Maurice Ostrom White’s Reviews

Maurice Ostrom White

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Would Highly Recommend M White as Your Attorney!

    Posted by Theresa, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice 1-3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Maury White was my attorney for my dissolution and for the adoption of my adult children. For my dissolution, Maury was very supportive, open to discussion, excellent at keeping me focused on what I needed to do, and assisted me in setting goals to work through and toward our separation. For my situation, Maury helped me to engage several specialists for valuing financial areas that were to be considered in our split. His contacts proved to be invaluable in helping me toward the final resolution.

    In regard to my children, due to inheritance, beneficiary, and just our own well-being, my children and I wanted to go through the legal adoption process. Maury and his assistant, Ellen, helped me through the adoption process with both of my children who are both young adults. My eldest was born in another state and my youngest was born out of the country. Thus, neither situation is what was considered “easy.” At the end, all was complete.

    Overall, I would highly recommend Maury for a couple who is trying to work through the difficulties of separation, end of marriage situation or an adoption.

  2. condesending

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice more than 3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    This man was condescending and rude during intial consultation. He acted as if i were a lunactic when i was just asking questions and upset due to my current situation, as anyone would be. he told me the initial would be "no charge.". when i got up to leave he said he would "bill me." he called back to say "he would have to talk to my therapist" before
    agreeing to work with me. a bg turn off. run, dont walk away
    i send a note back saying he said it was free and never heard from him again. he seemed like he
    belonged in a new age meditation camp rather than divorce court. unrealistic and
    unempathetic. do not recommend. dont was your money

  3. Highly UNrecommended

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice 1-3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Well, it would take a LOT for me to go out online and give a poor review - in fact I never do it, but I am literally shocked by the experience I had with this attorney and I feel I must share this to spare any others from having the same experience.

    I spent about an hour and a half with this guy in an initial consultation and have never experienced such a high level of unprofessionalism than I did during this time. He was extremely impatient with me. All I was doing was asking questions and he was visibly frustrated with almost every one of them. He'd stop me and say "just listen!" Or "just relax!" when I was perfectly calm - just asking questions as they arose. At one point in time he said "I have to answer this question a million times a day!" And I looked at him and said "not to me...". The consultation literally ended when I went back to a previous question, because he did NOT answer it clearly, and he threw up his arms in the air and said "I don't know any other way to answer that question! I am sorry. I can't be any more clear". And I thanked him and left.

    I am a college graduate and have worked in senior management - I am not stupid. He can't answer questions clearly and he doesn't want to help you understand anything. He seems burnt out and frustrated and appeared exactly like a disgruntled employee who was forced to be there and do his job. I was blown away by his unprofessionalism and would never recommend him to anyone.

  4. Tina J. Murawski

    Posted by Tina, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice 1-3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After years of attempting to make a very volatile separation an amicable divorce our Warren County Judge told us to attempt mediation. We were referred to Maury White and I began dreading another step to try to begin this ending to our marriage. We had been too many therapists, counselors and countless attorney appointments and courtroom appearances to no avail.
    I immediately liked Maury as he told us of his years as a practicing divorce attorney watching clients spend many hours and years of emotions trying to come to terms. He decided he would rather assist his clients in a way that instead of dragging out the pain could assist them into a smoother pattern of this difficult time for the entire family. In two appointments and four hours he accomplished this for us. After feeling that my ex husband would never adhere to a third party and their opinions Maury somehow made us both feel like we were getting and made it easier to give. The slight sign of seeing the light at the end of this long, dark tunnel was so appealing to both of us that it energized us to work harder to come to conclusions on some many different parts of our settlement. We even had it put in our final agreement that in the future we would always attempt mediation before a court motion of any kind would be filed. I credit Maury White for this. He is a kind, patient, soft spoken man that helped us out immensely. I encourage any couples that have the unfortunate decision of divorce looming to seek Maury for consultation.
    Tina J. Murawski

  5. Outstanding Attorney!

    Posted by Cathryn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice more than 3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Maury White is a great Attorney. He is knowledgeable, kind, trustworthy and dependable. He always does what he says he will do....sometimes more, but NEVER less. He helped me get through what could have been my worst nightmare with a very positive outcome for all concerned. My children ended up with 2 parents who are still friends. Maury kept us all on track and focused during the negotiations which saved us a lot of money in legal fees. He helped us write the terms of our divorce in the best interest of our family rather than handing over our futures to a judge who didn't even know us or our kids. I can't think of anyone I would have rather hired to represent me.

  6. Look at all your options

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice 1-3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He was used in my divorce. It was to be collaborative, but he made it adversarial between me and my ex. He did this by not telling the whole story, taking months to respond, sending documents with error, and charging double what was promised. Find someone who will help you through this very hard time, not prolong it.

    1. Maurice Ostrom White

      Maurice White

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm pretty sure this was posted by my client's former husband. So please take it with a grain of salt. Thanks, M

      Posted almost 2 years ago. Flag

  7. Great Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice more than 3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The 1st time I met Maurice he actually helped my now ex husband conclude his 1st divorce. When I had to find a lawyer, it never entered my mind to call anyone but Maurice for his expertise!!! He was helpful, and very understanding of my situation. He turned something ugly into a smooth and timely experience!! No one wants to go thru a divorce, but with him he made me feel good about going thru with it. My ex husband even gave in to the divorce once he learned Maurice was handling it, and he was in another state. The divorce was painless enough for me to get thru it without hassles and worries. Maurcie was great and I would definitely recommend him. Thank you Maurice!!!

  8. Pathetic

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Maurice White.
    • I hired Maurice more than 3 years ago.
    • Maurice handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired this joke for my divorce several years ago in Hamilton County....he allowed my ex husbands attorney to order a paternity test for my child and I had to pay for it.....he charged ME for the time it took him to set up appointments for the test! I never wanted the test I knew who the father was MY EX HUSBAND.....I was given the minimum amount for child support a whopping $63 a week! I wanted my child to keep my maiden name....the name that I had given to my child the day of birth....he did everything he could to give the other lawyer what he wanted....I feel he did this because my ex husband was overseas in the military! I gave this man almost $3000 and he said I still owed over $1000..He will not look out for your best interest he will only look out how to get more money from you! DO NOT EVEN GO TO A "FREE CONSULTATION" WITH HIM! He pressures you into signing right there....I was only 19 when I went for my divorce I expected a lawyer to work for ME and guide me because I was the naive one.....not to work for the opposing attorney and act as if they were BFF's!!!!