Yvonne Theus Griffin’s Answers

Yvonne Theus Griffin

Charlottesville Car / Auto Accident Lawyer.

Contributor Level 8
  1. What àre my rights if I'm being sued even after settlement by my insurance co.??

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Benjamin Weaver Glass III
    2. Steven Mark Sweat
    3. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    4. C Steven Moskos
    5. Lars A. Lundeen
    5 lawyer answers

    If your insurance company paid for the damage to the car, you should not be sued for the property damage. If your insurance company paid for any personal injuries sustained in the accident, you should not be sued UNLESS you did not have sufficient insurance to cover all the bills. Even if this is the case, most companies will not settle a case unless the policyholder (you) is released from further liability. Call your insurance company to find out what is going on.

    Selected as best answer

  2. I'm curious as to the statute of limitations for madison county virginia for filing a civil suit for personal injury

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. David W. Terry
    2. Michael David Thomas
    3. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    4. David J. McCormick
    5. Robert Don Fink
    5 lawyer answers

    In Virginia, you generally have two years to file suit after an injury. When a county is involved, you may have other notice requirements. Some cities and counties require notice of claim within six months of the date of injury. If the proper notice is not given, you could lose your rights. Either a federal claim or a state claim can be made in such cases. I recommend that you speak with a civil rights attorney or a personal injury attorney as soon as possible. He/she will be able to give...

    4 lawyers agreed with this answer

  3. Hit in rear

    Answered 6 months ago.

    1. Allan M Siegel
    2. Jamie Lynn Karek
    3. Michael G. Phelan
    4. Seth Raven Carroll
    5. Christopher Campbell Booberg
    6. ···
    11 lawyer answers

    Get medical treatment if you are injured. Be sure that your health insurance is billed for your injuries. Let your insurance company know this happened and ask your insurance company if you have medical expense benefits. You are entitled to a rental car from the at-fault driver's insurance if you were not at fault and your car is not drivable or in the shop. Call an attorney that concentrates in personal injury immediately to learn your rights.

    3 lawyers agreed with this answer

  4. How can I get an extension of the statute of limitations in the state of Virginia. This involves a medical negligence/malpractic

    Answered 4 months ago.

    1. Benjamin Weaver Glass III
    2. Dennis Wayne Tackett
    3. Joshua David Silverman
    4. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    5. Richard Todd Rosenstein
    5 lawyer answers

    Ben, Dennis, and Josh have given you correct information regarding your statute of limitations. You should file your suit before the two-year deadline. Generally speaking in Virginia, you have up to one year after you file the suit to serve it on the defendant. This will give you some additional time to discuss the case with an attorney and to determine if you do want to go forward with the action.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  5. Can a spouse sue a military medical facility?

    Answered 6 months ago.

    1. Dennis Wayne Tackett
    2. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    3. Christian K. Lassen II
    4. David Ian Schoen
    5. Elizabeth Taylor Herd
    5 lawyer answers

    More likely than not you cannot sue. Check with an attorney who concentrates in military law. Usually around military installations you will find lawyers who do a lot of work dealing with military matters. Another thing you might try is asking the JAG office.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  6. My mom passed away in her sleep this past July. She did not have an autopsy.

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Benjamin Weaver Glass III
    2. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    3. Joseph Jonathan Brophy
    4. James P. Frederick
    4 lawyer answers

    One of the required elements of a medical malpractice case is causation. You must be able to prove that the medical malpractice caused or led to the death. Without an autopsy you will have a hard time proving the cause of the death was medical malpractice. Medical malpractice cases are very expensive to prove. Even with good proof, doctors win much more often in Virginia than do the injured patients. You may have suspicions about the cause of your mother's death, but trying to go the...

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  7. Consultations with multiple attorneys before selecting one

    Answered almost 2 years ago.

    1. Daniel Nelson Deasy
    2. Benjamin Weaver Glass III
    3. Mario Julius Stellute
    4. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    5. Steven Mark Sweat
    6. ···
    6 lawyer answers

    Absolutely not! It is a smart thing to do. The process of a personal injury case is painful enough without having an attorney you trust, someone who will listen to you and answer your questions, talk to you instead of down to you. I always tell people that hiring an attorney is like buying a tomato. You want to feel around until you get the one that feels right.

    2 lawyers agreed with this answer

  8. How much should a person ask for who was diagnosed with whip lash?

    Answered 6 months ago.

    1. Peter Anthony Jabaly
    2. John L. Schroeder
    3. Peter C Burnett
    4. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    5. Christian K. Lassen II
    6. ···
    10 lawyer answers

    Without knowing much more about your case, a lawyer is not able to answer this question for you. Many things go into the valuation of a case. Some of them are the amount of medical bills, the number of times you treated, the length of time you treated, your doctor's opinion regarding your injury, and your long-term prognosis. If you are still hurting, your number one concern now should be getting to your doctor so that you can get well.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  9. How should i proceed?

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    2. Christian K. Lassen II
    2 lawyer answers

    If the car is drivable, your husband just needs to go get it. If it is not drivable, he can hire a tow to go get it. If the shop will not release the car to him, your husband should seek the advice of an attorney about filing a warrant in detinue. This is a procedure for you to recover your personal property. If your husband goes to get the car or sends a tow truck, he must not create a situation that will lead to a fight or injuries. If he cannot peaceably collect the car, he needs to...

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

  10. How do I find out about possible money owed my famly

    Answered over 3 years ago.

    1. Emily Mapp Brannon
    2. Paul Anthony Prados
    3. Yvonne Theus Griffin
    4. Christian K. Lassen II
    5. Michael Paul Ehline
    5 lawyer answers

    Your father's estate should be located in the city or county where he resided at the time of his death. The clerk of the circuit court in that city or county can let you know who is handling the estate. Check with an attorney who specializes in wills and estates for a more specific answer.

    1 lawyer agreed with this answer

Call now for a free consultation.

434-973-7474