Dawn Ellis’s Reviews

Dawn Ellis

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Would NOT recommend - no telephone number, no physical address

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Dawn Ellis.

    My only experience with this attorney was via email. She does not have a telephone number or a physical address. When I sent an inquiry (via email) regarding probate I received the stock answer - "formal" probate was required even though the family member that died lived in another state (and probate had already been opened there) and the property involved was jointly owned by 2 others (which was transferred via their mother from HER probate a few months back). I had researched the Probate Judge website for the applicable county and found that formal probate may not apply. When I questioned this (again via email in that I never spoke with her - remember no phone number...) she wrote and I am quoting here...."I recommend you seek other legal counsel since you feel my advice is unethical and dishonest. I can no longer assist you. " Again I simply questioned the need for formal probate citing the website information. Something is very wrong here. She quoted a "flat fee" for services without detailing those services. I would highly recommend that the consumer beware. How could one hire an attorney without meaningful (and I mean at least telephone conversation) communication and without the ability to question and/or ask questions!!

  2. Excellent service

    Posted by Michael, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I interviewed several lawyers in Florida and decided to go with Dawn because of one word; integrity.
    That's what stood out to me compared to the others. She answered all my questions and told me things to check out that could help me before we even had a contractual agreement. She is very organized, prompt in her work and responses, and has a standard of excellence that makes her a good choice for a lawyer.

  3. Outstanding service

    Posted by Tom, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Dawn was very professional, patient and caring. She kept me informed every step of the way and everything was handled in a a timely manner, even when things kept popping up that I was aware of. I have recommended Dawn to people I know in Florida and would seek her out again if needed. You can't go wrong with Dawn representing you and your interests.

  4. The best Probate Attorney there is.

    Posted by Mark, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I called a number of probate attorneys recently when my father passed away. A few returned the inquiry but Ms. Ellis was not only responsive, but also very understanding during this difficult emotional period. She handled all my questions, kept me informed, was supportive, professional, kept things moving and did it all for a very fair fee. I cannot say enough about her legal services and professional, yet sensitive manner. If you have a need for a Probate attorney, I would give her my very highest recommendation!

  5. Not your everyday probate lawyer… she’s so much better!

    Posted by Lisa, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Our family received a letter in the mail stating that a deceased family member left behind money in an account that we were unaware of and offered to handle all of the “details” for a fee which would be taken out of the refund we were due. After some research I did find that the letter was not a scam and that there was in fact an account in unclaimed monies available to us. Obtaining these funds sounded simple enough until I started calling around for legal advice and assistance. I opened the phone book and called multiple law offices before I ran across the phone number of Dawn Ellis. Each one of those other offices spoke to me as if I was only a dollar sign and certainly NONE of them gave me any advice, resources or options without first trying to schedule a consultation which may or may not be free. Ms. Ellis was the first person who took the time to explain how things like this work and even offered us other options without asking for anything at all in return. In addition to that she waited very patiently for us to get our other affairs in order before we decided on how to proceed.
    Facing any legal issue is seldom enjoyable but the extra mile that Ms Dawn Ellis took with our family sure made the whole experience much more palatable! I have passed her name on to anyone asking for recommendations and will turn first to her should I need any legal assistance in the future.
    Thank you Ms Ellis

  6. Absolutely 100% PERFECT!

    Posted by Jean, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Dawn was fantastic! She is extremely professional, knowledgeable and very personable. She kept me updated via email and also whenever I had questions, would answer promptly. Spoke several times on the phone and she was helpful and went over and above to satisfy my issues. She never changed her rate and made my transaction as easy as possible since there were many obstacles to obtaining some land that had got lost in a different probate out of state. I would highly recommend her to anyone needing her services. She was outstanding. I can see why my title attorney, Mr. Neal who recommended her does... because she gets the job done and everything I needed came to fruition. Please hire her if you want a competent attorney. She should be cloned :-) EXCELLENT ...and I would like to thank her for all her expertise and help with my situation. Dawn rules!

  7. Dawn provided excellence in service and met our needs without problems or extra fees/costs

    Posted by Kelley, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I live in Michigan but needed a lawyer in Florida to open a Probate Estate for my deceased grandmother (who resided in Florida) in order to complete a transfer of cemetery deeds she owned in Michigan. Dawn came to my rescue. She knew what was needed and advised me of the cost to accomplish. Following a lengthy and costly probated estate on my father, Dawn was a breath of fresh air as she simplied the process to acheive my needs and her cost she quoted never changed. Unfortunately there are a lot of attorneys that will nickel and dime an estate until there is nothing left while accomplishing very little as we dealt with in Michigan. I would highly recommend Dawn as she accomplished our needs in little time with a fair cost. It was nice that I did not even need to go to Florida to complete - she did it all for us. Kudos to Dawn - I am still grateful to have found her.

  8. Highly Competent and Professional

    Posted by Jerry S., a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn 1-3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Attorney Ellis handled my Mother's estate in Florida. She was thoroughly professional, extremely knowledgeable with Florida Probate and best of all she had a kind and reassuring manner during a difficult time. I was pleasantly surprised to find her fees to be very reasonable and transparent. I highly recommend her without any reservations. Too bad she doesnt have a practive up in the NY-CT area !!!

  9. Dawn is wonderful for probate with very fair rates! Five stars.

    Posted by Tom, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Dawn Ellis.
    • I hired Dawn more than 3 years ago.
    • Dawn handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Fast, exceptionally clear and easy to understand. She really knows the legal paths and served us very well on a probate case in Florida. I would recommend Dawn highly and with no reservations .