Skip to main content
Geoffrey Robert Mason

Geoffrey Mason’s Answers

126 total


  • Will i be arrested if i don't pay fine to court for petty theft ?

    I was caught shoplifting, went to court, pleaded no contest and they told me i have to pay around 380 dollars to the court by the end of this month. What will happen to me if i can't pay ? I don't have a job and i go to school. Will they issue a ...

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    You may also consider requesting that court costs be converted to community service so that you can perform community service in lieu of paying costs.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • My son was released from prison, he registered here in Orlando. He has now moved to georgia. Does he need to do anything?

    Just released on the 24th 2012

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    I agree with all of the above answers but would also add that if your son is on probation, he must obtain permission and do the proper transfer paperwork and process to actually allow him to move.

    Additionally, Florida also imposes an additional requirement upon sex offenders and sex predators to alert Florida authorities before they leave.

    A sexual predator or sexual offender who intends to establish residence in another state or jurisdiction shall notify the sheriff of the county of current residence or FDLE within 48 hours before the date he or she intends to leave this state to establish residence in another state or jurisdiction. The notification must include the address, municipality, county, and state of intended residence. The sheriff shall notify FDLE of the information received. FDLE shall notify the statewide law enforcement agency or comparable agency, in the intended state or jurisdiction of residence of the sexual predator’s intended residence. If the sexual predator or offender later decides to remain in this state, he/she shall within 48 hours after the date upon which the sexual predator indicated he or she would leave this state, notify the sheriff or FDLE, whichever agency the predator initially reported the intended change of residence, of his or her intent to remain in this state. Failure to report intent to remain in the state of Florida is a second-degree felony.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • My son is charged with 1 degree robbery on someones esles say say no evidece other then co defendant saying he myson was involve

    what is chances and what are we to expect.hes been in nj jail since aug 2012

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    Eyewitness testimony is direct evidence and a sworn statement can be relied on for police to develop probable cause for an arrest, or for a prosecutor to go forward with prosecution, or for a jury to convict, if the jury believes that the case has been proven beyond all reasonable doubt.

    If the evidence consists of statements made by the co-defendant, then the credibility of those witnesses would certainly be important in evaluating the merits of the case.

    Your son should certainly not make any statements to the police, and you should certainly consult with a criminal defense attorney about his case. Robbery is a very serious charge.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • How can vandalism be proven?

    A friend of mine ex boyfriend car was damaged, him, his cousin and brother all lied and said she did it, when she really did not. Can she be arrested just because 3 family members all came together and lied on her?

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    Eyewitness testimony is direct evidence and a sworn statement can be relied on for police to develop probable cause for an arrest, or for a prosecutor to go forward with prosecution, or for a jury to convict, if the jury believes that the case has been proven beyond all reasonable doubt.

    If the evidence consists of a damaged car, and statements made by witnesses, then the credibility of those witnesses would certainly be important in evaluating the merits of the case.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • Aggrevated assault on a pregnant person was dismissed saying "no information" recently in florida, Can this be reopened?

    Aggrevated assault on a pregnant person was dismissed saying no information recently in florida, Can this be reopened?

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    In Florida, there are two "clocks" that matter in answering this question. The Statute of Limitations and Speedy Trial.

    The most salient clock would be the Speedy Trial right under Rule 3.191 Florida Rules of Criminal Procedure. If you were arrested, then the State would normally have 175 days from the date of your arrest to bring you to trial, unless you waived your right to Speedy Trial, or that date was somehow extended.

    The Statute of Limitations clock is more important if you were never arrested, then the State would have a number of years to file formal charges against you.

    In Florida courts have agreed that individuals should not have to give up their right to speedy trial in order to be prepared for trial. If your speedy trial rights have not been waived, then you would have an argument to dismiss the case if they have not timely provided you all of the discovery prior to trying to bring you to trial after the 175 days.

    In these types of cases, I would generally recommend that an individual consult with a criminal defense attorney to see if it is time to file a Notice of Expiration of Speedy Trial and then for a Discharge with prejudice so that the State would no longer be allowed to file formal charges, or reopen the case.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http:///www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • IS SPICE ILLEGAL IN FLORIDA?

    IS SPICE ILLEGAL IN FLORIDA

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    The State of Florida is making a point to stop the distribution, possession and use of synthetic drugs. Just on December 11, 2012, the Attorney General of Florida issued Emergency Rules outlawing 22 new forms of synthetic drugs. I would also advise you to contact a local criminal defense attorney with experience handling synthentic drug cases.

    Here's a write-up of the new emergency rules: http://lawfl.net/news/florida-attorney-general-pam-bondi-issues-emergency-rule-outlawing-22-additional-synthetic-drugs/

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • I got charged with pety theft mistaminor i am awaitng my next court date on janurary 18 may i travel in country? im 16

    i got charged with a mistaminor im awaiting my next court date which is on the 18 of janurary 2013 my public defender is waiving my appearance anyways but i need to see my father which lives in boston massachuestes would i be able to get on a plan...

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    The answer "check with your attorney" is almost universally a good answer. The reason you may be asking here, however, is that it is often hard to get hold of one's Public Defender based on their caseload.

    If you were initially picked up or arrested for the petit theft, at your detention hearing or first appearance, the judge would generally give you a number of conditions related to the rules you must follow to remain at liberty prior to resolving your case. I would imagine that the Judge would tell you to refrain from using illegal drugs, but the Judge may also impose any other conditions that the Judge felt would be necessary for you to follow, curfew, etc. At their discretion, your Judge may modify the terms of your release.

    Try to make contact with your Public Defender. You can also check with the clerk of court to see if there is anything showing on their computer system or in your file about special conditions related to travel.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • Is spice illegal in florida

    i was arrested for paraphernalia for having spice on me ,(spice is i guess synthtic weed)

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    The State of Florida is making a point to stop the distribution, possession and use of synthetic drugs. Just on December 11, 2012, the Attorney General of Florida issued Emergency Rules outlawing 22 new forms of synthetic drugs. I would also advise you to contact a local criminal defense attorney with experience handling synthentic drug cases.

    Here's my write-up of the new emergency rules: http://lawfl.net/news/florida-attorney-general-pam-bondi-issues-emergency-rule-outlawing-22-additional-synthetic-drugs/

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question 
  • If my fiancee gets me pregnant will he get charged with statuatory rape if we aply for our marriage license?

    He is 19 and i am 14. I read up on getting an marriage license and that you can get an marriage license without parent consent and me and him are planning on having kids anyway.

    Geoffrey’s Answer

    Mr. Powers is correct. For the sake of clarification -- In Florida, if a person is less than 24 years old, they may enter into consensual sexual contact with a person who is at least 16 years old.

    Geoffrey R. Mason
    http://www.lawfl.net

    See question