Rayl Leigh Stepter’s Reviews

Rayl Leigh Stepter

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Honest, Caring, Professional and Unrelenting

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl 1-3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Employment / Labor matter.

    Mr. Stepter is approachable, honest and never gives up when things become complicated. He was my representation in an employment discrimination case with a company which refused to cooperate with various legal requests and became stubborn and evasive. Even with the attempts made by my former employer to drag the issue out for as long as possible, Mr. Stepter stayed focused and never indicated any sign of giving up. I would highly recommend his practice to anyone who has been subjected to employment related injustice. Mr. Stepter is brutally honest (which I admire greatly),and he handles his cases professionally and with compassion.

  2. excellent lawyer

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Sexual Harassment matter.

    I hired Rayl regarding a sexual harassment matter. He is an excellent lawyer. Very quick to respond and he always informed me of any changes regarding my case. I would highly recommend Rayl for any legal matter you might have.

  3. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was fired from my job but knew it was a wrongful termination. I visited five other attorneys before hiring Rayl Stepter. I am very happy I hired him! I won my case and received a larger settlement than I thought was ever possible. He is a great attorney! Rayl Stepter is very intelligent in law, helpful, kind and courteous. He returned all my phone calls in a timely manner and answered all my questions. He will definitely fight for your rights and do everything possible to help you! I hope I never have to hire an attorney for employment law again, but if I do I am going to hire Rayl Stepter! He is the best!

  4. Satisfied

    Posted by a Sexual Harassment client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Sexual Harassment matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I hired Rayl a few years back. Although I feel like this could have been settled a lot sooner, I feel good about the end result. He was very knowlesgable and helpful, when you could get a hold of him. He had explained that he got a new phone system working out about 9 or 10 months after I hired him. And from then on I was able to leave a message and be assured he would give me a call back soon. My case might have just been another pile on his desk that he would get to, but he always seemed concerned with my well being. I would recommend him to anyone who just needs a fair and honest fight!

  5. A knowledgeable attorney can help.

    Posted by Danya, a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Just over 3 years ago I came to Stepter Law Office very unhappy with my then employer. Atty Stepter helped me sort out the facts, what I should expect as an employee. He was very knowledgeable about what the law says about discrimination. I was never left wondering about the status of my case and if I had questions he responded promptly.

  6. Very Professional

    Posted by a Discrimination client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Discrimination matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Rayl Stepter to represent me in a discrimination case involving my employer. I found him to be very professional, knowledgeable, and responsive. His judgement was well reasoned, and he provided excellent advice from a legal standpoint. I would recommend him to anyone who has been discriminated against in the workplace.

  7. Excellent Service

    Posted by Julia, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I hired Rayl Stepter almost a year ago regarding an unlawful termination. Throughout my Case he has been an Exceptional Attorney well versed in the Law, and has Excellent Communication Skills. He is highly responsive to client’s legal questions, and concerns. He is dependable extremely Professional, and someone I will always recommend.

  8. Missed statute of limitations.

    Posted by Jeff, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Rayl Stepter.
    • I hired Rayl more than 3 years ago.
    • Rayl handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    I hired Rayl to represent me on a defamation claim. It took Rayl over 5 months from the time I first contacted him until he was able to serve a simple demand letter to the opposing counsel. Defamation has a 12 month statute of limitations and by the time Rayl had served the demand letter on the opposing party the statue of limitations had already expired and I was forever barred from any recovery.

    The defamation was done by a large corporation and I believe was done intentionally to prevent me from gaining employment at a competitor due to a patent that was currently pending that a number of senior level executives believed provided a competitive advantage in excess of $47 million dollars. I can only imagine what a jury would have given me had I hired an attorney that devoted a reasonable amount of time to my case. The most frustrating aspect of this is the amount of evidence that I had to support my claim, which including an internal document outlining a similar plan that was executed against a former service provider.

    Over the 5 month period that it took Rayl to produce a short 3 page demand letter (most of which was simply copied and pasted from a summary I proved to Rayl) he consistently made excuses as to why he hadn’t produced the demand letter, he rarely returned phone calls or e-mails and when he did it was usually with just empty promises of when he would get to my case. After Rayl completely missed the statue of limitations, Rayl presented me a bill for his services that showed he spent less than 6 hours total on my case over that 5 month period.

    I was employed in a very specialized niche field and this defamation effectively destroyed my career and rendered my experience and training virtually useless and has forced me to start over in an entirely new career field. I entrusted the single most important case I had ever encountered in my life to Rayl and he ignored, delayed and effectively abandoned my case. Hiring Rayl to represent me was the most significant mistake that I have made in my life.

    1. Rayl Leigh Stepter

      Rayl Stepter

      Lawyer Comment:

      The defamation claim as presented to me at the time by this former client, in my opinion, had little if any merit. Based upon my knowledge and years of experience, the best theory of liability was pursued by my office on his behalf. The result was that the matter was resolved to the satisfaction of all parties back in 2008. Having said that, the circumstances surrounding this gentleman’s separation from his employer are obviously painful to him. Employment terminations are often emotionally taxing on the client. Further complicating matters, the attorney must often provide advice to the client that he or she is not emotionally prepared to hear. Unfortunately, one aspect of the employment law practice that is often difficult is in advising clients that pursuit of all perceived injustices done to them will not always yield the results from a judge and jury commensurate with the pain they are feeling. Nevertheless, legal counsel must fulfill their obligation to provide objective, unbiased advice which is what occurred.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag