The first step toward getting your security deposit back is to give your landlord a written notice. The best time to request your deposit is when you notify the landlord that you are moving. Usually, you provide this notice at least 30 days before you plan to move. In your notice, you should tell the landlord that you are asking for your deposit back. You must give the landlord an address where you can receive mail. If you are moving and don't know the new address, give the address of a...
Maybe. In Oklahoma, there are some types of money that are protected from garnishment by a creditor such as social security. You can apply for an “undue hardship” exemption” if you have a family to support. An “undue hardship” exemption is where the court decides that all of your money must go to support your family and you do not have anything left over to pay the creditor. You must have a family or dependents that depend on your income to live before you can ask for an undue hardship...
It sounds like you have been illegally terminated. The first step is to file a written complaint with the EEOC. This must be done within 180 days of you being fired. It is very helpful to have an attorney help you with this process.
My firm handles this type of law in Oklahoma, along with other consumer law issues. Please call me for a free consultation. 800-350-2707 or 918-200-9272.
The simple answer to your question is Yes. If you decide to not use an attorney to make sure that the real estate is properly transferred, you risk not properly owning it at all when its time for you to sell it.
We sue debt collectors that don't follow the rules. www.ParamountLaw.net
Under OK law, you likely have the right to break your lease and move out. If you have out of pocket expenses associates with the problems caused by the living conditions (hotel stays, etc), then you may be able to file a small claims suit against your landlord.
The law says you have a "month-to-month" lease once the original lease expired at the end of last year. When you gave notice at the end of February, that was your 30-day notice. You must pay March rent, and you will have until March 31 to live there (provided you pay rent). When you move, you should properly clean it, and take lots of pictures showing that you did, as well as pictures of any damage you caused or was pre-existing. After you move out, you must send a certified letter to the...
If the new lease doesn't mention the original lease, then only the new lease controls. However, if the new lease mentions the original lease, then the new lease can specify what parts of the original lease remain in effect.
That sounds pretty suspicious to me. Writing you letters trying to squeeze money out of you is not what I would expect Walmart to do. It sounds like a scam artist to me, not Walmart. You should call the company headquarters directly (not the number on the letters they are sending you) to verify they are coming from Walmart.