Virginia B Joehl’s Reviews

Virginia B Joehl

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome Attorney!

    Posted by Very Pleased Parent, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia 1-3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Child Custody matter.

    Virginia Joehl is Brilliant! I was blessed to have Virginia represent me during one of the most difficult times of my life. I retained Hecht & Associates Law firm only days before my custody hearing. At the time, I was unsatisfied with my current representation, and needed an aggressive attorney to attend an expedited hearing with me to regain custody of my child. The circumstances surrounding my particular case were challenging and complex however Virginia did not bat an eye as she arrived to court confident and well prepared. She was professional, knowledgeable, and aggressive. Virginia was compassionate and effective in giving me the encouragement and confidence I needed at a time when I was not only an emotional wreck, but discouraged from my prior council. She listened, yet kept me focused. She was witty, yet audacious and I am thrilled to say that I was awarded primary custody of my child! I highly recommend Virginia to anyone needing representation in a child custody matter, as I am certain you will be satisfied with her level of commitment and expertise.

  2. Compassionate while clear and concise.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I found Virginia through the Montgomery County Women's Commission (MCWC) about 2 years before I was ready to proceed with my divorce. I attended the session at the MCWC then made an appointment to chat. She provided me with sound advice and recommended I return when I was ready. Sadly, I returned. With her able assistance, I planned my divorce and departure from MD. Virginia helped me to assemble a separation agreement that protected me and my interests while being mindful of my spouse. Although this was one of the most difficult decisions, I have made in my life, I am so thankful that I had Virginia helping me every step of the way. Since I no longer lived in Maryland, during the divorce process, Virginia and her staff were flexible and available whenever I called. I didn't even return to Maryland for the divorce hearing.
    I highly recommend Virginia. I was impressed by her ability to hear what I perceived as potential challenges and her expert ways of addressing them. Her years of experience and compassion were apparent.

  3. Awesome, seriously.

    Posted by Rashid, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Virginia Joehl is smart, intuitive and bold. She knows when to confront issues head-on, when to anticipate alternatives and when to thwart tactics that could otherwise lose a case. While she does make time to understand she also goes with her gut. Her willingness to collaborate thoughtfully is balanced by her quickness in a fight.

    She keeps the case (and me) focused on facts that matter and always spends time and money wisely. Refreshingly, she's funny enough to make bad stuff bearable with just the right touch of sarcastic. Seriously.

    I am more confident from this experience and I believe clients have an unmatched advocate in Virginia Joehl.

  4. Excellent Divorce/Custody Attorney

    Posted by Dan, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Virginia helped handle my initial divorce/custody case and has been my primary attorney in follow-on matters for the last 1-2 years. Virginia provides excellent counsel and makes time for me on short notice. I definitely feel like she is on my side and is willing to fight for what is right for me and my daughter.

  5. Divorced in July 2011

    Posted by Karyn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Virginia was super. She responded quickly to my calls/emails and she was very frugal with her time. I had complete trust and confidence in her. I filed and asked for a July court date and she and her team secured the date.

  6. Excellent Divorce Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Superb attorney! Not Cheap on an hourly basis, but, of the 3 Attorney's I've used, she is VERY frugal with expenses and has thus been more cost-effective than all my other has-been attorney's. Excellent team works with her, Emily and Tom, who are also very very knowledgeable! This TEAM has won me more issues than all the others combined! I wish I'd found Virginia when I first started the divorce process. Love her! She is SO VERY worth the money! Can't say enough good things about Virginia!

  7. Support, integrity, professionalism and passion...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Virginia was my legal support system, in addition to the captain of the administrative ship. She knows her rules and regulations, and capitalizes on that knowledge and experience, balances it out with compassion for her clients and a brilliant sense of humor and fairness to provide the best counsel available to her clients. Overall, I was able to get through a very challenging period in my life with her zeal and zest and am eternally grateful.

  8. Great attorney and good people to boot

    Posted by Ed, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Virginia Joehl.
    • I hired Virginia more than 3 years ago.
    • Virginia handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Going through a divorce is a hugely difficult undertaking. There are so many emotions and what seems to be a complete loss of control of one's daily life. It would be easy for an attorney to take advantage of that. I met Virginia early in a difficult divorce situation. Virginia was a calming influence. She helped me understand a complex process and grasp the things I could and could not influence in it. She was understanding but frank about a number of courses of action I wished to consider. I was so pleased with her knowledge of the law, her understading of the dynamics of the court, her integrity, honesty, and efficiency. I would NEVER want to go through divorce again for so many reasons. However, I can say confidently, my selection of attorney is not one of them. I am grateful for her highly competant and compassionate counsel.