Gary L. Schlesinger’s Reviews

Gary L. Schlesinger

Average Rating

Based on 18 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Self Proclaimed Super Lawyer Not Recommended

    Posted by a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would not recommend Gary Schlesinger. He is not trustworthy, not responsive, not knowledgeable and did not keep me informed. The experience of working with Gary was more stressful than my divorce.

  2. A great lawyer for a tough life experience.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary was understanding and helped protect my rights. His knowledge and experience leveled the playing field. I always walked into court knowing that someone was in my corner.

  3. When you need the best at this critical time, Gary Schlesinger is that lawyer.

    Posted by Mary, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gary Schlesinger was invaluable in helping me through a difficult time. When I was going through a complex divorce and custody situation, I really didn’t know which end was up. There were overwhelming emotions involved, and I needed someone with the expertise to navigate and advise me. Gary looked out for the best needs of me and my children, making sure we were provided for, so that we could move forward and focus on our new life.

    He guided me through the entire process and answered questions, no matter how trivial or time of day. He is truly a "champion" of families, and has a depth of experience that allowed me to focus on the important things, my family and the future. His skill, insight, compassion, responsiveness, and network of resources, from arbitrators to child advocacy, provided for the best and most successful strategies.

    I have come to know the respect other attorneys and judges show for Gary. When you are dealing with important, life-changing outcomes, you need to go with the best—and Gary is all that.

    I highly recommend Gary Schlesinger and the firm of Schlesinger & Strauss, LLC

  4. Gary Schlesinger

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Gary is very knowledgable and has excellent street smarts. He is very well respected by other attorneys and judges. Ifelt like he did a very good job on my case.

  5. Client

    Posted by Jon, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gary was helpful with this difficult process. The ex wife was combative, and impossible to negotiate with. The whole process was difficult to understand. When it was over, I realized I got a good deal. We stayed out of a trial, and the costs were kept down. I was divorced within 6 months.
    Our Judge defended Gary and his office during an open attack on his credibility. There was plain admiration for his practice in the courtroom. He spoke quietly, and the words hit like a hammer. He is organized, and presented the details of the days' deliberations well.
    I am still using Gary to defend myself in post divorce issues. It is important to have competent and experienced representation.

  6. Highly Recommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Schlesinger and Strauss, LLC to handle my divorce. At that very difficult time in my life, I found Gary and Mike to be supportive and responsive. Because of their experience and knowledge, I didn't have to worry that I would obtain the settlement and custody I desired, I knew I was in good hands. Information and my options were explained well. I hear stories of how poorly some divorce proceedings go and how they are dragged out by attorneys for additional compensation. Mine was fast and efficient and I was able to move on with my life without legal battles or crazy attorney fees thanks to Gary. I have continued my relationship with this firm to update child support and continue to find them helpful at each juncture.

  7. Do NOT Hire Gary L. Schlesinger

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I do not recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Let me first state that I am posting my review of Gary so many years after the divorce because I only now found this site. Had I found it sooner, I would have given the same review sooner. My experiences with Gary were so poor that I had to fire him in the middle of my divorce and pick up with a new attorney. Gary suggested we offer my then soon-to- be ex, the children of the marriage. I walked out of Gary's office with a very bad feeling about doing something I had no intention of allowing to happen; and I called him immediately to say do NOT offer the children. I know Gary got the message because Mike admitted to me that he did. Despite that, Gary offered up my children to the soon-to-be ex. That caused a court battle to ensue. I had to fight many more months than planned to try to keep sole custody of my children. Gary also, against my wishes and without my consent, asked the judge for permission to force a sale of my house. Finally, Gary withheld $5,000 in escrow that was being held for my daughter to receive medical testing. Due to Gary's incompetance, the judge refused the testing. It took months and a threat from my new attorney before Gary would return the $5,000 he held in escrow. It also took weeks for Gary to return all of the documents I gave him in regard to my divorce. I have no doubt that he returned far less than I gave him because I documented what I was giving to him before I did it. In conversations with my new attorney, it became clear he was missing documentation that Gary was supposed to return to me and that I immediately turned over to him. Gary was the weaker attorney in my divorce case. He was weaker than his associate, Mike Strauss, and very much weaker than the attorney my ex hired. In my opinion, he also showed he has no scruples - at least with respect to my personal divorce. Hire this man at your own risk.

    1. Gary L. Schlesinger

      Gary Schlesinger

      Lawyer Comment:

      it would be useful and helpful to know who this is so i could accurately respond.

      if a client says do not offer something, i do not offer it. any lawyer can only offer what the client permits to offer for settlement.

      i have no recollection nor trust account records concerning $5,000 being held by me for medical testing. if money was being held for medical testing, then a judge either previously permitted it or there was no need for a judge to approve it if the parents agreed to it. also, if there was to be testing approved by the parents, why would the money be given to the lawyer rather than the tester directly?

      if money was held in escrow, under johnson v. cherry, it could be held for payment of fees owed.

      it is not uncommon for clients to change lawyers in the midst of cases. we get clients leaving other lawyers. other lawyers get clients leaving us.

      again, if i knew who this was, i could respond better but not on this public forum. please contact me directly. thank you.

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  8. I cannot comprehend the lack of professionalism

    Posted by You know who this is, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 6-12 months ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    STAY AWAY

    First off, I read through the responses for the negative reviews, and I hope to nip this in the bud now. you know who this is, Gary. You know exactly what case this is. And you know exactly what you did wrong through this whole process. I don't know if I would have believed it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes this morning! Before I go into this, I want to say it is my soon to be ex wife that hired these guys. They were so terrible to her, that I am writing this review.
    The bad reviews that Gary receives are truly real. Communication is next to zero. Just this morning AT COURT; 9:00 at the court house on 5/13/2014, my soon to be ex wife and I were waiting outside the courtroom for Gary and when he walked by, he didn't even acknowledge my wife (she is the one who hired him) just stuck his finger in the air, ignored her and kept walking with another lawyer. after waiting in the court room for about 2 hours for our name to be called, I interrupted the judge and asked to approach. I asked the judge about our case and if they had it on the docket; they did, however, this guy decided that he would file some paperwork for another later date to finalize everything. blah blah blah, story story story...Nothing will get resolved by going through this whole story. what i will say, though, is stay VERY FAR AWAY FROM GARY!
    The only way my wife knew about the court date is from the letter I received from the Lake County Courthouse with the date, time, and room number to be in. My wife had to do almost everything with following up with these guys. The only thing he did was file the petition for divorce. Emails are not answered in 24 hours or less, phone calls are not returned, the woman that answers their phone at their office is rude, inconsiderate, and in my opinion, does not pass on a messages. (note: I said my opinion. whether she does or not, I have no idea, it just seems that way).
    with all of this being said, the process is still ongoing, nothing is finalized, and I blame the incompetency of Gary. My wife has requested Mike on a few occasions to no avail. While the fee letter may state that you are hiring both of them, you will probably end up with Gary.

    To recap: STAY AWAY

    Gary, if you want to make this right, reach out to my wife/ex-wife(whatever) and make it right.

    1. Gary L. Schlesinger

      Gary Schlesinger

      Lawyer Comment:

      let me recap for you and her. she called the office at five pm or so the day before court to say that you would not be in court. without your being there, the case could not proceed. then you and she show up in court. the case was not done and since she said you would not be there, i did not bring the file with me. so the reason it did not proceed yesterday is her doing, not mine.

      Posted 4 months ago. Flag

  9. Schlesinger Law Firm Review

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Schlesinger.

    Gary did a great job representing me during my divorce. This was a very difficult and trying period, but Gary's expertise and advice helped immensely.

    Gary's team worked hard to prepare a thorough Marital Settlement Agreement that helped ensure I was protected throughout this process.

    I highly recommend Gary and his team for prospective clients going through a Divorce.

  10. Poor communication skills

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Gary Schlesinger.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I hired Gary a couple of years ago for a divorce matter. Fortunately it was early on, when I learned that he was slow to respond when an urgent issue came up with my kids. He did not communicate verbally on the status of my case or the progress being made. I did share this concern with him, but it was clear my case was not a priority as nothing changed. After being represented for several months with little progress, I found a great lawyer who managed my case very well to its conclusion.

    1. Gary L. Schlesinger

      Gary Schlesinger

      Lawyer Comment:

      it would be nice to know who this is so i could respond specifically. why wait two or three years to do a negative review? why wait several months if something urgent came up with the kids?

      all clients receive copies of all papers, court or correspondence, either received or generated by our office. that is the primary means of communication. emails are answered usually within 24 hours. phone contact is difficult due to being in court almost every morning and most afternoons. there is usually no verbal communication on the status or progress. that is done in writing so there is no question about what was said.

      sometimes, due to the nature of the case, the judge, or the opponent, there are stretches of time in which there is little or no activity while waiting for the next court date, waiting for the attorney for the child to do an investigation, waiting for time for the other side to respond to our court papers.

      i wonder if the new lawyer gave verbal communication of progress or status.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag