You should consult with a DWI attorney in Wilmington. However, most jurisdictions in NC will NOT dismiss a DWI. Here in Wake County, it's either plead guilty or go to trial. DWIs are not negotiated. Since you went through a checkpoint, there may be a constitutional argument depending on your individual circumstances but make sure you hire an attorney. Good Luck.
You get one 9 mph over the limit speeding ticket every 3 years that does not affect your insurance points. So, if you have no other moving violations in the past 3 year experience period then this ticket will not affect your insurance rates.
You can. You should go to the clerk's office in the county in which you were charged and ask for the appropriate forms. They cannot give you legal advice but they should point you in the right direction. THE NC AOC form is AOC-CR-264.
DId you miss court ? If so, then yes, a failure to appear will be entered and an order for your arrest. However, just completing the form won't necessarily recall an order for arrest. A Judge has to approve the continuance. You should contact an attorney immediately who can help you. In fact, it's quite possible that an attorney can prevent a warrant from ever being issued. If a warrant is issued and you're arrested you will waste money bonding yourself out. This is money that could be...
You are required to appear in court. Failure to do so can result in a failure to appear being entered in your case, a fine, or even a warrant for your arrest. It seems very unlikely that you've made 11 court appearances for the same case. If the state was not prepared to proceed by this point, most judges would have denied the state's motion to continue and your case would have been dismissed.
If you have additional questions, you should consult an attorney who practices criminal law in...
First, if I were you, I would contact a criminal defense attorney who focuses his practice on defending people charged with DWI. North Carolina has a 2-tier court system. The US Constitution guarantees the right to a jury trial. Since North Carolina does not permit a defendant to request a jury in District Court, any defendant who is not satisfied with his District Court result can appeal to Superior Court for de novo proceeding. Basically, the judgement in District Court is vacated and...
First, your boyfriend is the defendant and he needs to discuss this with his attorney. If he has already accepted a plea and that plea has been recorded in court, then his options for appeal are very limited and most courts are not going to review his sentence since his sentence was part of his plea. In any case, you should have him consult an attorney.
First, the facts sound like breaking and entering into a motor vehicle which is a crime. And yes, people can be charged with trespassing if they come onto your property. Set up a webcam :) catch them in the act.
THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT - If you have NOT yet been charged, but only being investigated, the absolute best advice that any attorney can give you: BE QUIET and HIRE an attorney immediately. Given these circumstances, and with an attorney, there may very well be a scenario where you are never formally charged. You need to consult with an attorney immediately. Good Luck.