David K Porter’s Reviews

David K Porter

Average Rating

Based on 16 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The attorney to hire

    Posted by Jon,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.

    My family was having very serious problems regarding an elderly mother who was being abused financially by a family member. We were very lucky to have found David Porter. He listened, he understood our issues & he responded immediately . The situation was resolved and we owe David our gratitude. Additional, his fees were very fair. Highly recommended.

  2. Very Nice

    Posted by a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Porter.
    • David handled my Elder Law matter.

    David was very nice however I believe he may need a receptionist. We had a scheduled appt but he wasn't in the office at that scheduled time. I tried calling but only got his vm. My sister and I waited for approx 30mins and he was a no show. Once he received my message he did call back and apologize. He said "I thought with all of our emails going back and forth, you had cancelled" I reminded him that I sent him an email asking to reschedule our appt from 10/9 to 10/14 at 4pm, he responded with "confirmed" 10mins later and there were no other emails between the two of us, aside from the day of our appt letting him know my sister would be at his office before I would and that was sent an hour before our confirmed appt time. So, I'm not sure where he got "all of our emails" from? He then said he was sorry and that he must've mixed us up with another client. Unfortunately this didn't give us the warm fuzzies, dependability is a must and first impressions are HUGE with me, therefore we are going with another attorney.
    I will say he was very apologetic and seems like he would be a nice person to work with.

  3. Highly Recommend

    Posted by Colleen, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm the oldest of 8 children, and one of my siblings was taking financial advantage of my elderly parents. I contacted David Porter for advice on how to deal with the situation. He came up with the idea of drawing up an Irrevocable Trust, naming me trustee. My Father died 3 years ago, and I was able to negotiate all that needed to be done financially by simply providing a copy of the Trust to Social Security, Banks, Credit Unions, etc. The money was readily available without having to go through my Mother, who was 94 at that time. Since then, I've been able to handle all her financial matters with absolutely no hassle. My soon to be 98 year old Mother is now in a beautiful extended care facility which she would not have been able to afford had my errant brother continued to take advantage of her "generosity!"

    Within the last week, I referred one of my sisters to David. Her husband recently underwent a kidney transplant, and they needed advice on how best to deal with their estate planning, and what they needed to do immediately. My sister called me the next day to tell me how much she appreciated the referral. David was knowledgeable, kind, and caring. He clearly explained their options, and gave them a direction to go at this time. They have been through so much these past few months, and the information David provided relieved a great amount of stress and anxiety during this difficult time.

    I would highly recommend Mr. Porter.

  4. Real Estate Attorney

    Posted by a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have worked with David Porter over the last 15 years in the sale of real estate. He is very knowledgeable and detailed orientated.

  5. Professional and Friendly

    Posted by Kathryn, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    We felt that David was really looking out for us. He had our best interest as a priority and kept us well informed.

  6. A trusted friend; both personally and professionally

    Posted by sue,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    David has provided superior service to us several times - Will Writing and updating, Health Care Directive and our last Real Estate purchase.

  7. Simply the best divorce lawyer I could have hoped for

    Posted by Nancy, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When faced with an unexpected marital break, I was lucky enough to find David Porter. He was a rock, explained everything and worked with me to develop a strategy I could live with. My ex tried all sorts of things up to and post-divorce, but David matched him at every step. A huge relief, all around. Perhaps David is known for his excellent estate skills more than as a divorce lawyer, but I found him to be professional, professionally creative and professionally responsive. As well as a very bright man who was always interesting to speak with. I couldn't have made it through without him and his counsel. And that's a fact.

  8. Mother Passed

    Posted by Nathan, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    David handled my Mother estate after she passed, I was the executor of her estate and the information and training I receive helped me though a difficult situation. I received excellent support in the desposition of my mother assets including the House which was the biggest task since I did not live in the area and had to travel from Calif. He set me up with a list of responsible contractors for help in geting the house in order to sell, real estate professionals that sold my house on the first week it was listed. The CPA that I picked from his list provided me the support I needed. I kept a log with receipts and at the end she used my log book to complete a final summary that I presented to my brothers showing how the funds were spent prior to the asset distribution. The CPA handle all of the taxes for the estate and advised me in handling desposition of Bonds and Stocks associated with the estate. I was very thank ful for all involved.

  9. Fellow attorney refers clients to David Porter

    Posted by Chris,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.

    It is with both professional respect and high personal regard that I optimistically recommend David Porter as an estate planning attorney. I have referred many clients to him over the years and everyone gives him rave reviews.

  10. David Porter Review

    Posted by a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Porter.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I was in a probate and real estate situation that quickly turned complex and difficult. I called upon David Porter and he acted quickly and with competently to put things in order. There were some odd facts to this case and Dave knew what to do and came up with creative and effective solutions. He communicates very promptly and is empathetic to the emotions people are experiencing in a probate case. I am so grateful that I hired him and would recommend him without qualification.

612-722-1001