Skip to main content
Jon A. Swartzfager

Jon Swartzfager’s Answers

27 total

  • Is there anything illegal about this?

    my girlfriends dad is on his way home from arkansas and has sent my girlfriends mother a txt mesage saying that he was going to beat my girl friends ass from neck to ankles when he got home. he has already thrown her in the floor before, he threw ...

    Jon’s Answer

    You should immediately call your local Department of Human Services ( DHS ) and tell them that you know someone who is being abused. The telephone number will be listed under State of Mississippi or under the county you live in. If you can't reach the DHS call the District Attorney's office and tell them what is going on. Stress that this is an emergency situation. If all else fails call your local police station and ask for help! Good luck to you and your friend and God bless you fro helping your friend.
    Jon A. Swartzfager
    Jon@Jaslegal.com
    601-649-3240

    See question 
  • Can bank seize my other assets...

    I can no longer pay my mortgage. I did not pay in Feb and cannot pay this month. Letters and phone calls are now coming in. One mentioned a shortsale. I owe about $149,000 on house and 27 acres. I own another smaller home that is paid for. Can the...

    Jon’s Answer

    You need to contact a lawyer in the Hattiesburg area. There is an excellent chance something can be worked out with your lender other than a short sale or foreclosure. You may be able to refinance your home at a lower rate of interest which would reduce your payments every month. Your property is worth much more than what you owe on it so contact a lawyer to work with you on keeping your home and acreage. Good luck.

    See question 
  • I was charged for a crime that i was innoncent of served prison time and now they dropped the charges

    i was on non judicated probation and was violated for poss. of cocain. they revoked my probation and sentenced me to 4 yrs. i served 1 yr.and now im out on 3 yrs parole. mississippi child service took my child and now she is about to get adopted. ...

    Jon’s Answer

    You need to contact a lawyer on the Gulf coast. Call the Harrison County Bar Association and ask for a recommendation of a family law attorney. If you cannot afford an attorney you should contact the Mississippi Volunteer Lawyers Project in Gulfport or Jackson. You can "Google" the name for their telephone number. Good luck and may God bless you.

    See question 
  • Small Claims Court In Mississippi

    I've decided to take the dentist who made a deep cut through my gum tissue that grew over my wisdom tooth to small claims court. She didn't even tell me she was going to cut it. But before I go what will I need to take to court to prove my case....

    Jon’s Answer

    Denise,

    Yes you will need a dentist to testify to the standard of care involving the procedure you went through and point out where the dentist that injured you failed to meet that standard of care. It has been my experience over 45 years the periodontist is not going to go to court for you. His deposition will almost certainly have to be taken outside of court and then be used in court. The taking of a deposition is expensive ( the periodontist will charge you a fee to testify and you will need a court reporter). The expenses can run from $1000 to $3000 dollars. This is why I suggest you talk to an attorney and see if he/she willl represent you on a contingent fee basis. The attorney can advise you of damages that you can be paid for that you are probably not aware of. Shop the yellow pages for a PLAINTIFF'S lawyer. Good luck. Jon

    See question 
  • Small Claims Court In Mississippi

    I've decided to take the dentist who made a deep cut through my gum tissue that grew over my wisdom tooth to small claims court. She didn't even tell me she was going to cut it. But before I go what will I need to take to court to prove my case....

    Jon’s Answer

    You really need to talk to an attorney who handles Plaintiffs's (people who have been injured) cases. There is some very complex law involved in a malpractice/medical negligence cases. These lawyers will usually represent you on a contingent fee basis. By that, I mean they will not charge you anything you will have to pay out of your pocket, but they will take a percentage of what they recover for you from the dentist who injured you. You really shouldn't try to handle this by yourself!!! Good luck.

    See question 
  • I have three felonies I plead guilty to one I have arraignment in two days will I go to jail I bonded out on them already

    I am 21 my ex and his girlfriend. Pressed charges on me and say I shot at them but it's s lie I have 2 aggravated assault charges and a forgery for cashing a 275 dollars check I plead guilty for that so will I go to jail at arraignment

    Jon’s Answer

    The purpose of the arraignment is for you to plead guilty or not guilty. You are entitled to a lawyer before you plead. If you cannot afford one then you must tell the judge and he will appoint one for you. It is essential that you get advice from an attorney because a third felony would make you an habitual offender and your punishment severe. Remember you must talk to an attorney before you plead !!! Good Luck !

    See question 
  • I have three felonies I plead guilty to one I have arraignment in two days will I go to jail I bonded out on them already

    I am 21 my ex and his girlfriend. Pressed charges on me and say I shot at them but it's s lie I have 2 aggravated assault charges and a forgery for cashing a 275 dollars check I plead guilty for that so will I go to jail at arraignment

    Jon’s Answer

    The purpose of the arraignment is for you to plead guilty or not guilty. You are entitled to a lawyer before you plead. If you cannot afford one then you must tell the judge and he will appoint one for you. It is essential that you get advice from an attorney because a third felony would make you an habitual offender and your punishment severe. Remember you must talk to an attorney before you plead !!! Good Luck !

    See question 
  • I have three felonies I plead guilty to one I have arraignment in two days will I go to jail I bonded out on them already

    I am 21 my ex and his girlfriend. Pressed charges on me and say I shot at them but it's s lie I have 2 aggravated assault charges and a forgery for cashing a 275 dollars check I plead guilty for that so will I go to jail at arraignment

    Jon’s Answer

    The purpose of the arraignment is for you to plead guilty or not guilty. You are entitled to a trial to a lawyer before you plead. If you cannot afford one then you must tell the judge and he will appoint one for you. It is essential that you get advice from an attorney because a third felony would make you an habitual offender and your punishment severe. Remember you must talk to an attorney before you plead !!! Good Luck !

    See question 
  • Can a 25 year old and a 17 year old be in a sexual relationship in mississippi?

    im 25 and my girlfriend is 17. we have been dating for a while but we have never had sex. the subject came up and i was wondering if i would have anything to worry about

    Jon’s Answer

    The age of consent may be 16, but if you have sex you can be charged with statutory rape of a female under the age of 18. Consent doesn't doesn't matter and statutory rape is a penitentiary offense !!!!!!!

    See question 
  • MY APT HAS HAD WATER DAMAGE 5TIMES.MY LEASE IS UP IN 3-31-11.I HAVE FOUND ANOTHER PLACE CAN THEY TAKE ME TO COURT MY LEASE EXSPI

    ON 3-31-11 IM SCHEDULED TO MOVE IN MY NEW PLACE ON THE 25TH OF FEB..THEY WOULDNT CLEAN MY CARPET EACH TIME SOMETHING HAPPENS UPSTAIRS OR NEXT TO ME IT COMES IN HERE EACH TIME I HAVE HAD A FAN IN HERE FOR ATLEAST 5DAYS.THE PEOPLE THAT LIVE IN FRONT...

    Jon’s Answer

    Under the circumstances you've described I'm of the opinion that you can break the lease and move. You should be able to get your deposit returned as well. If they don't want to return your deposit tell them you're going to contact a lawyer and the Better Business Bureau. If they still won't give you your deposit call the Mississippi Attorney General's office and ask for the consumer protection division. If you do need a lawyer call the Mississippi State Bar Association and ask for guidance to a lawyer who will help you for free if you can't afford to hire one. Good luck.

    See question