What happens if you do pay the restitution, can they still prosecute you, and do you go on a national database for shoplifting
If you pay the "restitution" you can still be prosecuted. Wal-Mart has a policy with juveniles that they will not prosecute criminally if the amount is under a certain value. If no police were called, it may be more difficult for Wal-Mart to convince the State of Florida to prosecute you criminally at a later date. Did you get trespassed from Wal-Mart? I doubt you will be sued civilly by Wal-Mart since you are a minor.
Good luckSee question
A friend of mine is on the PTI plan. How can they shorten the time for the plan?
If it is in Lake County, the PTI program has set review dates. They are usually 90 days apart. Ted Moret is the supervisor for felonies and you can ask him to contact the prosecutor to request the State to terminate the PTI in compliance.
I know it was stupid and i completely regret it and i know i am an idiot. i was at Marshalls and took an $80 wallet. on the way out the loss prevention guy stopped me and took me to the the back, i signed 2 papers. and he wrote down all of my driv...
You should get a "demand letter" from a civil firm within weeks. It will be a threatening letter, stating that if you do not pay $200 now the store will file a civil suit and ask for attorney fees. I am not sure what paperwork you received, therefore you could have been "trespassed" from the store. My advice is to not return, and if you need to go to Marshall's find another location.
The Orange County Clerk of Court has a great website for searching court cases. The website allows you to do a search on your name. I would check daily to see if a criminal case has been filed against you. If you can not figure it out, call my office and we would be happy to do a search to see if any case exists, free of charge.
Since law enforcement was not notified it is entirely possible that their loss prevention officer decided not to pursue criminal charges. In any event your employer will not be notified.
Good luck,See question
we got into a minor fight after a heated argument and she called the police. i have never been in trouble before and im confused on what to do and i cant afford an attorney. I didnt strike her 1st but according to police and my other sister, th...
Ask for the assistance of the Public Defender, if you do not qualify get a second job and hire an attorney. You do not want a criminal conviction on your record if it can be avoided. And in this case it appears that it can be avoided.See question
I am a victim and my ex told me there is a no contact order and he cant contact me. am I going to get in trouble if the judge did not give me or tell me I cant contact him because ive been messaging him but he hasn't been messaging back, I just do...
Yes you can get in trouble. TV shows use the word accomplice, but Florida's similar term is "principal". If you assist someone in committing a crime than you can be charged as a "principal". The crime would be Violation of Pretrial Release. Both the victim and defendant can be charged. I have represented a "victim" on similar facts years ago in Osceola County. It is very rare for the victim to be charged, but it can happen. Feel free to contact his attorney if you want the no contact provision modified. But be careful as you have a 5th amendment right not to answer any questions from the prosecutor or judge regarding contact that has already occurred.
My Friend was driving and was stopped by a officer and he is a ex felon officers asked to search car because they checked license and saw his back ground he said sure go ahead and they found a gun with no finger prints he did not no if he did he w...
Depends on where the gun was found. If not in plain view this will be tough for the State to prove as DNA evidence of this nature will not give a time-frame of when a person touched/handled the gun. Also, his prints may not be on the gun.
Good luckSee question
I missed an appointment to meet with my probation officer. I was on probation for petty theft and driving on a suspended license dwls. Ive had prior felony convictions and the past so what could I be facing jail time or what how many days at moest?
Depends, from your question you could be on county probation and will see Judge Baxley or Miller. Based on your past and the limited information you provided it is possible that you are on felony probation and could be looking at jail/prison or some form of probation modification.
If you have a legitimate excuse as to why you missed probation the violation may be dismissed. Call me if you have any questions or concerns.
I'm wondering how I would go about having a petit theft charge sealed. It's from November of 2006, adjudication was withheld, and I completed all of my community service and the like. I've had no previous arrests, or following arrests or traffic v...
Florida Department of Law Enforcement has a great website instructing you on what needs to be done to seal/expunge a record. I have attached the link to their website.
As the other attorneys have noted there are a few obstacles that you need to navigate through. If you have any questions feel free to contact my office. 407-872-3999.
My boyfriend was recently pulled over again for expired tags on a car he just bought and hasn't had the money to replace yet. He was issued a court date for the 25th and he said that it was mandatory. I know that some people have said that they ju...
Yes, it is possible to keep your boyfriend out of jail. On most misdemeanor cases, including this one, jail is a possible punishment but not a required one. Basically, there is no mandatory minimum sentence in this type of offense.
Your boyfriend will appear in front of Judge Baxley or Judge Miller. I would hire an attorney, to help him resolve this case in the most favorable manner. Our offices are located in Tavares and Orlando, and if you other questions feel free to call at 407-872-3999.
on 12/22/12 i was arrested for loitering or prowling i was not caught at the scene did the officer make a lawful arrest or unlawful
Normally the misdemeanor has to be witnesses by the officer, though exceptions may apply. The police report should have all the information. If you have any questions just call our office and we will be happy to review the report.