F. "Bill" William Powers’s Answers

F. "Bill" William Powers

Charlotte DUI / DWI Attorney.

Contributor Level 17
  1. First time offender in nc-received dwi for prescription medication and received ticket for speeding. what do i face with nc dwi

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. F. "Bill" William Powers
    2. Linda Medeiros Callahan
    3. Kurt Robert Willems
    3 lawyer answers

    There are three different methods of proving "impaired driving" in North Carolina: 1. BrAC or BAC reading of .08 or higher; and/or 2. Appreciable Impairment as described by witnesses for the State; and/or 3. Existence of Metabolites of certain controlled substances. (SEE BELOW FOR STATUTORY DEFINITION UNDER NCGS 20-138.1) The accused may not be actually "impaired" to be convicted of Impaired Driving. DWI may be proven even in instances where the active ingredient is NOT present in...

    6 lawyers agreed with this answer

  2. Can i get a first time offense of concealing goods off my record?

    Answered 4 months ago.

    1. F. "Bill" William Powers
    2. Raushanah Fadqua Rodgers
    3. Robert Kelly Corbett III
    4. Raymond George Wigell
    4 lawyer answers

    First, try not to fret. There may be options available. Second, retain an attorney immediately. Criminal matters, such as the one described in the inquiry, can be complicated. For more information on the law in North Carolina see: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_14/GS_14-72.html You may wish to Michael Neece if the case is in Gastonia, NC. http://theneecelawfirm.com Please say "hey" if you call. Great inquiry and best of luck...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  3. DUI trail pending and want to go home country for six month , DA refuse to extend date .

    Answered 5 months ago.

    1. Fred B. Amos II
    2. Laura Marie Cobb
    3. F. "Bill" William Powers
    3 lawyer answers

    You've retained an attorney for a reason. They are in the best position to answer your questions. I feel certain your lawyer is MORE than willing to answer your questions .

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  4. I have a citation for failure to report an accident in North Carolina wih damage of more that $1,000. What do I do?

    Answered 5 months ago.

    1. Christopher James Welch
    2. F. "Bill" William Powers
    3. Frank Gonnello Jr.
    3 lawyer answers

    Normally you see those types of citations when the operator, in a single-car accident, hits or destroys a significant amount of personal property. Under North Carolina General Statutes, specifically, NCGS 20-16, that is a three (3) point moving violation. http://www.ncleg.net/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/HTML/BySection/Chapter_20/GS_20-16.html But it’s more complicated than simply the issuance of Motor Vehicle or Insurance Points. To understand the legal issues involved, one would be...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  5. How can I find the rules a judge uses for sentencing online? I want to see if my sentence is compatable with my conviction.

    Answered 6 months ago.

    1. F. "Bill" William Powers
    2. Dean George Tsourakis
    2 lawyer answers

    Here's the link to the North Carolina General Assembly Statutes. You may want to look within the range of 15A-1340 You'd be well-served speaking with your attorney.

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

    1 person marked this answer as helpful

  6. If non immigrant convicted for felony

    Answered about 1 month ago.

    1. Daniel Allen Meier
    2. F. "Bill" William Powers
    3. Anna Morrison Goodwin
    4. Valerie Semmes Bouffiou
    4 lawyer answers

    Need more information. Generally speaking, in North Carolina, a JURY would normally be required for a conviction at TRIAL. A Superior Court Judge could accept a "guilty plea" to a felony. If a plea is entered, which would be on the record and after substantial discourse of options, one would have given up the option for a trial by jury.

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Can I get a PJC on DWLR

    Answered 3 months ago.

    1. Samuel J. Randall IV
    2. F. "Bill" William Powers
    3. David Alexander Concha
    3 lawyer answers

    Although one is not required to retain legal counsel, many people find the process to be time consuming and confusing. Furthermore, an Assistant District Attorney is prohibited from providing legal advice. As such, retaining a lawyer would be a good idea. Traffic matters, such as the one described in the inquiry, can be complicated and carry long-term consequences. The historical basis regarding the inquiry is a bit disconcerting, because had a lawyer been invoked from the...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. I just received a speeding ticket for 44mph in a 35mph zone In Burlington, NC. I have not had a ticket in many years.

    Answered 4 months ago.

    1. Christopher James Welch
    2. F. "Bill" William Powers
    3. Kevin Brandon Remington
    4. Fred B. Amos II
    4 lawyer answers

    Depends on more than just prior convictions. One must consider "at fault" wrecks on the policy. Assuming nothing at all, likely better to save PJC. Either way, given the complexities of traffic law, makes sense to consult with an attorney. Many lawyers will provide confidential consultation at no charge. Andy Hanford is a great attorney and super nice person. Please say "hey" if you call. Good question! Bill Powers

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  9. My daughter was involved in a fender bender today. Officer issued a ticket. Can we fight it?

    Answered 4 months ago.

    1. R. Alfred Patrick
    2. Christian K. Lassen II
    3. Kevin William Attkisson
    4. F. "Bill" William Powers
    5. Jeffrey Mark Adams
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    There might be an additional option. Some jurisdictions, depending on the severity of the collision, allow for a dismissal with confirmation that the insurance carrier has covered the claim. Chuck Alexander is a really good lawyer in Winston. You may want to give him a call. Please say "hey" if you do. Bill Powers

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

  10. Can you be charged with a dui if the blood work hasnt been back?

    Answered 4 months ago.

    1. Christopher James Welch
    2. F. "Bill" William Powers
    3. Samuel Cohen
    4. Ethan Patrick Meaney
    4 lawyer answers

    Yes, it's actually pretty common. There are three general ways to prosecute an DWI in North Carolina: 1. Appreciable Impairment, and/or 2. At any relevant time after operating vehicle, 0.08 breath reading, and/or 3. Metabolites or active ingredients of Schedule I Controlled Substance in blood. One would necessarily anticipate the State is proceeding on the first prong of impairment. That does not preclude ALSO prosecuting under the 0.08 or Schedule I standards as well. (VERY fact...

    5 lawyers agreed with this answer

Payment Plans, Free Confidential Consultation

877-462-3841