Scott James Golightly’s Reviews

Scott James Golightly

Average Rating

Based on 12 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Wills/Living Will

    Posted by Bill, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • Scott handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    It was two before my wife's surgery and our wills needed updating.
    We also needed a living will.The law firm we had been using was
    dragging their feet.We called the Golightly law firm.We explained our
    problem. Three days before my wife's suggery we had a new will,
    general POA,medicalPOA and a living will.It gave us peace of mind
    working with the professional Golighty staff.

  2. Very Professional, High Quality Experience with Will and Trust

    Posted by William, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott 1-3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I am a 70 year old, retired professional who moved to Richmond 4 years ago and needed to re-do my Will, Revocable Living Trust, healthcare and financial power of attorneys and medical directive. I had decided to make a respected trust company in Philadelphia my Trustee and, since my daughters were older adults now, to change the executor of my Will. This was quite a change from my previous estate planning documents and there were dozens of decisions to make in order to effectively integrate the various documents. It was much more complicated than I had initially imagined. But it was very important to me at my age to get it right.

    I found Mr. Scott Golightly to be a very good listener and problem solver. He worked very effectively with the team at the trust company. Scott presented the various alternatives and their consequences clearly so that I could make good decisions. He was readily available by email or telephone and always encouraged questions and discussions so I could reach my best decisions. Scott was prompt and well prepared for our meetings and had a plan for how to proceed so our time together was productive.

    At my age, I found the task daunting at times but Mr. Golightly was always patient with me even when I was frustrated. Scott made the planning process as positive an experience as possible. In the end I am extremely pleased with the results and believe that I have left my daughters with the best estate plan that could be devised. Furthermore Mr. Golightly will be an excellent resource for them after I pass away.

  3. Exceptional service of Scott Golightly, Esq.

    Posted by Mark, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I recently needed to get my parents trusts revised and was very fortunate that our financial advisor recommended Scott for the revisions. A revision had been done in 2009 and was written in language that was difficult to understand. One of the first questions Scott asked was what our family goals were both short and long term and what we felt could be improved in the trust revision. The ability to clearly communicate, both written and oral, and to make sure the client understands and their wishes are executed were both important points to establish our trust and belief in Scott. Scott was sensitive to family matters and communicated necessary facets that needed to be executed for the trusts. Scott was additionally very efficient without any compromise in execution. Whenever I had any question, I would email and quickly received a complete and thoughtful assessment. Scott would provide not only one solution, but would consider different resolutions and would delineate the advantages and disadvantages for each. Scott has a rigorous and solid understanding of trust and estate laws and worked with us so that my parents wishes were executed and minimized stressful situations that may occur upon trust execution. He understands how tax laws may play a role and Scott worked closely with our financial advisor to structure the trusts to protect their integrity. Scott will gather information from substantial resources that lead to the best final decision and you will understand how the decisions are made. Scott has a very strong commitment to the client and I would do reading regarding questions and Scott would help to decipher the vast information base available. Scott was always pleased that I would present questions, he never viewed this in a negative manner. Some lawyers want you to accept their mechanisms of execution and view questions as confrontation, however this never occurred with Scott. Scott has resources that he will suggest and as for real estate transactions, these may greatly enhance the execution of an estate. I never felt pressured to use these, however, as Scott is so complete, he presents a panel of resolutions that was very beneficial. Unless you are a lawyer, you cannot understand the implications of the different decisions and I always felt comfortable and would receive thoughtful answers when I contacted Scott. The care and attention, to both legal and personal matters, was exceptional and I recommend him as a lawyer in the highest degree.

  4. Great Service, Responsive & Results

    Posted by Bruce, a Debt Collection client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Debt Collection matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    While originally Scott helped my wife and I with our wills and trust arrangements, he now consults to me for contract issues and debt collection with great results for my business. Scott has been fantastic to work with and we highly recommend him to any friend or business associate with personal or corporate legal matters. He’s always professional, responsive and a pleasure to work with.

  5. Trustworthy

    Posted by a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Scott Golightly as a lawyer for anyone needing legal documents. He was accessible to me via email or phone at any time of the day.
    Scott was punctual at each meeting and didn't make me feel that I was taking up too much of his time. He carefully explained all the legal terms to me and made sure that I knew exactly what everything meant. He made suggestions that helped me with the process of having a Will, Living Will and Power of Attorney drawn up. He was a good listener and very patient. He arranged his work schedule to suit my work schedule. It was a pleasure working with him and when it comes time to review my Will again, I will definitely call on him.

  6. President, MJ Group LLC

    Posted by Marilyn, a LLC client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Limited Liability Company (LLC) matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Scott is both professional and a good listener. He provided the options and you decided how to mange your business. He made good suggestions so that you feel that you have a knowledgeable adviser.

    Scott assisted in the creation of a LLC. As part of that start up, he reviewed a contract for me where I will be an independent contractor. This is my first venture into consulting and I needed to understand the pitfalls and how to create a functional legal entity.

    Since this was all new territory, he was very specific about how to get set up, he identified the professional advisers I would need, what accounts to create and what processes to put in place. I appreciated that support and help. I feel confident that we have made a proper start.

    He also advised me on estate planning. We have new documents in place and a sound basis for the estate.

    Overall a very good experience. We accomplished both creating the LLC and making the revisions to the estate in about three months.

  7. Honest and Efficient

    Posted by Terrill, a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Mr. Golightly helped me greatly in structuring and planning my real estate business. He worked quickly, efficiently and ensured my filing was correct and that my Operating Agreement was strong. He researched questions I had and provided me with very thorough responses. I could tell from our first meeting that Mr. Golightly was very knowledgeable, however it's not his knowledge that I trust... it is his honesty. Thanks Scott!

  8. Recommendation for Scott Golightly

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was in need of updating my estate planning documents and Scott was highly recommended. Scott is extremely professional and very knowledgeable. During our initial meeting, which was long and thorough, Scott answered all of the questions on my list, and while there were a couple of questions he was uncertain about, he researched the subject, and contacted me promptly with the answers. When our initial meeting was over, I left feeling very confident of my choice and I was not disappointed. I would highly recommend Scott.

  9. Golightly Law Review

    Posted by Kathy, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Scott was excellent to work with and made every effort to keep us informed so that we could make the best choices for our family and situation.

  10. Preparation of will, living will, and power of attorney

    Posted by Steve, a Wills client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Scott Golightly.
    • I hired Scott more than 3 years ago.
    • Scott handled my Wills / Living Wills matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Mr. Golightly was very professional, courteous, and responsive toward my wife and myself. He answered all of our questions in a way that we could understand without all the legal talk that is hard for the average citizen to understand. I am a former police officer and investigator, and have worked with hundreds of attorneys. In my opinion Mr. Golightly was very knowledgable and one of finest attorneys I have worked with.