I have a trucking co in SC. My driver was hit at a truck stop in Indianapolis, IN while he was sleeping. The insurance company doesn't want to pay for down time My truck was down almost 2 months being repaired in IN. We had expenses like, hotel, a...
They are required to make you while for your losses. You could bring a small claims court action against them and the other driver, or hire an attorney.See question
He was ejected from the cab, pinned underneath and killed instanly.. His load was way too heavy .. his wife of a couple of months filed a suit and didn't include my sisters and I in it. I am 21 years old now and I was 19 when he died. He's never d...
Sorry to hear that. Its terrible.
You should hire an attorney who does truck accidents and get them investigating right away. The truck company will have investigators out there immediately.See question
He tried merging into my lane and hit my front drivers side then i lost control and then he hit my back drivers side again. If he argues otherwise, do i still have a negligence case against him since his license was expired at they time.
In many cases the fact that the driver had no license is not admitted as evidence in a case. Even if it is not allowed in as evidence against the driver though, it might be allowed as evidence against the truck company for having a driver with no license. It sounds like you have a good claim for negligence for the drivers conduct too.See question
I have police report, press charges, pictures and witnesses any advice would help
Fax or email the report and I will take a look without charge. It depends what the police report says to a large degree.
Medical claims have been filed with the driver's insurance company, but they want an independent exam because she still has back pain. I'm concerned that the independent exam won't be so independent and she'll have trouble getting any additional ...
Your daughter has a no fault claim where her own/your own insurance pays for all medical bills, mileage, wage loss, homemaking, and replacement services. Typically, if the insurance company wants an IME (ind. med. exam), they will offer the cost of hiring that doctor ($1000 to $1500) to you, to make the matter go away, and so they can close their file.
That is rarely a good deal. Then you are done having medical paid for good. A better idea is usually to let them go ahead with the IME, and then fight them if they won't pay for medical bills. Our firm, like many, does not charge to fight the No Fault claim (arbitration). We are only paid if we make a claim against the other driver's insurance, and recover money. Then we get a contingency of 1/3, plus costs.
Randy KnutsonSee question
My wife was rear ended while dricving a rental car. The contracted driver handed the keys over. This occurred in CA. Is it right that the contracted driver must contact their insurance company and remedy will come from the driver at fault and p...
If you live in Minnesota, your own auto insurance provides No Fault benefits at first. This means $20,000 of medical bills coverage, and $20,000 of wage loss coverage, plus mileage, money for work done at home, and some other things. This is a Minnesota claim with your insurance company, and you MUST notify them right away; and fill out their "Application for Benefits" and Releases.
Then you may have a claim against the other driver's insurance too. But beware because California has a very short statute of limitations, so you must bring that claim right away too.
Randy KnutsonSee question
In an auto accident a passenger in the car was injured, driver does not own the car, it was borrowed. Who pays for the passengers injuries: The person who owns the car or the driver? What is the process?
In Minnesota there could be 4 or more policies covering the passenger, which is good news for the passenger. First of all the Passenger gets No fault benefits of $20,000 for medical and $20,000 for wage loss. This comes from their own policy, the cars policy, or possible a state fund. But the passenger should have this coverage no matter what.
Then there is a claim against the driver, and their car insurance, if they have any.
There is also a claim against the owner of the car, under Minnesota law that says an owner's insurance always covers the accident (called vicarious liability).
There could also be a claim against the driver if they negligently gave the car to the driver (for instance, if the driver had no driver's licence, or was a terrible driver).
Then lastly, there could be a claim for underinsured coverage if there is not enough insurance out there for the passenger. Thats alot of coverage isn't it?See question
I fell in my buildings bathroom at work. I filed a claim with the Property Manager right away. Just was informed their ins. denied the claim and said I had to file a workmans comp claim. I just want my missed work days & medical paid (about $1,60...
You may have 2 claims; one work comp claim, and one claim against the property owner. In Minnesota you cannot sue your EMPLOYER, if you are hurt in the course of your employment (while working). You can only bring a work comp claim with regard to your Employer.
But if the accident is someone else's fault, other than your employer, you can bring claim against the person or business that is at fault. A classic example of this is a Pizza delivery driver who is in a car accident. The pizza driver has a work comp claim since he/she was working at the time of the accident, AND a separate claim against the other driver who hit them.
In your case, if the property manager and building owner are someone different than your employer, you may have a separate claim with them, as well as your work comp claim through your employer.
Randy KnutsonSee question
i was rear ended monday guy didnt even hit his brakes completely his fault now i still owe 2000 on my car and im unemployed and waitin for my unemployment so the dealerships been calling will i even get any money or will the dealership find a way ...
When the accident is someone else's fault, your car damage should be covered. It is usually first covered by your own insurance if you carry collision coverage. If not, the other vehicle's insurance should cover the damage. If the car is totaled, any lien holder will have to be paid first (car dealer). If there is anything left over, you would get that.
The worst case scenario is that you are upside down, and owe more on the car than it is worth. Then you can owe the difference to the dealer.See question
My dentist performed a root canal and crown on my back tooth. After the precedure he told me that a piece of the drill broke off in my tooth cavity. I have started to have some pain in that tooth. I also think some of the other dental work he perf...
I think you should definitely talk to a lawyer in your state. You can usually also file a complaint with the medical board for dentists, if you wish to. The only problem may be that a claim against the dentist would cost more to pursue than a recovery you may receive. I cannot tell what your eventual harm or damages will be.See question