Mark Alexander Sessums’s Reviews

Mark Alexander Sessums

Average Rating

Based on 23 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Representation!!!

    Posted by Andrew, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Prior to hiring Mark, I asked many around me who they recommended. The name that kept coming up in the conversations was Mark Sessums. I would ask them, "Why Mark?" They told me that he was one of the best in the area. The funny thing is that a couple people that I asked referred Mark over their own divorce attorney they had used or were currently using.
    It became clear to me on the day of mediation that I brought a gun to a knife battle. Mark came to the mediation prepared and knew the details of my case by memory. I recall the ex's attorney coming into the room to dispute a portion of the proposed settlement agreement and Mark clearly took charge of the conversation, stated case law, and disproved the other attorney's argument. It was clear to me by the end of the meeting that he was worth every cent.
    If you are looking for the least expensive attorney in the area, go elsewhere. I have always believed that "you get what you pay for." I was willing to pay extra to get the best.

  2. This is not a paid endorsement! It is the truth!

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    After reading these beyond-belief-reviews, I can only assume they were paid endorsements. This attorney has had my simple child custody modification for almost 2 years. We are no closer to resolution than when I walked into his office. He does not return phone calls. Pads his bills. Shows up late to hearings. Argues the wrong matters he schedules before the Judge. Judge and opposing counsel had to finally tell him he was arguing the wrong thing! (I was mortified!) Pretty much completely unprepared and arrogant. But has managed to bill me almost $10,000 for "work". Maybe if I was the Man fighting on custody issues he would have done his job. Reporting him to the bar will be in everyone's best interest. Terrible service by both him and his paralegal! Almost 4 months later I am still waiting on him to set a hearing on a vital Motion he filed with the court in April. But now I find out he is going to withdraw instead of finish the job. Good luck if you use him. You will need it AND A LOT OF MONEY!

    1. Mark Alexander Sessums

      Mark Sessums

      Lawyer Comment:

      This former client chose to post a misrepresentation of her case on many levels. I worked with her at a former firm. She knew my abilities when she hired my firm. She came to us and asked us to take her case as she had been held in contempt for failure to comply with a timesharing order. She knew our capabilities and that is why she retained my firm’s services for 2 years. She was scared and needed help. The falling out occurred when we asked her to make small payments that she could afford: $300 monthly. She declined to do so from April, 2014, to the present despite promising she would do so. We had not set the matter for trial as the existing timesharing order was favorable to her and it was not in her interest to have the matter tried as her timesharing goals were unrealistic and limiting timesharing was her ultimate goal. However, when she asked us to amend her petition without payment to more fully set out her claims we did so and agreed on a monthly payment schedule thereafter. She then reneged on paying. Our withdrawal followed. I quote her March 19 e-mail to my assistant “[I am not’ criticizing the work performed by you or Mark or the firm…I appreciate someone standing up for my 2 boys…” That was the last e-mail she ever sent our firm. We tried to help a former co-worker and are being unfairly criticized for our efforts.

      Posted about 1 month ago. Flag

  3. When your life matters, make your attorney matter.

    Posted by David, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark 1-6 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Not sure where to begin but to use the quote another attorney said after my trial, "I haven't seen an ass whooping like that in a long time." Mark and team did an exceptional job on my divorce and the preceding preparation work was so overwhelming that the opposing council was berated by the judge for a lack of material and preparedness. If you want to score touchdowns in your divorce then get a great quarterback.

  4. Divorce/ Alimony

    Posted by malcom, a Alimony client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark 6-12 months ago.
    • Mark handled my Alimony matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Was paying $1250.00 a month in alimony for the last 11 years, and as the economy failed so did my paycheck. we went to court after exwife filed a motion for contempt and my judge us unsympathetic to my situation and ignored the facts at hand in black and white and ruled on feelings. The judge then ruled me pay purges of of $3000 twice in 5 months to stay out of jail. Mr. Sessums was fired up and said to me when we left the court chambers we have to file an appeal this obsured , We did so in the following weeks and was heard before the DCA about six weeks later at oral argument. and wow what an oral he presented to the courts, approx. 7 months later DCA ruled and they revervsed all the rulings of the local judge , my concept of what they said to him was DID YOU NOT READ THE FACTS JUDGE. DCA all affirmed the ruling and was sent back to the courts for further actions, We returned to court in about march of 2014 and the judge reduced my alimony to $ 1 dollar a year and the exwife had to pay 50% of my court costs. And the DCA now has this as case law DRIGGERS vs DRIGGERS. Can't thank Mr.Sessums enough, he has changed my life thru his efforts . IF YOU WANT AN AGRRESSIVE LAWYER HIRE SESSUMS LAW GROUP

  5. Recommending the Sessums Law Group

    Posted by a Medical Malpractice client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • Mark handled my Medical Malpractice matter.

    The Sessums Law Group recently handled a medical malpractice lawsuit for my husband and me. And very unfortunately, during the course of the action my husband died. Mr. Sessums and his team performed extremely professionally while handling my husband and me with utmost care, attention and dignity. More specifically, Mr. Sessums and his team responded very quickly to any of my questions, concerns or needs, usually within the hour if not sooner. Their knowledge and attention to detail was exemplary resulting in my husband and me feeling totally secure about their handling this very important life issue. I will recommend the sessums Law Group to anyone who has need of an attorney.

  6. Mark has ability to handle complex litigation. Mark is highly respected by his many peers.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mark is a highly respected attorney with the upmost standards of professional integrity. He represented me in a very difficult divorce case several years ago. As a single Mom and never being in a legal situation before, he took time out of a much higher priority trial to make the extra effort to drive a long distance to be in court with me instead of sending a co worker. Having no knowledge of what I was up against in a tough situation. I think Mark is a man that truly treats his clients with personal care and attention in the upmost professional way.

  7. Honest and Direct

    Posted by Tony, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Mark is an honest lawyer that will fight for your rights. Mark handled a divorce for me several years ago when no other lawyer wanted to fight for my rights as a great father, Mark listened and accepted the challenge. I am forever grateful that he did. Mark is direct and honest which is exactly what I needed. I recommend Mark.

    Dad's if you need someone to understand the dynamics of a fathers custodial rights and not just simply tell you no chance, call Mr Sessums. You will not regret the call! Mr Sessums is a lawyer you can trust!

  8. Divorce/Child Custody

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark 1-3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Amazing knowledge of how to help me in my incredible fight for 50/50 of my kids. My wife threw everything at me and Mark and his staff were there, guiding and directing me until ultimately we prevailed.

  9. Knows his business

    Posted by John, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark has done an excellent job keeping up with a complex and seemingly never-ending business dispute. His planning and ability in front of opposing counsel has won us multiple settlements without getting to court, but I suspect his skills show even stronger there, thus our winning in advance by capitulation.
    If you expect any lawyer to be available every time you think you need him, you are probably not being realistic. Every occasion or emergency that required Mark's immediate input, no matter when it occurred, received his personal and speedy attention.
    Mark's counsel has always been strong and on point, even when not positive or welcome.
    I would confidently recommend him and his strong supporting staff to anyone needing support for their business.

  10. Mark Sessums is the attorney that will work hard for you!

    Posted by Terry, a Personal Injury client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Mark Sessums.
    • I hired Mark more than 3 years ago.
    • Mark handled my Personal Injury matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mark Sessums and his staff are incredible. They have your best interest at heart. Always there to answer your questions and make you feel at ease. Professional, very knowledgeable and always willing to go the extra mile. Mark is an outstanding attorney who has represented me in both Family Law and Personal Injury cases and he is truly the best in his field.

863-646-8181