Skip to main content
Thomas Bert Feiter
Avvo
Pro

Thomas Feiter’s Answers

37 total

  • If i plea guilty and am adjudicated for the same, can the county months later harass me for fees??

    I was on probation for a dui that i received for not even driving a vehicle, the car was parked and i was asleep , however, i plead guilty to probation because my attorney could not guarantee to prevail at trial due to the fact that i was the owne...

    Thomas’s Answer

    If you pleaded guilty, you were probably ordered to pay court costs and a fine. That is something you will need to pay or risk them sending it to a collection agency and they may be able to suspend your license. However, if you pleaded to a DUI, you are required to do probation and a LOT of other things. You should look closely at the paperwork they gave you when you left court. The document you're looking for is going to be called something like final disposition.

    See question 
  • What is going to happen to me after shoplifting?

    I know it was stupid and i completely regret it and i know i am an idiot. i was at Marshalls and took an $80 wallet. on the way out the loss prevention guy stopped me and took me to the the back, i signed 2 papers. and he wrote down all of my driv...

    Thomas’s Answer

    It sounds to me like this may just be handled civilly. If no police were called and you didn't sign any city or county papers, you may be in the clear. I've seen these cases many times, though. Marshalls will probably hire a law firm to demand a few hundred bucks from you to settle the matter. You can negotiate that price with them on your own or with a private attorney. If there was no police involved, this should not go on your record. And I do not see how your employer will find out.

    See question 
  • Can a judge approve a motion to reconsider then change her mind and say no

    Her co defendant got approved also he went from 12 to 6 years time served with youthful offender but the judge canceled my daughters

    Thomas’s Answer

    That's unfortunate. I'm sorry to hear that. Judges have a lot of discretion and can certainly change their minds on these types of matters. You do have 30 days to appeal the judgment and sentence of the case in Florida. So if this is something that recently happened, you may have a chance to undo. Of course, after it is undone, you may just be back at square one. Might be worth looking into, though.

    See question 
  • I summons for misdemeanor charge of shoplifting that happen nine months ago ?

    on probation for felony charges of dealing in stolen property and falsification to a pawn broker. I did 8 months county and got 3 years probation. I'm still on probation and got a summons for misdemeanor charge of shoplifting . i was never arrest...

    Thomas’s Answer

    Yes, your PO will most likely find out! And you have an obligation to tell her whenever you have interactions with a law enforcement officer. Get with a criminal defense attorney to try to help clean this up for you. It is almost always the best policy to be as forthcoming as possible with your probation officer - at least that has been my experience. If you try to hide something and it comes out later, you're going to be way worse off!

    See question 
  • How long does it take to get a hearing date after objection of the state of Florida on petition to expunge?

    I filed a petition to expunge a my case for burglary and grand theft that ended as Nolle Prosequi because the victims where out of state and I received a letter today say that there has been a objection of the state of Florida on petition to expun...

    Thomas’s Answer

    I was a prosecutor in Osceola County and it depends on the Judge and the State Attorney. There must be a reason the prosecutor is objecting. You need to find out what that is. Best way to do that is through an attorney. Look into hiring a private lawyer to help with this issue. Public defenders do not do sealings and/or expunctions.

    See question 
  • Hi can a 19 year old boy have sex with a 17 year old girl on a royal carribean cruise ship?

    Whether in florida waters or international waters ? Is it legal

    Thomas’s Answer

    The age of consent in Florida is 18, although the law contains a provision allowing 16 and 17-year-olds to consent to having sex with someone age 16 to 23. However, if you were in international waters, the case may be outside of Florida's jurisdiction. If you cannot proceed criminally, you may have a remedy by going after the person in civil court - assuming it was not consensual. Additionally, you may have a case against a cruise line if they failed to adequately provide security at a certain location aboard the ship. Those are just some ideas. Best of luck!

    See question 
  • Can i get a restraining order on someone

    My boyfriend separated from his wife and lives with me.they have 3 kids together and he has 1kid with me,he wants to get a divorce but cant afford it as he doesnt have a job and i support him finacially because he lives with me.his wife has been e...

    Thomas’s Answer

    You could absolutely file a restraining order against someone if you feel your safety or life is in danger. My website has some helpful information in injunctions, which you can find at http://www.fighterlaw.com/practice-areas/criminal-defense/injunctions/
    I hope that helps answer your questions.

    See question 
  • What is the age of consent under federal law

    In international waters

    Thomas’s Answer

    In Florida, the age of consent is 18 (with some exceptions if the accused and victim are close in age, such as victim is 17 and accused is 19). It varies from state to state and under Federal Law (for the most part) the age of consent is 18 as well - however, what the person is consenting to may play a role in the particular age. Your question is legitimate and I have seen many situations where a person must ask such a question. In my experience, the reason you are asking is because you or someone you care about has found themselves in an unfortunate situation. Best advice I can give it to go meet with an attorney as soon as possible.

    See question 
  • Should I get an attorney to represent me in an injunction for domestic violence and parent plan modification.

    The mother of my child has always given me a hard time about seeing my child. Now she is accusing me of being unstable and has even went as far as trying to get an injunction on me not to see my child. Now I face modification to have supervised ...

    Thomas’s Answer

    Absolutely you need an attorney. You will want one with experience in injunctions and family law court. The cost would depend on the attorney - but it probably won't be cheap. Especially if you have a year's worth of records that you want the attorney to review.

    See question 
  • Can you terminate sex offender probation early?

    A ten year sentence as part of a plea deal. sex offender probation makes it hard for someone to go places with their family. Trying to move past all this and start anew.

    Thomas’s Answer

    Yes, you can motion the court to terminate and it may get granted. However, terminating sex offender probation early does not mean that you do not have to register as a sex offender. It might only mean that you no longer have to report to your probation officer. And getting off probation may not give you all the freedoms that you are hoping for - such as being able to live in a certain home/area or be in certain places.

    See question