Skip to main content
Kurt Eugene Lee

Kurt Lee’s Answers

183 total


  • I need to know what is the time limit in Florida to file a law suit???

    I was denied the adjusment salary increase to my new title. Also in Februay 2008 I had to resign due to the overwhelming amount of work and the high number of clients assigned to my caseload. Thank you for your help.

    Kurt’s Answer

    Your question does not give enough information about why you might have a cause of action against your former employer.

    You might call The Florida Bar Lawyer Referral Service and set up an appointment with a local attorney who will conduct an initial one-half hour office consultation for $25. The telephone number for this service is 1-800-342-8011.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • What is involved with Interstate Small Claims court?

    I recently traded a guy in Ohio a guitar for one of his. I agreed to reimburse his shipping costs as he told me he was broke and couldn't afford it. I have shipped and had guitars shipped to me at least a dozen times in the past and it's never cos...

    Kurt’s Answer

    Yes, it would be very difficult and a great financial burden for the fellow from Ohio. However, do you really want $30 on your conscience and want the headache associated with this fellow's collection efforts? Pay the $30 and enjoy your new guitar. Life's too short!

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • How much time must I give a tenant to vacate a rental unit in Florida for nonpayment of rent?

    The tenant paid only partial rent for the previous month and gave a check with insufficient funds for February rent. She also has someone living in the rental that was never approved. I have no lease with this tenant; it was a verbal agreement.

    Kurt’s Answer

    Three days. Fla. Stat., s 83.56(3).

    Check out Part II, of Chapter 83, Florida Statutes. The section I referenced above has a form notice you should use to give your tenants their three days notice to pay the rent or vacate the unit.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • Can you request a new judge in divorce cases

    I have been going through a divorce for 15 months. I lost my job and can not pay the temporary alimony the judge set. I am defending myself, today he tells me he has the power to strike out all the papers that I have filed and can even strike the ...

    Kurt’s Answer

    Yes, but you need to follow Florida Rule of Judicial Administration 2.330. You may move to disqualify the trial judge assigned to your case on grounds provided by rule, by statute, or by the Code of Judicial Conduct. Your motion must

    (1) be in writing;

    (2) allege specifically the facts and reasons upon which you rely as the grounds for disqualification;

    (3) be signed under oath or supported by a separate affidavit; and

    (4) include the dates of all previously granted motions to disqualify filed under Rule 2.330 in the case and the dates of the orders granting those motions.

    Your motion to disqualify must show:

    (1) that you fear that you will not receive a fair trial or hearing because of specifically described prejudice or bias of the judge; or

    (2) that the judge before whom the case is pending, or some person related to said judge by consanguinity or affinity within the third degree, is a party thereto or is interested in the result thereof, or that said judge is related to an attorney or counselor of record in the cause by consanguinity or affinity within the third degree, or that said judge is a material witness for or against one of the parties to the cause.

    A motion to disqualify must be filed within a reasonable time not to exceed 10 days after discovery of the facts constituting the grounds for the motion and shall be promptly presented to the court for an immediate ruling.

    You should hire a lawyer to assist you with this motion and with your case.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • In single family home, are the garage driveway and the small concrete path leading to front door considered part of the Premises

    If in a lease for a single family house, since premisies refers to the house and the land surrounding it up to the property lines, and the garage driveway and the the path leading to the front door are also within the property lines, 1)are tho...

    Kurt’s Answer

    The garage driveway and path to front door are probably considered part of the "premises."

    Bugs' nests on windows and in entry way are probably not a sanitary condition, but cleaning the nests would be a part of regular maintenance.

    Mildew on driveway is probably not something which needs to be cleaned, but mildew on front porch would seem to be normal maintenance.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • Eviction process

    how long can take an eviction process?

    Kurt’s Answer

    It depends. An eviction proceeding can last more than a year or a few weeks. The length of the proceeding depends upon the issues which need to be resolved, the claims and defenses of the parties, the case load of the judge handling the matter, and the parties and attorneys.

    If you provided more details about your situation, perhaps a better time estimate could be made.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • Divorced in 2008, want to take my real name back, how can i avoid the $400 filing fee? can i just have an amendment made to my

    divorce decree?

    Kurt’s Answer

    I do not think so.

    You can make a motion to modify a final judgment, decree, or order if there has been some mistake or excusable neglect, but such motions need to be filed within one year after the judgment, decree, or order is entered. If your judgment was entered in 2008, then you are well beyond this one year time limit.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • Can I pursue expenses for travel in addition to a small claims court amount I wish to pursue?

    My mother was placed into a long term care facility in Indiana. I sold her household possessions to the new tenant of her apartment in Bradenton. The balance due has not been payed in full as promised on the notarized paperwork. I would have expen...

    Kurt’s Answer

    I agree with the foregoing responses: I do not believe you can recover your travel expenses.

    Instead of traveling to Florida, you should consider retaining a Bradenton attorney to represent you in this matter. The attorney can handle the matter without the necessity of you traveling to Florida. If this matter cannot be settled before trial, then you might need to travel to Florida

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • How do i respond or do i have to respond to a 20 day summons i received?

    I was in an accident and i am being sued for 8000, money i do not have, a 20 day summons was dropped off at my in laws house for some reason...not mine???? and i got it with just over 10 days left to respond i am now panicking ass the deadline nea...

    Kurt’s Answer

    As mentioned above, notify your insurance company about this matter immediately. As also mentioned above, you need to respond to the complaint within 20 days after you were served with the summons and complaint to avoid having a default entered against you.

    If you have an attorney, you should contact him/her about this matter. Your attorney can help ensure that your insurance company does what it's supposed to do in the way of providing you with a defense against these claims.

    If you do not have an attorney, you might try The Florida Bar Lawyer Referral Service. This service provides referrals to local attorneys who will conduct an initial one-half hour office consultation for $25. The telephone number for this service is 1-800-342-8011.

    You might also try Gulfcoast Legal Services at (813) 490-9412. This organization provides legal aid services in your area.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question 
  • Are there any Lawyers IN Ocala, FL that might can help me pobono? Its about my deseasd father and the lawyer is not right.

    I have this lawyer that lied to get my to sign a wavier for my uncle to be the (PR) and now they have both takening advantage of me. Im 24 and all of my dads stuff is slowing disappearing now, becouse nobody will help me. If so let me know please ...

    Kurt’s Answer

    You might try The Florida Bar Lawyer Referral Service. This service provides referrals to local attorneys who will conduct an initial one-half hour office consultation for $25. The telephone number for this service is 1-800-342-8011.

    You might also try the Community Legal Services of Mid-Florida through its Helpline: (352) 629-6257.

    If this answer helped you, please give it a "thumbs up" or “best answer.” Thanks!

    Disclaimer: Provision of the foregoing response does not create an attorney-client relationship, does not constitute legal advice, and should not be relied upon because the response is based upon the limited facts provided and it is impossible to meaningfully evaluate any legal problem without a thorough review of the pertinent facts and law which applies to the matter.

    See question