Todd Adam Walters’s Reviews

Todd Adam Walters

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Unprofessional Behavior

    Posted by Scarlet, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Mr. Walters for my divorce. After two years I still wasn't divorced, but paid him $6,000 up front. He told me he was withdrawing from my case three times. He told me on the third threat of withdrawing two days before my divorce was supposed to take place. He really didn't have a good reason to withdraw. I highly recommend NOT to hire this lawyer for anything. I've read other complaints that he seems to have a habit of taking ones money, treats his clients like they are bothering him, and never completing the job he was hired for. He is one big mistake of a lawyer.

    1. Todd Adam Walters

      Todd Walters

      Lawyer Comment:

      Scarlet, whom we can call Sylvia, has a history of posting her opinions about people on the internet regardless of how manufactured, misplaced and inaccurate they are. Having had a long history with Sylvia, I can only hope that she comes to recognize her issues and that she seeks the competent professional counseling that she needs. My staff and I wish her the best of luck-

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

    2. Todd Adam Walters

      Todd Walters

      Lawyer Comment:

      Scarlet, whom we can call Sylvia, has a history of posting her opinions about people on the internet regardless of how manufactured, misplaced and inaccurate they are. Having had a long history with her, I can only hope that she comes to recognize her issues and that she seeks the competent professional counseling that she needs. My staff and I wish her the best of luck-

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  2. Outstanding service!!!

    Posted by Russell, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I am a DoD servicemember stationed overseas. I have been seperated for quite some time and needed to move on with my life and finally get divorced. It was difficult because my ex and I were at different locations overseas and I had no idea how to get the process started. I called Todd's office and was immediately put at ease as Cindy explained the process and everything I needed to do to get started. I was always informed from the beginning stages all the way through to the end. The payment process was smooth and when I finally met Todd he was down to earth, and a true professional. Todd made what initially seemed like an impossible situation, smooth and painless. I highly recommed his firm.

  3. My two week $13,000 mistake

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I refer to Todd as my $13,000 mistake because I was taken during a time when I was emotionally vulnerable (divorce, child abuse). I needed a lawyer who could be aggressive and present themselves confidently (to the opposing counsel as well as myself). I left my initial consultation believing I had found the "right" attorney to represent me and my children. Little did I anticipate Todd's "bedside" manner would turn out so differently. His behavior reflected the following shortly in to our contract: multiple phone calls and or text yelling at me, harassment (verbal and sexual in nature), and abusive language (his favorite statements to me were, "Shut the F*ck up" "Shut your f*cking mouth!"). He threatened to fire me several times right up to the Trial. I was never sure if he was representing me or my soon to he ex.. During these two weeks, I was on pins and needles whenever the phone would ring (unsure what side of T I was going to get). I left this business relationship assuming all lawyers were this way. I have since found this to be untrue and have only experienced respect and support in my present attorney.

    1. Todd Adam Walters

      Todd Walters

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is a perfect example of the limitations of the internet and the "client review" system, where anonymous posts are written in an effort to cowardly defame professionals. I am responding to this former client's review so that potential clients can understand "the other side". First, as no credible identifying information was given by the poster, I had to review my records to determine who the poster could possibly be, based on fees paid and their method of writing. I last represented this client in late 2012. This client retained me to represent them in a divorce wherein they alleged that one of their children was the victim of sexual abuse by their spouse. Contrary to their above post, the case was never set for trial. Rather, a hearing was set on an Emergency Order of Protection, which I filed (and obtained) on their behalf. Without going into any further detail in this explanation, after weeks of committing my entire law practice to this case, I formed the opinion that this client had severe mental health issues that I was not qualified to diagnose, and that those mental health issues cast doubt (in my mind) on the sexual abuse allegations they were making against their spouse. To me, the only thing worse than a child abuser is someone who falsely accuses someone of that abuse. As a result, I withdrew myself from the case (ie: I fired the client). Interestingly enough and contrary to their representation above, notwithstanding my withdrawal from the case this client paid my bill IN FULL following my withdrawal, THANKING ME (in writing I might add) for the legal service and attention that I provided as of that date. I pose this question to all who read this: would YOU pay your lawyer (or anyone else) in full if you were dissatisfied and treated the way this former client claims they were? Would YOU thank that lawyer (in writing) for the work they did after being treated in the manner alleged above? Would YOU, after almost six months of that lawyer no longer being on the case, be trolling the internet to find ways to feed your mental health deficits by making false allegations against someone who protected you and your children? Neither would I-

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  4. Compasionate American

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    There are so many possitive adjectives I could use to describe Mr. Walters. Therefore, II will not use just one. The minute I met him and sat down in his conference room, he displayed a high level of enthuiasm and concern for genuinely and immediately helping me with my problem. Mr. Walters went above what I was expecting due to my limited financial position. He could have very easily told me he could not help me because I could not afford his initial fee but he did not go down that path. I will never for get thatMr Walters changed my hardened view of attorneys due to his concern and compassion for others.

  5. Gets the job done!

    Posted by Debbie, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was going through a bitter divorce. My ex-husband's attorney brought in another attorney who was very unethical to help assist with his divorce. The attorney I had at that time lacked experience in dealing with my ex's "shyster" attorney. My divorce was riding on a lot. College expenses, rental properties, joint debt, etc... and my divorce was set to go to trial. Very quickly I had to find a new attorney that was wise, skillful, strong-minded, knows the law inside and out, could deal with the "bad garbage" that was going on with my ex and his attorneys & someone who would fight for me and my children. That person was Todd Walters. He responds quickly (by phone, text and email), kept me well informed and prepared for all possibilities. He was available for all "my emergencies" even on the weekends. He kept me calm and stress free. Having dealt with bad attorneys in the past Todd and his assistant Cindy were truly a blessing and beyond wonderful for me and my children. I would highly recommend Todd to anyone.

  6. RAYMOND BEATTY

    Posted by RAYMOND, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd more than 3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I could not have asked for a better outcome. Todd did a wonderful job. Very well prepared and aggressive in the handling of all aspects of the case. Kept me well informed. The best endorsement I can give; I would not hesitate to use his services again or to recommend him to a friend.

  7. Outstanding!

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I spoke to Todd after speaking to several other divorce and family law attorneys. I had a very difficult and complex divorce situation involving a business and some substantial assets. I knew right away that Todd knew what he was talking about, and that he would be the right one to help me. His experience and advice helped guide me and counsel me through a very difficult time. He offerred great suggestions and ideas that are TRULY appreciated.
    I just wanted to say thank you again for all of your help!!

  8. heartless and arrogant

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I tried to hire this lawyer for my mom who is very ill my father has decided to divorce her after 40+ years and wants a divorce so he doesn't have to pay her bills. Her brain is deteriorating, From two brain anyresyms her liver is producing ammonia and know one knows how long she has left. I said the word "dementia" meaning to say deteriorating so, I went to clear up what I said he said in the middle he can not divorce her with dementia but he never left me finish asking and clearing up if that stands for deterioration but, I "sighed" from stress and he got arrogant and said you know what I don't have interest in taking this case. WOW, your really here to help people or is it you choose easy cases to keep your reputation up eitherway both is wrong. The saddest part as he did not give me the moment to tell him his own colleague of his I know on a personal level. Very ingorant and arrogant person.

    1. Todd Adam Walters

      Todd Walters

      Lawyer Comment:

      Unfortunately, what the above caller does not share is the fact that, in our 5 minute conversation, I was unable to complete a sentence without being interrupted. Perhaps she was anxious about her mother (although she shared NOTHING of the above with me when she called), perhaps she thought she knew divorce law better than me. Whatever the reason behind her telephone demeanor, she was told that I respectfully decline to accept the case. No client (or their counsel) should begin a professional relationship on those terms, and I stand by my decline of the case for that reason.

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  9. Not Just an Incredible Attorney… but a Genuine Good Person

    Posted by Tanya, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I can’t say enough wonderful things about Todd Walters. I’ve never met an attorney who showed more integrity, honesty, warmth, and genuine concern towards his clients. As with any divorce, this has been an extremely stressful time in my life. Todd was compassionate and treated me like a real person, yet when it came to fighting for my rights, he was a pit-bull. When I was frustrated, he let me vent. When I felt like giving in, he made me fight on. My ex-husband was very difficult to deal with. He was not only irrational, but completely unreasonable. Todd helped me make good decisions. He was very responsive and extremely well-versed in the legal process. He helped me negotiate a very favorable settlement. I was very pleased with the outcome of my divorce and I owe that to him. Todd is simply outstanding and I sincerely thank him for all that he did. I would highly recommend him to anyone!

  10. Fathers Rights

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Todd Walters.
    • I hired Todd 1-3 years ago.
    • Todd handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Walters has been my attorney for four years now. Each time a new situation has arose with respect to my visitation with my daughter he has successfully fought for me. He remained honest as to what he believed the outcome would be. He also kept me informed as to what my rights are as a father. I am greatful for all his hard work, and success in fighting on my behalf.