Marjory B. Cohen’s Reviews

Marjory B. Cohen

Average Rating

Based on 41 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A divorce proceeding longer than the actual marriage!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My family and I dealt with an unrealistically demanding, merciless, and utterly indecent opposing side / ex (including my ex's lawyer) and we were fortunate to have Marjory oversee the process from day 1 till its very end. While there were stumbling blocks along the way, I was very happy with the degree of professionalism, knowledge of the law, transparency, and firmness (especially during court appearances) that Marjory represented in ending the nonsense brought about by opposing side.

  2. Excellent Family Attorney!!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Child Support matter.

    Marjory Cohen is an attorney that I would recommend to anybody needing assistance with a family law case. She helped me out immensely, and did not stop when hurdles were put in front of us with my case. I talked to many attorneys before her; each of them gave me the runaround, and made me feel as if they did not have time for me, leaving me to feel as if my situation was hopeless. When I finally found her number in the phone-book and had a chance to talk to her, I knew I had found a good lawyer. Please do not hesitate to let her help you with your case, she is good at what she does. I greatly appreciate the work she has done for me, and I hope she is available if I ever need a good attorney in the future. Thank you Mrs. Cohen!!

  3. Thanks Again!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 6-12 months ago.
    • Marjory handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I truly appreciate everything you have done.

    I must say I could not have anticipated things to go any smoother or quicker than they did. You really helped make a terrible event in my life very manageable. The kids and I have transitioned well and are doing so much better.

    Thanks for everything!

  4. A Sincere Thank You From a Satisfied Client.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I cannot Thank You enough for your professional services and efficiency
    in handling this matter. I would recommend you highly for future clients.
    On a personal note, you have made a hard experience so much easier.
    Thank You So Very Much
    Happy Holiday and Happy New Year.

  5. Exceptional Attorney, I highly recommend Marjory

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I was referred to Marjory by one of her previous satisfied clients. I too am equally pleased by her knowledge, responsiveness, strategic approach, and thoughtfull recommendations.

    I would highly recommend Marjory to anyone contemplating or responding to the filing for a Divorce.

  6. Highly Experienced and Efficient Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I could not have asked for my divorce proceedings to go any smoother. Marjory was with me every step of the way making sure I understood the court process, and that things were handled fairly and professionally. All of my emails and phone calls were answered the same day, the majority of them within 15 minutes or less. Her knowledge and experience meant that no detail went unnoticed. I would not hesitate to recommend Marjory to anyone in need of a family law attorney. Marjory, I cannot thank you enough for your expertise and support during such a difficult time.

  7. A very smart "investment"

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Family matter.

    Being on the "unwanting" end of the divorce is a very emotional time. I called around not knowing what I was doing and listening to lawers tell me their approach to the law. I was not impressed. I had lived my life (50+years) and my marriage (22 years) always thinking about others and doing what I thought was right. I needed to find a lawyer who thought as I do because I wanted someone to represent ME and not themselves. I needed experiance because I was up against a very calculating woman who had planned this carefully. Having a wife who has several friends who seems to be very experianced in the art of marrying and divorving for a living made finding the right lawyer a very important task for me. I called around and interviewed several very good, respected family law professionals in my area and although they knew the law they did not seem too concerned with knowing me or my goals. Money and how much was in the game seemed to be a very high priority while I though my kids, house and future were more important.
    I was searching local lawyers and read countless ratings and reviews when I came across Marjory. Everything appeared to be as I wanted but I had been down this road several times in the weeks prior. I left a message on her website explaining my situation and requested an appointment. Marjory responded quickly and asked some very simple questions, she was interviewing me... We set up a face to face in her office and after that meeting I knew I found someone like me, someone who can represent ME. It would almost be like it was me with the law degree representing myself! She made it clear that we play by the rules and cut the crap out of the process. target what matters and forget the little things. After agreeing to her terms of payment the process was on. I was still very confused and at times emotional, Marjory was understanding but professional and that kept things rolling. We went through the typical paperwork responses from my ex-wifes legal team, all that is pretty standard no matter where you go. Its in the detail that Marjory shines. Marjory explained everything to me and paitiently educated me on terms I never heard before and hope to never hear again. She knows the law and flat out kicks butt when it comes to advice and guidance. Being an emotional basket case she makes sure you fully understand the possible results from your decisions.
    We ran into some very experiance book keeping and trickery and when it got to a point we needed help, Marjory does not mess around. we decided to hire a professional to go over financial and buisness records. This was the most important decision I have made in my life it appears because the results were eye opening. Between Marjory and her "go to" professions I was able to come out of this far better than I could have ever imagined. We set goals at the beginning and all the while I was an emptional rollercoaster, being dragged into the slimey world of cheat, deciet and anger... Marjory kept it real. ALWAYS reminding me of the targets we set and staying focused.
    I write this memo now from my house, the house I kept. My daughter is in the kitchen right now making lunch. My son who is in college will be able to remain there and my pension.... MINE! Those were my goals. yes I also was awarded some "toys" but in the end as I look around... toys and "stuff" can be repurchased, in fact after my ex-wife took all the crap she was after I realized all she did was clean my house. Everything she went after was something I can go to the store today and repurchase. The things that were important to me were items that , yes, you can buy something similar... but I have the ones with the memories.
    A lot of words I guess but the bottom line is that without Marjory, I most likely would not even have my computer. Call her and trust her. Don't listen to other lawyers... look them in the eye. You will choose Marjory.

  8. The Best Attorney Ever!!!

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • Marjory handled my Child Support matter.

    I waited 23 years for my child support payments. Attorney Cohen was understanding, professional but aggressive. She is very knowledgeable of the law and made me feel very confident during the process. I am sooooo satisfied with the outcome of my case and would recommend her to anyone feeling unsure about what the outcome would/could be of their case. She was prompt and always available to communicate with me regarding my case. Thanks again Attorney Cohen!!!

  9. Professional and Quick

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Marjory represented me in my divorce case with two minor children. I cannot tell you how much of a relief it was to have her in my corner. She made sure that I was educated in the entire process and kept me informed of every happening. She taught me how my husband and I could negotiate many of the particulars ourselves and encouraged us to work together for the benefit of our children. I can recommend Marjory without reservation. She is truly a blessing during a most difficult time.

  10. Amazing Experience - Highly Recommend

    Posted by Susan, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Marjory Cohen.
    • I hired Marjory 1-3 years ago.
    • Marjory handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Marjory was very professional and responsive. I was in a situation where I was under a deadline regarding a change in domicile. Marjory moved the process through very quickly and assisted me in reaching my goal. She listened, gave suggestions and responded very quickly to any and everything that was going on pertaining to my situation. I highly recommend Marjory. She made a very stressful time stress free!