Stephen Christopher Whalen’s Reviews

Stephen Christopher Whalen

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Attorney

    Posted by Mitchell, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Steve was very informative and percise to my circumstance.
    The whole process was as smooth as possible, would recomend his services to anyone seeking a trust worthy attorney for representation

  2. Professional, knowledgeable ~ good choice

    Posted by Christina, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stephen was always quick to explain in very great detail all aspects of our case and how it would proceed. He explained and facilitated all the information he needed from us and how to go about getting it together. We were very happy with his handling of our case.

  3. A guy you can count on when the chips are down

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Steve helped me with a chapter 7, four years ago when I was in a real jamb. I lost my life savings in an investment scam that was orchestrated by an individual that is now in prison. Steve explained to me what my options were up front, answered my questions along the way and kept me informed throughout the process.

  4. A sincere, attentive and thorough attorney.

    Posted by GDS, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Whalen represented my interests on two separate occasions. Three years ago he handled a bankruptcy for me, which was a difficult choice to make, but he gave me his complete attention and all the information necessary to make the right choice for myself. He then went forward and handled everthing totally professionally and kept me up to date and informed. More recently another matter came up in which I needed advice and he, once again, did everything possible to answer all my many questions regarding this matter. Then went ahead and handled it quickly and professionally. I totally trust Mr. Whelan and have recommended him to a very close friend for several legal matters. She is very satisfied with his thoroughness and his professionalism. I worked for ten years for a law practice of four attorneys. I know a good attorney when I come across one. Mr. Whalen is one of the best I've ever encounted. GDS.

  5. Great Attorney

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen 1-3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    We had the pleasure of working with Stephen on a recent legal matter.

    He was highly professional, took the time to answer all of our questions, and very, very helpful during the process.

    Stephen made a very complicated process seem simple for us, and provided a great deal of helpful advice during the process, which resulted in a successful conclusion.

    We highly recommend Stephen Whalen as a qualified, helpful, competent, and client focused attorney.

  6. Finally the Best!

    Posted by Will, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    After dealing with attorneys across the nation, I have finally found one that truly looks after my personal issues, listens and does exactly what he says. He is completely knowledgeable about his area of expertise and tells me the facts. How refreshing! Thank you Stephen, your the Best!

  7. Outstanding Job on my bankruptcy

    Posted by Kevin, a Bankruptcy client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Debt matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have dealt with 4 different lawyers in my life. Steve Whalen was the best I have encountered. He made sure that I understood every facet of my case. What could happen. What could not happen. There was never a moment throughout the 9 months that he worked for me that I did not know what was going on with my case.

    He was incredibly easy to get a hold of. Anytime I had a question or problem he would talk to me right then or if I could not get a hold of him I would hear from him the very next morning.. I found that extremely helpful especially in law when things were very stressful. You could not tell from Steve though he was always level headed and ready to solve any problem that was thrown our way.

    I do recommend him to my friends and colleagues all the time. My expreience with Steve Whalen was second to none. Thanks Steve for your hard work.

  8. Legal Review

    Posted by Jackie, a Chapter 11 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 11 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    My husband and myself had the pleasure of doing business with
    Attorney Stephen Whalen. He was very helpful, sat and explained
    things to us in detail and always followed-up with us when necessary.
    We would recommend Mr.Whalen to anyone that needs his expertise.

  9. Client Review for Stephen Christopher Whalen

    Posted by Brad, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Whalen possesses certain knowledge of the intricacies involved in filing bankruptcy. Then he took the next step and facilitated me in organizing the information I had to provide in order to file. Those two qualifications seemed requisite and he provided them in a professional manner which I could relax and depend upon--and with enough of a sense of humor to keep it all in the ballpark of something quite human going on.

  10. Reset your life

    Posted by Eric, a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stephen Whalen.
    • I hired Stephen more than 3 years ago.
    • Stephen handled my Bankruptcy / Chapter 7 matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If you are looking for a lawyer that is factual,to the point and an overall straight shooter hire Steve. Bankruptcy is not something anyone looks forward to. A key element is having an attorney that is responsive to any and all questions you may have prior to and through the process. Steve met and exceeded all expectations and did so in a pleasant and personable manor. As far as details every situation is unique. I can tell you in ours we are now on a renewed path having saved our home, qualified for an auto loan and have a workable credit score. I highly recommend Steve Whalen.