Skip to main content
Harris W Gilbert

Harris Gilbert’s Answers

85 total


  • Approx how much can a person get if sueing for a double torn miniscus?

    was injured when i fell in grocery store...had surgery

    Harris’s Answer

    Every case is different but you should consult with an attorney asap.

    See question 
  • I lost my license for refusing a breath test.

    I was pulled over and refused to do a breath test and now my license will be suspended for 60 days before I can apply for a hardship license. I just found out I will lose my job if I don't have license because it is part of my job description to b...

    Harris’s Answer

    For a 1st refusal you will have a 90 day suspension with no permit. It is imperritive you fight the suspension through the DMV and the court system. Contact an attorney asap to preserve your rights. You only have 10 days from the date of arrest to request a hearing and temporary permit with the dmv.

    Harris Gilbert
    850 391 7045

    See question 
  • What would be my defense for careless driving in Miami if I lost my brakes?

    While driving in Miami on U.S 1, I lost my brakes in traffic and rear ended the car in front of me. I was cited for careless driving and the police officer said he should have also cited me for faulty equipment. The officer told me I should appeal...

    Harris’s Answer

    We handle these matters. Please contact me to speak in more detail. We can help.

    Harris Gilbert
    786 371 4431

    See question 
  • I am facing a DUI charge, how will this affect my teaching license and my possibility for applying for a license in mental

    health down the road

    Harris’s Answer

    You need to consult with the regulatory authority to see the effect of a conviction. It is advised you consult with an experienced lawyer asap.

    See question 
  • My mother has 5 counts of grand theft in the 3rd degree and 1 count of organized fraud of less then 20,000. Will she see jail.

    My mother has 5 counts of grand theft in the 3rd degree and 1 count of organized fraud of less then 20,000. Will she see jail.

    Harris’s Answer

    It depends on her criminal history and the facts of the case. You need to consult an attorney asap.

    See question 
  • What is the average sentence for a 4th DUI in Florida?

    My brother has now had 3 DUIs in FL and one in MI. What should we expect as a result? Thanks for your time.

    Harris’s Answer

    Is he represented by an attorney? This case sounds complicated and specific. If you would like a free consultation please contact us at (850) 391-7045.

    Harris Gilbert

    See question 
  • Will my charge show up on my record if I completed a Diversion Program?

    I am currently going to school to become a Legal Administrative Specialist. I have a petit theft 1st misdemeanor on my criminal record. Will this charge keep me from getting a job for what I'm going to school for or should I have it expunged?

    Harris’s Answer

    You need to expunge your record if you qualify or your background will show the charge.

    See question 
  • My son was involved in an automobile accident on 8/1/10. What is stat of limitations in Florida to file suit ?

    My son was hit by a driver that took a stop sign in Florida. Both he and his girlfriend where injured; he received fracture to his sternum, broken left ring finger, broken right wrist experiencing neck/body and wrist pain. His girlfriend has thr...

    Harris’s Answer

    There is a 4 year statute of limitations, but it is recommended that you speak to an attorney asap. We offer free consultations.

    Harris W. Gilbert
    786 371 4431

    See question 
  • I Loaned my mother in law our car and she got into a car accident, She was not at fault. Her license was suspended.

    Will other Driver Ins .cover even though my mother in laws license was suspended?

    Harris’s Answer

    The at fault driver's insurance should cover the damages if they were at fault. In addition, you may have to deal with a driving while license suspended ticket in a separate infraction case on the traffic criminal docket. A good lawyer can help you with both of these issues. Please contact our Broward office at (954) 661-7371 if you would like a consultation. Have a great day.

    See question 
  • Minor felony charge and court date

    My son was arrested yesterday (4/05/10) for Burglary Unoccupied Conveyance Unarmed. He has a prior misdemeanor for marijuana. My question is we have tickets bought to move out of the country 7 days before the scheduled court date. What can I do?

    Harris’s Answer

    You need someone to represent your son asap. We offer free consultations. Please call the Broward Office at (954) 661-7371l.

    See question