Robert L Shafer Jr.’s Reviews

Robert L Shafer Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Robert Shafer & Associates are the BEST!!!

    Posted by jill, a Car Accident client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Car / Auto Accident matter.

    I highly recommend Robert Shafer & Associates if you are ever in need of a defense attorney. His entire staff is the most competent group of attorney's and assistant's you will ever need. My family was treated with compassion and respect during an extremely stressful time. My calls, if not answered immediately, were always returned quickly by either Mr. Shafer or his paralegal Lisa. There is no question that I will use Shafer & Associates again if in need of a defense attorney. They are without question the BEST defense team you will ever need.

  2. Great Attorneys

    Posted by Isak, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 6-12 months ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    All I can say is that they have kept us informed about my case and I just want to thank Kimberly Sadler and Robert Shafer and his associates. I would recommend everyone to u guys u have helped me with my case.

  3. Never showed up in court

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    After meeting with Mr. Shafer about him handing a case for me in Clay County I must say I was impressed. He talked a good game to me about how he knew the prosecutor in my case and would make good things happen for me...after paying him, he never even showed up in court with me and he always send someone else with some excuse about why he couldn't be there . And good luck getting him on the phone. You can talk to Lisa all day long - I nicknamed her the gate keeper - getting passed her is like getting pass a locked gate. He was sure quick to take my money but he never did what he said he would for me and couldn't even be a man and tell me to my face, or even over the phone he didn't know what he was doing! RUN!

  4. Terrible advice

    Posted by Michael,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Shafer.

    I went to consult with Mr. Schafer regarding a complex drug case. He never listened to what I had to say about how i was arrested. He just kept going on and on about how he used to be in charge of the state attorneys office and had relationships with the police. It felt like he would have plead me out in the back of the police car if he could have. When I questioned him about how to beat the stop in a suppression hearing he said judges never grant those motions! Needless to say I consulted and hired another lawyer.

  5. Recommend

    Posted by Warren, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Shafer’s firm represented my son in a complex property crime/drug case. Mr. Shafer’s office kept me informed and up to date. One of the attorneys was there for every court appearance. His office did not have much to work with as my son had pretty much confessed to all the charges so there was not much he could do to mount a defense. However I feel his office did everything possible for my son and my son’s sentence was considerably less that the other two codefendants.
    The truth is the state attorneys for the Fourth Judicial Circuit play extreme hardball and you need an attorney who knows how to deal with the SAOs office in Jacksonville. I think Mr. Shafer’s office fits that role. I recommend him.

  6. Could not have had a better defense attorney firm than Robert & Zack Shafer

    Posted by Jerry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Had a DUI of which I know they had no reason to pull me over and hired the Shafer firm. This kind of case is usually not won from what I hear by the defense attorney's. It took 10 months and a lot of court visits on my behalf but through diligant fighting and investigating what I thought at best would be a reckless driving turned out to be all charges dropped. I am so glad I chose this firm which came highly recommended by other friends. Both Robert and Zack a father and son team, did above and beyond my expectation. Lisa the paralegal was also amazing when it came to communication and any time I called in. This team is exactly what you need on your side.

  7. Great people

    Posted by Tera, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Robert Shafer & Associates are miracle workers..... Kim Sadler is awesome..... She did wonders for my son...They are the best !!!! I just pray I never have to use them again... But I would....Thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Run Far Away

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    He would say one thing during one meeting then the next meeting he would backtrack or contradict everything he said or his staff has said. I would not recommend him for anyone who wants a true criminal defense lawyer.

  9. Great Lawyer - Good Man

    Posted by Charles, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shafer is one of the best lawyers I have ever met or had dealings with , i am not an expert on lawyers, but I have a family member who is a lawyer and I would go to Bob before I would ask his advise. My family has used Bob four different times and he pulled us from the fire in every case! I would allways recommend Bob Shafer and I have.

    L.C. Rister

  10. Mr. Shafer and his entire staff are the best you will ever hire!

    Posted by Dianne,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Shafer.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If anyone can help you with any legal matter that he specializes in, it will be this firm. My experience in a couple of hard situations was the best. Also the people that work for Mr. Shafer could NOT be better. The were very helpful to me and went above and beyond what anyone would expect. I really appreciated that during those hard times. I highly reccommend this firm and believe me, you will be very glad you did. He will shoot straight from the hip and if he tells you he can help, you can bank on it. Good people you can trust!