Robert Emmett Battle’s Reviews

Robert Emmett Battle

Average Rating

Based on 19 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. DUI 2nd in 5-10 yrs and refusal of blood test

    Posted by Adam, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-6 months ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Bob Battle after being involved in an accident and being arrested for DUI 2nd in 5-10 years and refusal to submit to a blood test. He was well prepared from the first time I met him for a consultation. When we went to court he was in absolute control with a great plan to defend me so much so I felt the commonwealth attorney was on trial and not me. He was able to get the refusal dismissed immediately and then continued to fight to have the DUI dismissed as well. He had the commonwealth on its heels so much so the judge asked the Commonwealth if they wanted to plea down to a reckless, when I asked Mr. Battle what we should do he said don't take the plea, and the DUI was also dismissed. He truly is a fantastic lawyer, and worth every penny and then some. I could not recommend Bob enough for whatever traffic issues you may have. He saved my career and put one of the worst times in my life behind me. The moment that sticks out the most in my mind is when Bob told the judge "I agree that the commonwealth has done a great job of proving that my client was driving recklessly, but the charge is DUI not reckless driving" I almost cheered. The Judge was extremely upset as she knew she had to dismiss both charges, but Bob Battle is a BEAST in the courtroom, and she had no choice. Hire Mr. Battle you will not regret it!!!

  2. Bob Battle is an excellent lawyer!

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Mr. Battle represented my husband in Prince Wiliam county, he was facing multiple charges including DUI, Failure to take a breathalyzer, speeding etc. Mr. Battle was able to get the failure to take a breathalyzer thrown out (which carried a mandatory 12 month suspended license) as well as the speeding and the additional charges were reduced. I appreciate everything he did for us, this could have been so much worse!

  3. Alexandria Virginia DUI- Not Guilty at trial

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    In 2012, I was charged with a DUI in the City of Alexandria. Although Bob Battle grew up in Alexandria and practiced in Northern Virginia for the first 15 years of his 28 year career, he now lives in Richmond VA, 100 miles south of Alexandria. He does not do in-person consultations anywhere other than his office in Richmond. Prior to meeting with Bob, I met with an Arlington lawyer who has a very large Internet presence, and did not feel that he had the least bit of concern for me as a person as opposed to being just another fee for his law firm. I decided to drive to Richmond and meet with Bob Battle. I got a completely different impression from Bob Battle, who truly listened to me, explained the entire process to me and gave me a great sense of trust that he was my best option to defend me on this charge.
    Some facts about my case- After having a few drinks while watching a basketball game at a nearby restaurant’s bar, I turned downed the bartender’s requests to “follow him to a party” and, next, to let him drive me home. After rejecting this loser and leaving the bar, he called the cops to report me as a suspected drunk driver! While looking for a parking spot in front of my residence, the officer testified that I failed to signal on multiple occasions, was driving well below the speed limit and passed several open parking spots. The officer stated that when he pulled me over and I opened up my window, that he was "engulfed in a strong odor of alcoholic beverage." He stated that my speech was slurred, stance unsteady, and that I was unable to complete the field sobriety tests according to the instructions he gave me.
    To my dismay, my BAC at the station was a .08, right at the legal limit. The State of Virginia goes to great lengths to hide the fact that even the manufacturer of the breath machine they currently use admits that it has a margin of error. Bob Battle was able to demonstrate that the Breath Operator’s Manuals for other states and federal jurisdictions that use the exact same machine stipulate to this margin of error. Nowhere does Virginia include this information. At trial, the prosecutor was unwilling to consider anything less than a conviction as charged for a DUI. At trial, Bob Battle was also able to demonstrate to the judge that the Department of Forensic Science records showed that the machine was reading slightly higher than normal. The difference in knowledge of how the breath machine operates between Mr. Battle and the prosecutor was dramatic. It was obvious that the discussion and issues that Bob was raising to the judge were way above the prosecutor's head. The judge agreed that the prosecution had not proven a .08 beyond a reasonable doubt while I was driving. The judge ruled that the other evidence was not sufficient to prove my guilt beyond a reasonable doubt and dismissed my case. I cannot recommend Bob Battle highly enough, he saved my job.

  4. Best DUI Lawyer in VA

    Posted by Terry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Bob represented me on a DUI charge in 2012. I was working with another lawyer and was not satisfied . I met with Bob and was very happy I made the change. He is .not cheap but he is good. He explored everything possible.He knows the law and is respected in the courts. Bob and my counselor met with court and arresting Officer. They were able to negotiate down to reckless driving and restricted down to 6 months. I was very happy with outcome. Bob will tell you like it is from the beginning and he will keep you informed. He will work for you and your rights under the law.

  5. DWI Dismissed

    Posted by Andrew, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have used Bob Battle two times over the past 4 years and he "battled" to have the case dismissed in one instance, and the other reduced to Reckless Driving from a DUI- He is very seasoned in his profession and knows how the laws work- I would recommend Bob Battle to anyone who is facing DUI/DWI charges, as the penalties can not only be stiff, but expensive. Best money I ever spent being able to put away the legal issues after Bob Battle made them surrender!

  6. Richmond DUI Charge Dismissed!

    Posted by Adam I., a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent representation with outstanding results. Battle saved my career and flawlessly performed in the courtroom. I would definitely recommend Bob to anybody.

  7. Thanks Bob for your help...

    Posted by Terry, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Bob is an outstanding negotiator. He performed in an excellent way in every area that he said he would and that I expected. He is impressive in working with prosecutors and in court. He has a friendly and straightforward professional approach and without a doubt represents his clients in the best possible manner. It is my goal to never require his services again, but, if for some reason I did, or if someone asked me for a recommendation, I would call or refer them to Bob instantly! I was extremely glad to have Bob Battle on my side. He helped me so much.

  8. Save your money...free legal advice

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert more than 3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Battle did nothing more than a $150 an hour lawyer would do. Basically just go to counseling prior to the trial, obey what the court tells you to and you will save $5,000 and get the same results. I wish I would have represented myself looking back.

    And I agree with the other person that posted, if you ask him about "what in the world and I paying for and what am I getting" He gets very defensive and is not professional.

    1. Robert Emmett Battle

      Robert Battle

      Lawyer Comment:

      Wow! Last week was one of the most successful and satisfying weeks I have had in my 28 year legal career. I had 4 trials including two very difficult and tricky DUI trials. After one of the DUI trials, in which my legal strategy resulted in saving my client from a mandatory 20 day jail sentence, I received an email from his mother stating “We got our miracle today!!! Many thanks for your expertise." My other DUI trial involved a client who was involved in a very serious single-car accident and was badly injured. There were issues with the blood test and ability of the prosecutor to relate any other observations of my client as being a result of any alcohol he had consumed prior to the accident. I even obtained the EMT records which showed, contrary to the State’s blood analysis, that my client had been administered a high dosage of narcotics at the scene. Prior to court, I thought that the prosecutor might try to amend the charge to a charge of Reckless Driving, and I came fully prepared with relevant case law to defend that charge as well. At trial, the prosecutor realized he wasn't going to win the DUI and offered to allow my client to plead to Reckless Driving. My client, after consulting with me, refused the offer of a plea to Reckless Driving with no jail time. We tried the case and the judge only convicted my client of the non-criminal, traffic infraction of Improper Driving with a $100 fine. After court, my client’s mom approached me and she was getting choked up as she thanked me and told me that now her son could now move on with his life with this matter behind him. My other two cases were Reckless Driving Speeding cases which were reduced to non-moving, non-points infractions. Both clients sent me nice emails expressing their happiness with the court results and that they would certainly refer anyone they know facing similar charges.

      So, after this great week, I see that someone who says they were a client over 3 years ago decides to tell cyberspace how much I suck! I get that I have chosen to be a DUI lawyer and that it is very analogous to being a sports coach in that way too often the client’s opinion of your services is based solely on the result. You win, you are pulling off “miracles,” you lose, you are a “one star” lawyer. Now I know how the coach of the Brooklyn Nets felt when he was named NBA coach of the month for November, and got fired in December when the team lost a few games! Seriously, I have criticized websites like this for allowing anonymous negative reviews. I would like to see websites like this one state that if a person wishes to post a negative review, that they not only prove that they were an actual client but also agree to waive the lawyer's duty of confidentiality to explain the specifics. It is all a matter of basic fairness. I am all for transparency and if the purpose of allowing reviews on a website is to help other individuals with a pending case to make an educated decision, then requiring a person to waive confidentiality would allow visitors to this website to hear actual facts of the case. Such as, what was this person's BAC? What was the officer going to testify to at trial? Was there a videotape of the client and what did that show? Did the client plead guilty or did the case go to trial? What was the actual disposition? Were there other charges (such as Refusal) that were dropped or prior convictions or enhancements to the charge that were charged or could have been charged? I know a Virginia lawyer who had the same person post multiple negative reviews posing as different actual clients of the firm when it was in fact someone that the firm told they were not going to take their case. These reviews were about as real as Manti Te’o’s girlfriend.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

    2. Robert Emmett Battle

      Robert Battle

      Lawyer Comment:

      Bob Battle on Ethics and Expectations
      I do want to comment on the person saying I get “defensive” when asked what they are paying for and what they are getting when they hire me and that this is not “professional.” First any such conversations take place before the person has hired me and it is completely normal for a client to ask these types of questions. However, lawyers are one of the most highly regulated professions and the responses that I always give and I give multiple times in writing are completely professional and the only answers that any lawyer can honestly and ethically give to potential clients. On my website, www.BobBattleLaw.com, and in any advertising that I do to potential clients, I tell people that before they call me or any lawyer they should get a copy of my free consumer guide titled "How to Choose a DUI Lawyer in Virginia." I tell them it is critically important to look at the portion titled "10 questions you must ask any lawyer." Here is Question 10 with my response as written in the book:
      “10) “What will be the final outcome of my case?”
      A good attorney will not promise you a specific result, because it is always impossible to be certain how a case will turn out. Any other answer is dishonest and unethical. A good attorney can only promise to do his or her best job in defending you. No lawyer wins all their cases but it is a certainty that you can’t win an issue your lawyer fails to recognize and raise at trial.”

      Further, my Fee Agreement, which all my DUI clients review with me and sign states the following:
      “No Guarantee of Result
      You understand that while we will expend our best efforts on your behalf, that no lawyers, including those of this firm, can guarantee or promise any particular result in your case.
      You understand that we have an ethical duty to relay any plea offer from the prosecution and that we may recommend that you accept this plea. However, you understand that the ultimate decision to accept or reject any plea offer is your decision.”

      Not only is this the only ethical response, it reflects the great uncertainty of trial work. I tell people all the time that if I knew exactly what would happen at trial, then we wouldn’t need judges. Look at some of the Testimonials on my website some of which were describing the results obtained on appeal to Circuit Court. The only way a case winds up in Circuit Court is if a lower court judge has found the client guilty on what is usually the exact same evidence and testimony.

      So, sorry to this poster that the prosecution could prove his guilt and there were no “miracles” to be found. I did my best, all the while knowing that, as a DUI defendant in Virginia, we were competing on a very “uneven playing field.” Virginia is the state where you can be convicted under the drunken driving statute without the necessity of the government having to prove that you were either drunk or driving. Virginia is the state where it is legally “irrelevant” that your car is not even on, operable or whether you had zero intention of driving. The State where a sitting judge was quoted in the newspaper that fellow judges had approached him and told him they were unwilling to follow their sworn duty to uphold the Constitution if it would lead to the dismissal of a DUI charge. So to a happy reviewer on this website (i.e. I won his case) “Mr. Battle's no-nonsense attitude is remarkable. He gives it straight and does not sugar coat his thoughts or advice.” However, to this individual my honest, ethical statements are unprofessional! And I voluntarily choose and enjoy this gig?! I wonder if the Brooklyn Nets are looking for another new coach yet? Yo, Jay Z, give me a call.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  9. Not worth the $5,000 for DUI

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Fair
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • Robert handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    If this happened to me again, and in retrospect, I would not use Mr. Battle again. He was not responsive to phone calls and did not provide anything special in his representation that any other lawyer could. The difference is he charges more than most. If I responded to my customers the way he does, I would be out of business in a short period of time. I was expecting excellence and received average, at best.

    1. Robert Emmett Battle

      Robert Battle

      Lawyer Comment:

      Many lawyers have criticized websites like this for allowing anonymous negative reviews. I would like to see websites like this one state that if a person wishes to post a negative review, that they not only prove that they were an actual client but also agree to waive the lawyer's duty of confidentiality to explain the specifics. It is all a matter of basic fairness. I am all for transparency and if the purpose of allowing reviews on a website is to help other individuals with a pending case to make an educated decision, then requiring a person to waive confidentiality would allow visitors to this website to hear actual facts of the case. Such as, what was this person's BAC? Was it .15 (which kicks in mandatory jail time)? Higher than .15? Was it a first offense or second or subsequent offense? What was this person’s entire criminal history? Did the driving behavior involve an accident? What was the officer going to testify to at trial? Was there a videotape of the client and what did that show? Did the client plead guilty or did the case go to trial? What was the actual disposition? Were there other charges (such as Refusal) that were dropped or prior convictions or enhancements to the charge that were charged or could have been charged?

      Only if the actual facts are known can an objective assessment be made by someone else. I have achieved results that clients are not thrilled with that any knowledgeable DUI lawyer would say was a very good outcome given the facts and the judge sitting on that particular day.

      I do want to respond to the person stating that I was not responsive to phone calls. When a client hires me, I give them my mobile phone number! I tell them to feel free to call me during normal business hours. It is so common that it is almost a cliché about all those business people who, if asked, would say they place their families first, yet they work ridiculous hours and weekends and can be seen at their children’s sporting events with their cell phones plastered to their ears. I am proud of the fact that I spend nights and weekends with my family. Not doing legal work on weekends is easy. I even gave up being the Washington Redskins’ Press Box Announcer and performing as a professional comedian at comedy clubs on weekends. I do not regret this decision one bit. The only complaint that I have received about not getting back to a client was someone who called AFTER his case was already over about a motion that they were not eligible to file for another 30 days AND that my Fee Agreement explicitly says is not covered in the representation.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  10. 85/70??

    Posted by Rose,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Robert Battle.
    • I hired Robert 1-3 years ago.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    As a Maryland driver, I was an absolute wreck over the fact that I had been charged with a "reckless speeding ticket" and that the officer mislead me into thinking that the consequences were not as severe by merely paying the ticket as a pre-payment. A local law firm recommended Bob Battle and despite the 20 advertisement letters I received from lawyers I decided to go with the recommendation for Battle. Take my advice and consider this a referral from a dedicated teacher, wife, and mother who made one careless mistake: Bob Battle delivers what he promises. Professional and trustworthy! My results were beyond my expectations: no conviction and no points. Exactly what I hoped for...Exactly what was delivered!

Call me re your case or visit my website to get free books on DUI & Reckless Speeding

804-673-5600