Gary D Altman’s Reviews

Gary D Altman

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Extraordinary attorney

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Estate Planning matter.

    Gary Altman is an extraordinary lawyer. Smart. Thoughtful. Fun. He has worked on a range of challenges for me - from guiding my personal estate planning to providing extraordinary tax strategy and support to me as a fiduciary of a large and complex estate. He has given me great advice. Found experts for everything from art appraisals to accounting to litigation. Demonstrated complete integrity. I recommend him without reservation.

  2. Drops Clients Arbitrarily and Without Notification

    Posted by a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was relieved to hire Gary early in the summer of 2012 to provide assistance and oversight in the administration of my father's trust and will. Within two months he stopped communicating with me via email/phone (we had only met once), and never returned the documents that I had provided to him. There was no prior or subsequent notice or reason given as to why he dropped me as a client. He also would not return calls from the representatives of a major law firm that I hired in his place.

  3. Estate Planning and Corporate Goverance

    Posted by Allen F. Shapiro, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    For the past twenty years, Gary Altman has provided my wife and I with expert, superior, professional advise and counsel with respect to our estate planning, trusts, and period review/modifications. He has also guided the registration and charter processs for our LLC, focused upon management consulting but with a wide, optional practice domain. We have recommended Gary to numerous friends and a few relatives, who have used his services and benefited from his insights and counsel with total satisfaction. He is thorough, pragmatic, learned and quite capable of explaining any particular legal approach in "plain english" - understandable to the professional or layperson. Moreover, since entering into his private practice many years ago, we have found his office staff to be consistently responsive, proactive and "sharp" in providing any necessary logistical assistance to both trivial and serious matters at hand. Having myself worked in the international field for over 35 years, I have found Gary to relate quite well to international affairs and to related matters of legal concern, which are of extreme benefit to my foreign national colleagues residing in the US as visa-holders and/or dual-citizen US passport holders (e.g., taxes, property ownership, trusts, etc.) While Estate Planning is cited as the case area, he has several other areas of professional expertise (e.g., tax law, real estate trusts, wills, etc.) but the AVVO system allows only one choice. Unequivocably, Gary Altman is five-star in every respect.

  4. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Andrew, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Gary was a very, very good lawyer and trusted advisor in a particularly intense trusts and estates matter. The matter involved truly unbelievable acts by another set of attorneys and we could not have obtained the results we did against such attorneys without Gary's great acumen and guidance.

  5. Estate Representation

    Posted by Temple, a Probate client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Probate matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was the personal representative of an estate and I hired Gary to represent me in the estate process, he was extreemly knowledgeable and responsive in the representation. I would not hesitate to recommend him.

  6. **Cream Of The Crop**

    Posted by Eric, a Trusts client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Trusts matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    After the unfortunate deaths of both parents, I was suddenly faced with the daunting task of securing a legal trustee on behalf of both my parents' separate legal estates. After stumbling around in the dark, I made up my mind to find the best Estate Attorney I could find. I will say it confidently now that I have found him: that person is Gary Altman.

    I found Gary's name in the Washingtonian Magazine "List of Best Estate Attorneys" and after meeting him, I was so happy I had. I have not encountered a more dedicated, intelligent, personable or fair lawyer as Gary Altman. He knows what he is doing, he works tirelessly, he is easy to get along with and he is a relief to have on your side. Gary Altman is the real deal.

    Since working with him, my every dealing with Gary has always been a pleasure, and that speaks volumes considering the surrounding circumstances and duress associated with the subject matter Gary has handled for me on a continuing basis over the past couple of years.

    Initially, I had come to Gary looking for help with my father's estate. While working in that capacity, Gary's role unexpectedly broadened. It turned out, the separate trustee my mother had chosen before she passed became less than honest and decided to leave the country taking my inheritance, a substantial sum, with him! As horrible an ordeal as it was, Gary took up the slack and immediately went to work on my dilemma. I was updated regularly and accurately as to the extenuating proceedings, which Gary organized in attempt to recover as much of the missing money as we could. Since the situation was so over my head, I could not do much more than simply stand back and watch as Gary orchestrated the proceedings. It took one year before we were able to settle and as difficult an experience as it was, having Gary to work with made it substantially more bearable and probably the only way the proceedings could have been bearable at all.

    You will know the difference immediately after, like me, your decide to go the easy route at first and work with a "relative" or "close friend" as your Estate Attorney as I had. Then eventually, if you work your way to someone like Gary Altman, you will see what a world of difference there is. I can not rate him highly enough. I can personally, unequivocally and without hesitation recommend Gary Altman to anyone who is in need of his help. He is truly the cream of the crop.

  7. Excellent Estate Planning Lawyer

    Posted by Stuart (An attorney), a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary 1-3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I have referred numerous clients to Gary and all have reported back as being extremely pleased. From the easiest to much more complex estate and probe issues he can boil them down and communicate them in a way that is very plain and understandable to the client. His "bedside" manner and ability to communicate are excellent and his legal skill and strategic approach are top notch

  8. estate planning

    Posted by Betsy, a Estate Planning client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Gary Altman.
    • I hired Gary more than 3 years ago.
    • Gary handled my Estate Planning matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Gary is a brilliant attorney working with our family to resolve serious tax and estate planning issues. Incredibly responsive.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

301-468-3220