David Charles Shook’s Reviews

David Charles Shook

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Exceptional Lawyer

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.

    As a father, I can tell you that David Shook has done an exceptional job of representing me in gaining custody of my children. From my very first encounter with David, he gained my trust as an experienced lawyer. If you want an attorney that will go above and beyond and will do what it takes for his clients, choose Mr Shook. I also found his pricing to be fair.

    1. David Charles Shook

      David Shook

      Lawyer Comment:

      As a father it is truly gratifying to help another father regain custody of the children, especially when that father's children were wrongfully removed from their custody. I know the importance of children and strive to provide all of my clients the representation they deserve during such a trying time.

      Posted 10 days ago. Flag

  2. Lifesaver for traffic issue, license supsension

    Posted by Joy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My daugher had a traffic issue in Bowling Green that resulted in her license being suspension. When we became aware of this issue, we had no idea where to start. We called David and he brought immediate calm to our situation. He gave us advice over the phone in that first phone call, and made himself available for a court appearance the very next day. Due to his expertise, the issue was completely resolved, charges were dismissed and her license was reinstated at no cost. We were lucky that our issue was just a paperwork mixup, but there is no way we could have navigated the system that quickly and ended up with that result on our own. He made both me and my 20 year old daughter feel immediately at ease. My daughter was in very good hands with David. I would recommend him without hesitation.

    1. David Charles Shook

      David Shook

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was truly a pleasure to help this young lady with her traffic matter in Bowling Green Municipal Court. When people retain me they are often scared and concerned. It is a pleasure to help them solve their problem and make them feel at ease. I strive to do this for every client I have the pleasure of representing.

      Posted 10 days ago. Flag

  3. David Shook Law Firm

    Posted by Miguel, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David 1-6 months ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called Mr Shook on a Thursday morning in order to have a motion entered (to reverse a temporary custody Order) prior to 3:00 pm on Friday (if not done by this time, then the case would have taken much longer and many more visits to the court house). He was able to get the job done by 10:30 am on Friday. He and I had phone contact at least 5 times in those 24 hours to keep me informed of his progress.

    He traveled over 50 miles from his home base to process my case with a one day notice. He stayed through to the delivery of children to my daughter and I.

    I would hire Mr. Shook again if I needed any legal help in OH again.

    1. David Charles Shook

      David Shook

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was truly a pleasure representing Miguel's daughter in Seneca County Juvenile Court. When a client has been wronged it is truly a pleasure to be able to right that wrong and to do so in a quick fashion. It is especially gratifying to reunite a mother with her children.

      Posted 10 days ago. Flag

  4. Great Attorney

    Posted by Dallas, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.

    Mr. Shook is an amazing attorney. He went above and beyond to help me get custody of my child. He was always available to assist me and was very knowledgable about child custody matters. He truly cares about his clients and works hard to get you the results you want. He always maintains a positive attitude and puts his clients first. I would highly reccomend Mr. Shook.

    1. David Charles Shook

      David Shook

      Lawyer Comment:

      I'm glad Dallas was pleased with my services. It is truly a pleasure to help a client obtain a result that makes them write such a review. I strive to get these kind of results for all my clients. In the end I would like to think I help all my clients. Often, it is the client who is the biggest help to a case, and Dallas was just such a client.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  5. Mr. Shook is one of a kind....

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    To be very specific when people use the phrase grabbed the bull by the horns that is what Mr. Shook did for me and my case if you are looking for a top notch lawyer without all the bullshit that comes along with getting one Mr. Shook is definitely the way to go I can assure you that you won't be dissappointed. He worked around the clock for me and my family I was able to get full custody of my 3 year old daughter

  6. Highly recomended!!

    Posted by Robert T. Vestal, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have tried three prior lawyers all of which seemed like good lawyers came in with the bark but had no bite. David Shook did all and then some for what he said I was going to recieve. David was on time with call backs, had a great understanding of the majistrates decision making which in return helped him position our next move. Always on time, took the time to explain everything we did not underatand, was able to come up with questions on the spot in addition to the prepared questions. Great posture, very confident, relatable, good rates and a person worthy of this great review. Thank you David for all you have and continue to do for our family our path is forever changed due to your zealeous representation. Being a man in wood county and winning custody. if that doesn't speek for its self nothing will.

  7. Awful. Just awful.

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David 1-3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    He treated me very unprofessionally in my case. Never returned my calls, was nearly impossible to get a hold of. He knew what he was doing, but it took him nearly 3 times longer than it should have to resolve my case. Was constantly "losing" and "misplacing" required forms to fill out. Very lazy, very disorganized. I would never work with David Shook again, and would never recommend him to anyone for any type of legal counsel. Stay far away.

  8. child custody case

    Posted by Corey, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Once I sent Attorney Shook the check for my child custody case I never heard from him again.

  9. NOT impressed

    Posted by Christine, a Real Estate client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Real Estate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Unfortunately Mr. Shook does not stick to his quoted pricing, nor does he respond in a timely manner and he is certainly not very well organized. He got all tasks completed but the communication was poor & I feel we were overcharged. I cannot recommend him and will not be using his services in the future.

  10. David Charles Shook

    Posted by Peggy, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend David Shook.
    • I hired David more than 3 years ago.
    • David handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Shook was extremely competant and professional at his job. I was very comfortable speaking with him and sharing the information of my situation. He was also extremely fair when it came to expenses and let me know whether it was "worth my while " to spend money inappropriately if he truly b eleived something would not benefit me in my favor. Hopefully, I will not have any more extreme legal matters in my career as a teacher but, if it were necessary, I would continue to employ David as my attorney. He is fair, honest and hard working.

Call now for a free consultation.

419-779-2027