If they haven't released a person car to the finance company, and they seized it over a year ago, does that mean that he may still be indicited.
He needs to notify the finance company of the seizure and hope that they can still file a claim. If your brother didn't file a claim the government may have sold it at auction already.See question
my fiancé was hit by a car and she took off running. since there is no witnesses and she denies hitting him their insurance isn't wanting to pay out. my husband had pins in his hand due to broken bones from the accident. not only that but because ...
It sounds like you need to speak to another personal injury attorney. Your injuries and damages are too severe for you to handle this on your own. The law requires that you prove that the other driver caused the accident;' but if she was charged with DUI, it's possible the Court could require her to admit to the accident as part of a plea. It's not clear if you had a local attorney but I suggest you speak to one to see if you still have a valid claim. Tennessee has a one year statute of limitations. This means you must either settle all claims or file a lawsuit within one year. If you wait beyond that time period your case could be barred by law. One additional peice of advise. If you do not have a claim due to the inability to prove the liability of the other driver or a lack on insurance, Tennessee does have a victim's compensation fund to help pay some of the medical bills. It won't be much but it might help. It's available to victims of drunk drivers.See question
Let's say someone took $300 worth of merchandise from a large retail store and have returned to store multiple times "without stealing" about 6 weeks ago." took product out of packaging down another aisle with minimal view from camera and was not ...
The store would have a year to bring charges against you. So if they eventually review their cameras and inventory and discover the theft, they could then request a warrant. I agree with the prior attorneys; stop going to the store. The security will eventually have reason to target you for investigation and then arrest you. And if you are taking products out of view of the camera and apparently worried about the camera's view, it's clear you probably will steal again from that store. Most people don't worry about the camera's view because they aren't stealing.See question
My ex girl friend and I got into a heated argument. Things progressed and I ended up putting my hands on her. She called police after I left. The detective issued a warrant on his behalf because of our history me and my ex. I want to turn myself i...
It's unlikely the Court will appoint a public defender to represent you until you turn yourself in. You will need to either surrender yourself and then wait for a public defender to be appointed (and for a bond to be set) or hire a private attorney prior to surrender. The fact that she does not want to press charges will be helpful once you are in court but it's unlikely to make the case go away prior to your surrendering on the warrant.See question
my children's dad was arrested for BURGLARY - BUILDING VANDALISM $1000.00-$10000.00 the police officer that arrested him drag him out the police car by his feet bruising his arms legs and his back how likely is it to win the case for the abuse...
An attorney would have to know significantly more information than just that he was dragged out of the police car to determine if you have a claim. It would depend on why he was arrested, if he resisted arrest, if he resisted being removed from the police car, was there any video or witnesses of the abuse, what prior record he had, and many other factors. Also, if the only injury he suffered was some bruises, it's unlikely an attorney would take the case on a contingency fee basis (meaning the attorney gets paid only if he wins). Suits against the police and county can be very expensive and if the only injuries he suffered were minor it"s unlikely to have enough value for an attorney to get involved. Speak to a personal injury attorney in your area. The law gives him one year from the date of the alleged abuse to either settle or file a lawsuit. If he waits beyond that time period his claim could be barred by the statute of limitations.See question
he is currently incarcerated for a robbery charge could they be using this case to indicte him for another
Being indicted means a Grand Jury has reviewed the facts and determine there is enough evidence for your son to be charged with a crime. It does mean he has been charged; it does not mean he is guilty. That will be up to a Judge or Jury to hear the case and decide his guilt or innocence.See question
Me and her parents have had a bad relationship.. Her dad hates me but her mom doesn't. If we have sex and her parents find out can they take me to court for rape or any other charge that could put me in jail in the state of Tennessee? So if we ha...
If she is at least 15 and you are not more than 4-5 years older than her then it is not against the law. That law is to protect teenagers who's boyfriends/girlfriends are a little older but not much older. So as long as the sex is consensual between both of you and she is 16 and you are 1-2 years older than her, you are not breaking any laws. Here is a copy of the Tennessee rape laws including statutory rape. http://www.tbi.tn.gov/sex_ofender_reg/sex_offender_law_pdfs/Webpage%20SOR%20Definitions.pdfSee question
I hung a confederate flag outside of the house i am renting, and the landlord approached me with an attitude saying I have to take it down. When I asked hom why. He said "It's my house, and I don't want it up." Can I legally keep my flag up, and d...
Read your lease. If your lease says you cannot alter the appearance of the house without the landlord's permission then you will have to take it down. Just because you lease does not mean the owner gives up all right to control the use of the property. Depending on how your lease reads, he may even be able to keep you from displaying it inside if it can be seen from the outside.See question
I am the respondent but choose not to go to court although i was served
If you do not contest the petition for the order, the court will likely issue a permanent order of protection. Then you will be precluded from being around, contacting, harassing, or being around their workplace of family. If you are found to have violated the order of protection in the future you can be charged with a felony. And if you are under an order or protection it is against the law for you to posses, even in your own home or car, any type of firearm or ammunition.See question
the charges were assault but were pleaded down but it seems like after I completed my obligations the papper work never followed
Were you convicted of a misdemeanor or felony? Was it domestic related? If it was a felony then it probably will prevent you from getting a permit. Felons cannot possess firearms or ammunition. If it was a domestic violence situation you may very well be prevented as well. But if it was a non-domestic violence misdemeanor then there is probably nothing that prevents you from getting a permit. Check with the permit office in your area to see if they see anything that would disqualify you.See question