Edmund Alonso Normand’s Answers

Edmund Alonso Normand

Orlando Car / Auto Accident Lawyer.

Contributor Level 10
  1. Motorcycle (myself) vs Car (other party) - car completely at fault, am I FR for damage to partys vehicle?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    2. Earl Kenneth Mallory
    3. Brian Roy Toung
    3 lawyer answers

    From what you describe it appears that you were not at fault in the crash. Without fault you are not liable for the damages to the other vehicle. In fact they are responsible for your motorcycle damages and personal injury damages. You have a likely four year statute of limitatitions to bring your auto accident claim for personal and property damages in Florida although in some circumcstances it can be shorter. Y0u can get a free consultation in your area so contact a qualified lawyer for...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  2. The adjuster states he would have to send my father a check for pain and suffering with both his name and the hospital name on

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    2. G. Glenn Warren III
    3. Lars A. Lundeen
    3 lawyer answers

    The answer depends on which County your father got the medical treatment in and whether that County has a hospital lien statute. It may also turn on whether your father's bills were paid by Medicare or Medicaid. If the bills were paid already the insurer should not condition payment on an endorsement to the hospital. You will have to repay the health insurer but there are formulas and hardships provisions that may allow your father to retain some of the settlement funds after payback. If...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  3. I was rear ended and I was injured, but I receive social security disability.can I sue for pain and suffering @ med bills

    Answered over 5 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    2. Lars A. Lundeen
    3. G. Glenn Warren III
    4. Harris W Gilbert
    4 lawyer answers

    In a personal injury case in Florida you can recover for intangible damages including pain and suffering and for special damages including past and future medical bills even if you are on Social Security Disability. Your disability would only affect your claim for loss of earnings or loss of earning capacity. Because you were rear ended there is a legal presumption of fault on the other driver. Just be aware of the statute of limitations.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  4. My 73 year old mom was on her power electric wheel chair when she got hit by a car in walmart shopping center and the insurance

    Answered over 2 years ago.

    1. John Elliott Leighton
    2. David Irving Shiner
    3. Scott Daniel Sobol
    4. Carl Scott Schuler
    5. Naji Israoui
    6. ···
    10 lawyer answers

    We sympathize with your situation. Often times we try to do the right thing and settle cases without getting lawyers involved but, sadly with today's complicated laws, sometimes a settlement without a lawyer can cause more problems than no settlement at all and so your mother needs to be very careful about settlement of this claim. For example, it is likely that her medical bills were submitted to Medicare. Medicare not only will require your mother to pay her back for any bills related to...

  5. My mother in law harrassed me so much i tried to commit suicide. can i sue her?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    1 lawyer answer

    This is a difficult question because only you can decide if you should sue for your injuries. You should consult with a local lawyer about the various causes of action you may have and for advice as to the time limitations involved. Because the time limits can vary and can be very short you should contact a lawyer immediately. If you wait too long the limitations period could expire and you could waive any rights of recovery because of an expiration of the limitations period. Your case...

  6. Is it legal in fla. for me to give alcohol to my 18 year old?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    2 lawyer answers

    NO you cannot give alcohol to your 18 year old. The legal limit in Florida for alcohol is 21.

  7. Is it legal in fla. for me to give alcohol to my 18 year old?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    2 lawyer answers

    NO you cannot give alcohol to your 18 year old. The legal limit in Florida for alcohol is 21.

  8. Damages in excess of Security Deposit

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    1 lawyer answer

    You will need to check with the residential landlord tenant laws in your state to determine the correct procedure for the presentation of the bill. You can Google landlord tenant laws in your state and they will likely clearly state the window time frame. In most states it is about a month and if the landlord did not striclty comply they will lose. Also they cannot usually charge you for just normal wear and tear damages. You may also want to contact a local lawyer as in many states the laws...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  9. If my son had a rollover wreck in my car, no one was hurt but the car is totaled do I have to turn it in to the insurance?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    1 lawyer answer

    Most insurance policies require that you report any covered crash. I know the tempation is to pay it yourself so they will not raise the rates but that is technically a violation of the policy. Now if you are going to drop the insurance on the vehicle alltogether then it may not matter that you breached the policy. The potential harm would be if later on the insurance company found out and decided to deny a later serious claim based on the failure to report this claim. This may depend on...

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  10. My friend is on probation, does not have a license and was in an accident that was not his fault. Pay ticket or Go to court?

    Answered over 4 years ago.

    1. Edmund Alonso Normand
    1 lawyer answer

    He needs to consult with a criminal law specialist immediately. If he cannot afford one the state can appoint him a public defender. He may be able to get the adjudication withheld and avoid a Probation violation but he needs a lawyer to help especially with the probation problem.

    1 person marked this answer as helpful