Skip to main content
Patrick E. Stegall

Patrick Stegall’s Answers

69 total


  • Can I get this expunge from my record? If so, where to start?

    I was convicted of possession of drug paraphernalia at age 19. I have not had any problems with the law in the last 5 years. I recently apply for a job and was told my background check was unfavorable and was not hired.

    Patrick’s Answer

    Possession of paraphernalia is eligible for expungement in Mississippi. You can petition the court where you were convicted, but it is still up to the judge. The judge must determine that you are rehabilitated from the offense. Only first offenses can be expunged. You should contact a Mississippi criminal lawyer for help.

    See question 
  • Can i be arrested for a bench warrant issued in oklahoma when i live outside of oklahoma now.

    i was to relingquish my parental rights to an adopted child. i was told by welfare to appear in court or a bench warrant will be issued. they will not tell me why other than i need to sign the papers in court. this is not normal procedure. the sum...

    Patrick’s Answer

    I would check with the OK court to see if there is a warrant. If there is one, it will be enforced in another state. If you are stopped for speeding (or any other minor traffic offense) in MS or another state the officer will run a check for warrants. If that OK warrant come up (and it should) you will be arrested and jailed, then extradited to OK. That is not a process you want to go through. Check on that warrant, and if you have one go to OK to get it taken care of.

    See question 
  • FALSELY ACCUSED OF BURGLARY, CONSPIRACY AND GRAND LARCENY, WILL I BE CHARGED?

    SOMEONE BROKE INTO THE CHURCH, LATER I WAS ARRESTED AND NOW I AM SCHEDULE FOR COURT IN OCTOBER FOR THIS INCIDENT. I HAS NO KNOWLEDGE OF THIS INDENT WHEN IT HAPPEN OR WHOM TOOK PART IN IT. I HAS WITNESS TO VERIFY MY WHERE ABOUT DURING THE TIME IT...

    Patrick’s Answer

    You need to get a lawyer to investigate your innocence. This charge is not going to just go away. For whatever reason, the state feels it has enough evidence to prosecute you and now you must defend yourself.

    See question 
  • Can I beat this DUI charge?

    Stuck in ditch while attempting to turn around. Someone was on their way to get me out when cops showed up and asked if i had been drinking. I admitted, and was so fourth arrested. I blew a .14 at the jail. The thing is that I was never a given a...

    Patrick’s Answer

    Tennessee law requires that the officer advise you of the consequences of refusal to submit, but that advisement does not have to be in writing. If you refuse you get charged in a seperate warrant or citation, and that's probably the form you're thinking of.

    Anyway, the advisement has nothing to do with admissibility of the chemical test. It has to do with license suspension for refusal to submit. If a driver's not properly advised then the court cannot suspend your license for refusing, but it doesn't throw out the chemical test.

    See question 
  • I have a class c felony in tenn. is it possible to get it expunged, happened 15 years ago.

    i have paid all fines and made restitution

    Patrick’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    You cannot get a C felony expunged. Under the new law the only felonies that can be removed are certain E felonies.

    See question 
  • I have an appearance required in court for simple marijuana possession in Tennessee. However I live in Massachusetts.

    It is my first offense, and I was very cooperative and wasnt taken to jail. Is an attorney necessary for this case? The marijuana was brought into the state from MA, does this have anything additional consequences?

    Patrick’s Answer

    That the drug came from another state is not going to add any additional consequences. If you want this handled properly, get a lawyer. I understand it's a long way to travel for court, and if you're set for arraignment a lawyer can waive your appearance, but eventually you will have to come to court, maybe a few times.

    See question 
  • What time if any am i looking at for burglary of a non dwelling?

    im 18 and me and a buddy broke into a house and stole a few tools,the next day a detective came to my house and arrested me and my roommate. he told on us, and i admitted the crime because he said if i didnt lie he would work with me. i tried to t...

    Patrick’s Answer

    You said non dwelling but then you said house, so I'm not sure which one it was. If it's part of the "dwelling house" then you're looking at a minimum of three years if convicted. But since it's your first offense, the property was returned, and the owner does not want to prosecute, that'll help you. But you need to talk to a lawyer to see what options you have for staying out of jail and keeping this off your record.

    See question 
  • I've been charged with employee theft in the amount of 1080. What will they do to me?

    First time offender, I wrote a letter of intent to pay, no criminal past, mainly stole items like canned food & toilet paper. Didn't ever take money from the register & didn't do unauthorized refunds/voids. Only merchandise.

    Patrick’s Answer

    This being a non-violent crime, and you being a first-time offender, you have options for keeping this off your record and avoiding jail time. That could include supervised probation and restitution. That you stole inexpensive, bulky merchandise items and not money makes me wonder if you have some type of kleptomania and should undergo counseling. I mean, canned food and toilet paper? May be something to think about.

    But this is a very serious charge, a felony punishable at a minimum of two years. You need to talk to a good criminal lawyer in your area.

    See question 
  • I accepted a plea and put on a lifetime sex offender list. how can i reduce lifetime clause i hv no prior criminal

    a minor was not involved and convicted on a fabrication of a women with zero evidence other than her statement, no dr, witnesses or dna

    Patrick’s Answer

    Lifetime registration on the sor means just that--for life. It is for violent sex crimes, and you cannot get removed from the list. You must stay on it for life. Non violent sex offenders can request removal after ten years.

    Since you pled guilty you can't appeal, though you could petition for post-conviction relief if it's been a year or less since judgment was entered. But post convictions are not easy to win.

    See question 
  • What is customarily the punishment for 1st Offender in Tennessee for Domestic Assault?

    I am in the military, the defendant (with whom I have a child) does not want to press charges and will show up to testify on my behalf, and the misdemeanor assault was due to an alleged shove that left a small, thumb sized bruise. The "victim" is...

    Patrick’s Answer

    I agree that you'll probably be looking at a discharge if convicted. However as a first-time offender you stand a good chance of avoiding a conviction if you handle this the right way. Max punishment on this is 11 months & 29 days. As a first offender you'd be eligible for diversion, which requires probation for that period of time. Sometimes these cases can be resolved even quicker, like by attending anger management classes and/or having the victim sign an affidavit that they do not want to press charge. Depends on how they do things in your area. Just get a good criminal lawyer and this can get taken care of.

    See question