,851 total


  • Im on mistminor probation in texas for possession of marijuana can i move to California with my dad

    I just signed 10 months and i want to move to CA for good what will happen in california if i was to get pulled over I know i can be held 30 days but after that what happens i highly doubt they would bring me back Will they transfer ? Whats ...

    Macy’s Answer

    You need to follow through with probation or you will have a warrant that will follow you around and eventually get you re-arrested. Apply for a transfer. If you can't get it, plow through your probation conditions and see if you can get early release or get converted to unsupervised in a few months. Either of these would allow you to move.

    See question 
  • Consequences for not turning in community service records within time period of Deferred Prosecution Agreement?

    I got Deferred Prosecution for a misdemeanor DWI in Texas in summer of 2011. The Agreement was for two years and one of the stipulations was that I do 50 hours of community service. Now I cannot remember if I actually turned in any evidence to the...

    Macy’s Answer

    Couple of things. You can't get deferred on a DWI. The law doesn't allow it. Possibly you were under 21 and got a DUI? Makes a big difference. A DWI would be a final conviction and not expungable. A DUI could be expunged if you successfully completed your deferral period. If you were successfully discharged from your probation, they cannot go back and change that or refile the case. You need to contact the clerks of the court and confirm your discharge status (and the level of your offense).

    See question 
  • I had a Class A misdemeanor DISMISSED and I got denied an apartment WHY?

    I had a class A misdemeanor FV case dismissed in court about a year ago. I have went and found an apartment that was really nice and in my price range. I submitted my application and I noticed it was taking a little longer and the leasing agent fi...

    Macy’s Answer

    A dismissed case will show forever unless you expunge it. A criminal history is a perfectly acceptable reason to reject a tenant in Texas. Any local defense attorney should be able to handle an expunction for you. Just start calling around.

    See question 
  • I need to know do I need a lawyer present to get a bond reinstated?

    I need a good court appointed lawyer?

    Macy’s Answer

    Well it sounds like you're in a catch-22. The only way you get a court appointed attorney is if the judge appoints one. But you can't go to the judge with an active warrant without getting arrested. So it sounds like you are either going to have to hire an attorney to go meet with the judge on your behalf or appear at court by yourself and hope for the best.

    See question 
  • My wife told police I threatened her.I said I didn't but was still arrested and released the next day and given a court date.

    If she doesn't come to court will the fine/charge be dismissed since it was a my word against hers type of thing. I also received a letter from the courts saying an ammended complaint was filed.

    Macy’s Answer

    All we can do is guess how your case will turn out. Are you charged with a Class A Terroristic Threat? Most family violence cases I handle are he said-she said scenarios. The prosecutors are used to seeing this fact pattern, and it does not necessarily cause them to dismiss the case. You need to speak to a local defense attorney to discuss the details of your case and get more specific feedback.

    See question 
  • Indictment quashed

    My public defender says that they are basically going to charge me Again of the same crime misdemeanor theft enhanced to state jail felony enhanced to second degree felony they just have to fix there mistake he said that when it goes through grand...

    Macy’s Answer

    A bond is attached to one case. If you are reindicted, this is a new case. Your attorney can ask the judge for a PR bond, which requires no money.

    See question 
  • How to get a case expunged?

    Two years ago I got into an altercation was charged felony. I paid for a lawyer and she was able to bump charges down to simple misdemeanor class c. Basically speeding ticket, due to me never having a prior. She told me that long as I stay out of ...

    Macy’s Answer

    It sounds like you are eligible for an expunction. The entire process takes about six months. Once it is expunged, no one can see it and you can legally deny that the arrest ever occurred. Fees will vary from one attorney to the next. Just start calling around.

    See question 
  • Does defendant have grounds that Attorney A was constructively ineffective at trial?

    Defendant in Texas charged with a crime hires Attorney A to represent him at trial. Attorney A has a partnership with Attorney B. Defendant never meets or speaks to Attorney B prior to trial. At trial, Attorney A is absent from courtroom for tw...

    Macy’s Answer

    It's unlikely. However, this is an issue for appeal. The deadline to file an appeal expires 30 days after sentencing. If you have missed this deadline, you may be able to proceed on a writ. You need to discuss this with an appellate attorney as soon as possible.

    See question 
  • I was arrested for DWI in McKinney, Tx and because it is the first time i've been in trouble. I am lost.

    I received a driving permit and was given a paper stating that I had 7 days to get the blowing device on my car. I don't understand why they suspended my license and are requiring the device before I ever go to court. I read that they only do th...

    Macy’s Answer

    These are all good questions. Here are a few short answers. For more detailed information, you're going to need to talk to a local DWI attorney directly.

    The license suspension is administrative and is triggered either by your refusal to provide a breath or blood specimen or you failure of a breath or blood test. You have a right to contest this but the hearing must be requested within 15 days of arrest. This hearing is an important part of your DWI defense.

    The device is a condition of your bond. If you do not want the privilege of being on bond while the case is pending, you can go to jail. Your local magistrate put that condition on you. Some Collin county judges occasionally remove it depending on the facts of your case.

    The officers typically do not issue a citation for the underlying offense.

    Obviously this is a very serious case and deadlines are already running. Most of us offer free consultations. Start calling attorneys today!

    See question 
  • Can cop stop someone claiming they had received a 911 call naming me specifically, for no other reason, in hotel parking lot? Tx

    Moving my car from one space to a space that was better lit in in a hotel parking lot, cop cuts me off, preventing me from parking or going forward. Windows down, from inside his suv, cops 1st words "turn engine off and step out of vehicle". Cop s...

    Macy’s Answer

    Sometimes. This is a complex area of case law that may have to be argued to the judge. Your attorney will receive all the states evidence and review it with you. Exactly what is said on the 911 call will make all the difference.

    Your first deadline expires 15 days from arrest. If you have not already started interviewing DWI attorneys, you need to do so immediately. Most of us offer free consultations. Just start calling around.

    See question