J. Kim Welch’s Reviews

J. Kim Welch

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. J. Kim Welch is a very bad Law Firm

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch more than 3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It was common not to get return calls and to be told that they filed though they had not. I got garnished several times long after they were paid in full and they did not provide protection as promised. I had to take the bankruptcy course 3 times as they failed to file before the expiration dates. I eventually contacted a malpractice law firm and the attorney there was very helpful and contacted the firm on my behalf by phone and in writing. This got things moving a little, although it seemed my only recourse was to file a grievance with the board. I kept asking the firm to please file as soon as possible for years. I am now discharged. Worst of the worst. Should I wast my time and file a greivance I don't think they even care or they would do their job better.

  2. Very Pleased

    Posted by James, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Jay helped me a lot and I'm glad I hired him. I was working two jobs and could barely keep up with my bills and was deep in debt. I had to struggle just to get to work with the price of gas and struggled financially taking care of my kids. It was a lengthy process but I really did not have to do much jay did mostly all the work which was less stressful in the long run. All in all I will be going back to his as my Attorney if I ever have any more problems in the future.

  3. Executes excellent legal advice and representation.

    Posted by Jordan, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.

    Hired Mr. Welch for a Chapter 7 Bankruptcy. Mr. Welch offers and executes excellent legal advice and representation. His attention to detail, extensive knowledge of the law and one's rights, combines with his strong positive spirit, uplifting and turning cases upside down for dismissals and monumental outcomes. I couldn't be more pleased with how he conducts his practice. Having an amazing office support was a huge benefactor. This allowed me to easily discuss my case in detail at any given time while also providing detailed updates, reminders, and important questions relative to my case. I can say that he goes above and beyond for every case he obtains and I highly recommend hiring him for any legal matters. He's not only professional but is genuinely a good spirited determined man that prepares to represent his clients in the most favorable outcomes using extensive research and facts that are truly benefactors in dismissing your case. I would recommend Mr. Welch to my family, friends. I can't thank him enough.

  4. Avoid this practice.

    Posted by John, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The staff on his office were very unprofessional. Lying about materials that were never delivered to us. An not returning phone calls. Trying to work with his practice was a very frustrating experience. And a complete waste of money.

  5. Complete Fraud

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Avoid at all cost. J Kim Welch was an unprofessional lawyer that failed to represent me in an appropriate manner. He took my money and failed to reimburse my funds.

  6. Would Definitely Recommend

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was very pleased with the staff at J. Kim Welch. They were very welcoming and inviting. When I first met with the Attorney I felt very comfortable. I had 3 different legal issues and they were able to help with all three for a very reasonable price. I was happy to know I did not have to go to other places because they were able to handle all 3 different cases. My bankruptcy was done quickly and they were so helpful with making sure it was the best choice for me. I would recommend this attorney for anyone.

  7. Horrible!!! Horrible!!! Horrible!!!

    Posted by Trish, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    HORRIBLE!!!! I went into their office and paid them in full up front the first day, within 2 weeks I was told they had everything they needed and were ready to file, it took them 7 months to file my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy, in the mean time my bank threatened to reposess my truck if I didn't pay them so I had to pay over $500.00 I should NOT have had to pay, they lied to me, hung up on me when I would not accept their explanation, and would not answer their phone or return my calls, furthermore, when they finally did file and I got my court date, I asked them what I needed to bring? and if they could let me know what to expect? they said when the date was closer they would contact me, they did not! if I didn't carry my social security card on me, which a lot of people don't, I would have been screwed as I needed to bring it, I also had to fill out paper work that was brought to me when the lawyer showed up, my appointment was at 11:00, my lawyer showed up at 11:00 so I had to sit in the hearing room and fill my paper work out during the proceedings, I would NOT recommend you hire this firm if you want good legal representation, it was absolutely the worse, nerve racking experience of my life!!!!!

  8. Great Service

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch 1-3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would recommend using this office for any legal issue you are having. They were on time and kept me informed. They were organized and informative with me and kept me up to date on what was going on with my case. I hope that everyone that i know would like to use the for future cases.

  9. Horrible!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch more than 3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Hired him to take over a case that was almost done. Took my money and cancelled a long awaited and already scheduled show cause hearing the judge signed for me! He cancelled the hearing and charged be a lot. I fired him. He kept my 1500.00 for less than a week and messing up my case. Then had the nerve to send an additional bill of almost 2000.00! I had to hire another attorney to correct his cancellation and redo the order which delayed the case and cost me even more money!

  10. Excellent Attorney to work with!

    Posted by Tom, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend J. Welch.
    • I hired J. Welch more than 3 years ago.
    • J. Welch handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    In my many years of working with different attorneys, I never thought I could trust one.

    I needed to file for Chapter 7 bankruptcy, so I called J Welch. He was very friendly the first time I talked with him. I was very happy to feel so appreciated.

    J Welch made sure to file my bankruptcy as soon as he could. In the end, everything went smooth, and every person I know I refer to Attorney Welch.