Kimberly Potter Fauss’s Reviews

Kimberly Potter Fauss

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Recommend highly

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly 1-3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    Kimberly was thoroughly professional and she deserves much credit for "keeping the boat steady" in some turbulent waters. Her extensive experience with collaboration and her skill at keeping our discussion centered on our children and the best long-term interests of all parties was especially appreciated. She was "no-nonsense" when necessary, but also represented me with the right mix of compassion and careful attention to detail.

  2. Superb collaborative separation and divorce lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly 1-3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I recommend her without reservations. She is an excellent attorney who brings a unique focus on helping the parties not only acheive a property settlement, but also work through the complex emotional issues that make a separation and divorce so difficult. Her focus is on healing and helping people through what is an inherently difficult process.

  3. recommend without reservation

    Posted by Diane, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly more than 3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    In our first meeting, Kimberly and my ex-husband's lawyer did the same review of the collaborative/mediation procedure with us. I found this to be particularly useful when my ex-husband lost sight of the mediation process and I was able to remind him of that initial meeting and the rules of engagement upon which we had agreed. There were times when i wanted to kick my ex's butt from here to Texas. And more. When those emotional moments occurred , I found Kimberly to be calm and always assured that we were making progress. At the end of the day, Kimberly delivered to me exactly what she had promised; an agreement which wasn't exactly what I wanted but one with which I can live. And that, friends, is successful mediation. Thank you, Kimberly, I have and will continue to recommend you without reservation.

  4. Unimpressed

    Posted by Dave, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Average
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I do not recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly more than 3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Kimberly brought little to the table other than a "process". We literally read through a document at our first meeting that we all had well in advance to understand the mediation process which was a waste of all of the participants time and money. She was not very helpful in offering suggestions/direction and was slow to respond to my questions, frequently calling me late on a Friday afternoon while on her way out of town with uninformed answers. I negotiated the terms of the divorce directly with the ex and felt like I paid Kim to be nothing more than a glorified cheerleader.

  5. Awesome

    Posted by Janet Carter, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly more than 3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Kimberly put me at ease in a very difficult and unanticipated situation. Her knowledge was extensive, her information clear and direct, and she worked with me for a settlement that was fair and unique to my situation. I could not have asked more.

  6. Nick, a divorce client from 6 years ago.

    Posted by Nick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.

    Kimberly Fauss sets the standard in the mediation industry. I was involved in a very contentious and highly emotional divorce. My divorce lawyer at the time was simply not capable of handling the high frustrations or emotions. Kim was able to mediate a highly charged divorce into a successful outcome. I was also able to avoid court and the expense of litigation as a result of her mediation ability. The opportunity to achieve an amicable outcome without all the added legal expense usually associated with a divorce was one of the best outcomes for us. The tools Kim gave us to work with also have allowed my ex-wife and I to enjoy a very pleasant relationship.
    I would highly recommend Ms. Fauss to anyone in need of effective mediation.

  7. A person who goes above and beyond

    Posted by Penny, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly more than 3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Mrs. Fauss was with me every step of the way providing valuable information about the Collaborative Divorce process. Divorce is a very emotional time for anyone; with her help and guidance I was able to clearly understand the process and was able to deal with my emotions and find a new path for starting again. I can not thank her enough. Due to her efforts we were able to end our marriage without anger and resentment in a timely manner.

    I would (and have) recommend Kimberly Fauss.

  8. Highly recommend Kimberly, I could not have asked for a better outcome to my divorce.

    Posted by Mark, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly 1-3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Kimberly was extremely professional, knowledgable and frankly very empathetic to my situation. I had a very complex divorce involving intricate financials, custody of my children and protecting my future. I researched dozens lawyers, interview 8 of them and picked Kim. She knows the collaborative family law process better than anyone. While getting divorced is extremely unpleasant, having Kim guide me through this was a Godsend. I've heard from friends their attorney's "disappear" for long stretches of time - not so with Kim. She was on top of all the details and was enormously responsive to me. When tensions ran high, Kim was able to diffuse that in a really productive way without giving up what was important to me. In the end, I ended up protecting the things that mattered most to me.

  9. Committed to Helping Others in Life's Transitions

    Posted by Cynthia, a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly 1-3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired this lawyer to mentor me through mediation. Kimberly Fauss has provided training and coaching to me in her capacity as mediation trainer and teacher over the last two years. I give the highest recommendation for both her mediation practice and training skills. As a Virginia Supreme Court Certified Mediator, I have found Mrs. Fauss to be an inspiring role model and mentor.
    Whether with clients or students, Mrs. Fauss employs compassion, empathy, and a positive perspective about problem solving and the learning process. Through her ability to listen, calm, and refocus a conversation, Mrs. Fauss demonstrates a genuine desire to help others help themselves.
    I have been with Mrs. Fauss in several complex divorce settlements. I am impressed by her intelligence, professionalism, and leadership in helping clients identify, organize and understand their issues. Mrs. Fauss is facile and energetic with all aspects of the mediation process from the intake interview, through the negotiation process, and finalizing the written agreement.
    Mrs. Fauss in her numerous articles, teaching events and mediations is able to simplify and explain the neuroscience involved in negotiation skills by translating complex theory into language her students and clients can understand. Her comprehensive understanding and genuine connection with others makes her a top choice for mediation or collaborative family law.

  10. Client review

    Posted by a Mediation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Kimberly Fauss.
    • I hired Kimberly more than 3 years ago.
    • Kimberly handled my Mediation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Atrocious group facilitation skills, seemingly more interested in following predefined process/timeline and ramming numbers through a standard method than allowing us to fully understand our options, deal with inevitable emotional challenges, and come to our own understandings and solution. Terrible attention to detail, poor grammar, and lack of clarity in writing -- I haven't seen such poor writing since grading papers from beginning community college students. The amount of editing required was completely unacceptable for a "professional," particularly one whose living depends in large part on the written word. By the time I realized what had occurred and started learning about other options that were never discussed, it was clear that we had wasted thousands of dollars. Everything was re-started from scratch. Would I recommend this lawyer for mediation? The answer is pretty clear.