Skip to main content
Douglas Warren McDonald Jr.

Douglas McDonald’s Answers

67 total


  • How the heck can you be charged for a DUI when you are at your house???

    Cobb county

    Douglas’s Answer

    The government will have to show that you were in operation of your car AFTER having consumed ETOH. the evidence may be as follows (if they can lawfully get into your house)
    1) citizen reports / office observes erratic driving
    2) citizen reports / officer observes said car enter into garage and shut garage door
    3) inquiry is made (again if lawful entry)
    4) dirver (for some strange reason) submits to test showing .12 gms or more
    [obvious inference if tested quickly that one could not consume that much in sucha short period of time and it metabolize]

    there is a scenario for every case, remember anyone can be arrested - proof at trial with a competent lawyer is another thing

    did you know you could be arrested and convicted if you were on private property - hay field or parking deck
    gus

    See question 
  • Need help from attorney in Cartersville, GA

    I am at my wit's end. Son called two nights ago after being arrested and charged with DUI. We bonded him out (out of state bond is not cheap - 3,000) and now he is saying he has only 10 days to petition to get his license back or it will be take...

    Douglas’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    call atorney rick ryzcek 404.406.3197 ;the 10 day appeal must be filed asap, however only if the arresting officer took his physical hard copy (plastic) license.

    See question 
  • My husband had a wreck n 2009 and he passed the breathalizer and three feild sobriety test so they took blood work.

    it has been almost two years now and they are still saying they are waiting on blood work and his public defender still hasnt meet with him even though he has tryed to make appopinment after appointment. how long does it take for a blood test to c...

    Douglas’s Answer

    the statute of limitations in Georgia is 2 years from the date of the alleged act. Please don't hold it against the public defender he has tons of cases.

    blood test results in Georgia can take up to 6 months to complete. Your husband can request an independent test if you want to know the reults now.

    without the blood test your husband's odds at an acquittal significantly increase

    See question 
  • I was charged with a DUI 40-6-391(a)(1) for refusal of the alcohol analyzer. The cop originally stopped me for tag light.

    Within (10) business days I must request a hearing or my license will be suspended. The hearing will be held in accordance w/ the "GA Administrative Procedures Act" and the Dept of Driver Services Rule 570-1-.05. In the request, I must include ...

    Douglas’s Answer

    send me your email and i will send you a form

    or call 706.778.7178 on monday

    you may also call my investigtor and get one for free his name is sam 706.244.4994

    See question 
  • I got a speeding ticket going 54 in 35 no seat belt and no insurance what is going to happen to me

    i got caught going 54 in a 35, wasnt wearing a seatbelt, and dont have car insurance what is going to happen to me

    Douglas’s Answer

    because jail looks possible I suggest a call to either lawyer for advice:
    D. Timothy Huey, Sustaining Member, State Delegate
    Address
    1041 Dublin Rd
    Columbus OH 43215
    Email: timhuey@sbcglobal.net
    Complete Details
    Phone: 614-487-8667
    Fax: 614-573-7232


    Jeffrey C. Meadows, General Member
    Address
    8310 Princeton-Glendale Rd
    West Chester OH 45014
    Email: jmeadows7@aol.com
    Complete Details
    Phone: 513-777-2222
    Fax: 513-870-5442

    See question 
  • Non owner no insurance citation?

    i was driving for my intoxicated brother when i got pulled over. he does not have insurance but i do yet i still received the citation. how can i go about getting the charges dropped or changing the ticket to my brother?

    Douglas’s Answer

    contact Kirby, this may be more difficult than you expect, however this is a state specific charge:

    J. Kirby Riffel, Founding Member
    Address
    202 W. Broadway
    Pocahontas AR 72455
    Email: kirby@suddenlinkmail.com
    Website: http://www.arkansasdwi.org
    Complete Details
    Phone: 870-892-4426
    Fax: 870-892-8549

    See question 
  • How can i get a revoked license from an MIP back, or a temp license

    My son got 2 MIP's and they pulled his license and DMV is telling us he is not eligible for a temporary so that he can get to and from college and work. Is there a way to reinstate his license? some of his friends have got 2 and they didn't get t...

    Douglas’s Answer

    contact either of these fine lawyers, they specialize in this field, usually free advice for something like this

    John Henry Hingson, III, Former Regent, Founding Member
    Address
    409 Center St
    Oregon City OR 97045
    Email: johnh@hingson.com
    Complete Details
    Phone: 503-656-0355
    Fax: 503-656-0415


    Peter Carini, Sustaining Member, State Delegate
    Address
    800 W 8th St
    Medford OR 97501
    Email: crim2law@aol.com
    Website: http://www.dui-oregon.com
    Complete Details
    Phone: 541-734-7001
    Fax: 541-734-9818

    See question 
  • How can I help my husband through his first domestic arrest?

    My husband was drunk and hit me after I question a certain phone number on his cellphone. I called the cops and he was arrested. I have two young children what can I do to help him?

    Douglas’s Answer

    Please be adivsed:

    The Domestic Violence Offender Gun Ban ("Gun Ban for Individuals Convicted of a Misdemeanor Crime of Domestic Violence", Pub.L. 104-208,[1] 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9)[2]) was an amendment to the Omnibus Consolidated Appropriations Act of 1997 enacted by the 104th United States Congress in 1996. The act is often referred to as "the Lautenberg Amendment" after its sponsor, Senator Frank Lautenberg

    if he is convicted he can not have a gun or he will be charged ferderally (yes this really does happen if he pleads guilty)

    call a lawyer

    Scott E. Chambers, General Member, State Delegate
    Address
    Schmittinger Rodriguez, P.A.
    414 S State St
    Dover DE 19901
    Email: schambers@schmittrod.com
    Website: http://www.schmittrod.com
    Complete Details
    Phone: 302-678-5462
    Fax: 302-678-6586

    See question 
  • Drink in public ticket in Beaufort for Canadian citizen

    I recieved a ticket in Beaufort recently. The ticket states - drink in public. The officer at the time originally stated I was being written up for drunk in public. After calling the municipal court, they told my the ticket was coded for drinking...

    Douglas’s Answer

    To begin, in Canada a DUI is a felony and therefore an excludable offense under the Immigration Act. A DUI is an indictable offense in Canada that may be punished by imprisonment for up to a 5 year term.¹

    Anyone with a conviction in the United States that is treated as a felony or indictable offense in Canada is excludable from Canada, but even if the offense is not a felony or indictable offense in Canada, Customs and Immigration Officers have ultimate authority to permit and deny entry to Canada.²

    Almost all convictions (including DUI, DWI, reckless driving, negligent driving, misdemeanor drug possession, all felonies, domestic violence (assault IV), shoplifting, theft, etc) can make a person inadmissible to Canada, regardless of when they occurred. For this reason, it is not recommended that persons with past convictions attempt to enter Canada without first obtaining necessary documents. It is always the final decision of officers at ports of entry to decide whether a person should be allowed into Canada

    Ronnie M. Cole, Founding Member
    Address
    1303 Ella St
    Anderson SC 29621
    Email: ronmcole@bellsouth.net
    Website: http://www.colelawfirmsc.com
    Complete Details
    Phone: 864-225-3617
    Fax: 864-231-9117

    See question 
  • I have an open intox, M.I.P. and a possession charge and i want to get a plea bargain. How do I accomplish this?

    I got an O.W.I. and an M.I.P. in 2008 and i'm afraid of getting sent to jail for my new charges. I have a job and don't want to lose it. With the plea bargain, I want to get the open intox and the M.I.P. dropped and just plea guilty for the posses...

    Douglas’s Answer

    Patrick T. Barone, Sustaining Member
    Address
    280 N Old Woodward Ave Ste 200
    Birmingham MI 48009
    Email: ptbarone@mi-dui-central.com
    Website: http://www.WinBackYourLife.org
    Complete Details
    Phone: 248-594-4554
    Fax: 248-594-4549

    See question