Skip to main content
James Edward Blount IV

James Blount’s Answers

17 total


  • I got 2nd degree burn from a phone. They want me to send them the phone. What should I do?

    I fell asleep on my phone as I woke up with a huge painful burning sensation. It blistered and scabbed and has now left a small scar on my arm

    James’s Answer

    Keep the phone. Call a lawyer.

    See question 
  • Advice or comments

    I had a car accident in a company car. My only injury was to my right thumb. The workmans comp doctor made a determanation that is is a 1% impairment. Workmans comp has offered a benefit of 2% impairment. I believe 1 to 2% is basically the same a...

    James’s Answer

    There are a few things that need to be considered before you settle with the workers comp carrier. First, did you return to work with your employer? If so, then that will limit your recovery significantly. Were you ever provided a panel of physicians? If not, then now may be a good time to insist on one. Also, given the low impairment rating, you may want to consider getting a second opinion. A lawyer would help you tremendously.

    See question 
  • Can a co-owner license be suspdend for an auto accident?

    I (owner) was in a car accident with no insurance and has been found to be at fault. I know that if I don't make arrangments with the other driver insurance company my license can be suspended if a judgement is won against me. My question is can...

    James’s Answer

    Are you sure the co-owner is actually on the title? If so, then the co-owner's license could be suspended. However, if he just co-signed
    on the car loan, he will probably be ok. Double check the title.

    See question 
  • Walmart pharmacist gave 5 times the dosage for my 4 month old son. How much settlement to expect?

    My 4 month old son was prescribed lasix. The doctor called in the prescription to Walmart. When I pickd the med from Walmart it had 0.5 tsp mentioned as dosage. After I started Giving the med my son started getting crankier, puked a lot, started...

    James’s Answer

    Hire an attorney licensed in Arkansas as soon as possible and STOP TALKING TO WAL-MART! There is no reason you should be discussing anything with their claims department and you certainly should not hand over any authorizations. Wal-Mart has earned itself a terrible reputation for treating injury victims unfairly. Also, this claim is more your child's than yours, so any settlement should be overseen by a guardian ad litem and approved by a court. Shall you sue? Absolutely.

    See question 
  • I developed tendonitis in my elbow which I later had to have surgery on it. I didn't know that this was a form of work injury.

    My insurance company is paying all my medical expences, also for my therapy. I told my supervisor and my team lead about my elbow pain, but I wasn't aware that this would be considered an injury. I am off work on short term disability since I had ...

    James’s Answer

    Tennessee law requires an employee to notify the employer, preferably in writing, within thirty days of the date of the injury or when a physician first tells the employee that his/her condition is work related. If the thirty days has not lapsed, give a written notice of injury to your employer at once. If it has lapsed, ask your doctor if the injury is work related, report the injury to your employer in writing, and prepare for a legal fight. Call a lawyer to help you.

    See question 
  • Car accident not my fault and no insurance?

    I was in a car accident 12/12/12 with 2 of my childern 3yrs & 11mo. I missed the green arrow to turn right so I had to wait til traffic clear to turn left. When the light turned from green to yellow and then red and traffic cleared I started to ...

    James’s Answer

    If you have not already consulted with an attorney, do so as soon as possible. If one lawyer turns down your case, keep looking, because you are definitely going to need one.

    See question 
  • Can I be held responsible for an accident in a borrowed car that someone borrowed from me I was not in the car at the time ?

    *Friend picked me up. *Friend had me drop him off at movies, I took his car to mutual friends house. And was waiting to go back and pick him up. *I went into house *Mutual friend used friends car *Mutual Friend totaled friends car less than a ...

    James’s Answer

    Hire an attorney. Depending on the circmustances, you may have a legitimate defense against the neglligent entrustment charge, but you may be better off trying to settle the case as cheaply as possible. Either way you need a lawyer.

    See question 
  • Car accident and I recived the citation due to the other party have a fabricated witness.

    I was in a car accident and did not have insurance. The other party ran the red light and hit me and had a witness by the time the police made it. I left and ambulance with my 2 childern and also recived the citation by him having a witness. I ...

    James’s Answer

    You need to hire an attorney to fight this case in civil court because, if you do not, you are going to be sued and your driver's license will be suspended for failure to have insurance. You will not be able to get your license back until you satisfy the judgment. The traffic ticket is the least of your problems-- thefact you got a ticket is not generally admissible in civil court. Your about to have to spend some money, but a good lawyer may succeed in saving you some.

    See question 
  • Can i sue?

    My 5 yr old daughter was at daycare sitting on the floor playing when two bigger boys were wrestling, they fell on her and broke her arm. Her writing arm. She was hospitalized and followed up with ortho. Has to be in cast for 6 wks can.i sue

    James’s Answer

    I have handled many cases involving injuries at daycare centers and would like an opportunity to review your case in greater detail. It sounds like a case to me. The main problem I ofter run into is insurance coverage-- the state of Tennessee requires registered daycare providers to carry insurance, but unfortunately many in Memphis do not. I wish your daughter well and am happy to help.

    See question 
  • My wife has to go to court for a car accident that happened last year, she rear ended someone now they want to make a claim

    no cops were called and my wife states there was no one else in the car at the time of the accident.

    James’s Answer

    You need to report this claim to your auto insurance carrier immediately so that the insurance company can retain counsel to represent you.

    If you do not have insurance, then you need to retain an attorney on your own or face the risk of having to pay a judgment against your wife. She may also have her license suspended.

    See question