Stuart Muntzing Skok’s Reviews

Stuart Muntzing Skok

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    If you need a lawyer to handle your divorce matters, Stuart Skok would be an excellent choice. I give her my strongest recommendation possible and do so benefiting from the experience of having her represent me.
    When I began the process to decide what kind of legal representation I wanted, I understood the impact that divorce proceedings can have on all the parties involved. In my research, I became aware of the “Collaborative Divorce” process and was convinced it was the right way to go. Stuart came highly recommended as an expert in this field. After I met with her, it was clear I made the right choice in representation.
    As we engaged the other side, it was clear that collaboration was the last thing we were going to get. Instead, to quote the judge, they turned it into a “torch the earth” campaign. Having selected Stuart to navigate through a collaborative process, we had to reset and plan for a more combative process. I had not planned for this and Stuart made an unbearable experience manageable.
    Stuart is the utmost professional. Her knowledge and experience were evident throughout the process. She took the time to explain what we were doing, why we were doing it, and what the implications would be of the outcomes. Her assessments were accurate and helped me keep the process in perspective. On the other side, Stuart was a patient listener. We would discuss different aspects of the case and she would act on either concerns I had, or ideas on how we could proceed. No matter how tedious or significant the item, I knew I could discuss with Stuart and as a result, better understand and appreciate the outcome.
    During this entire course of action, Stuart remained the consummate professional. When things got ugly, she effectively used facts and law to handle those situations, even when the other side would turn to personal attacks. Her calm demeanor and extensive knowledge rebutted those attacks very effectively. It was important to me that we stay on the high road throughout the process and let the judge make his decision based on facts, regardless of the outcome. Stuart was true to this, and her toughness and thoroughness as a litigator brought the real facts to light in an overwhelming way. The overall result was better than I expected due to Stuart’s effectiveness.
    If you want to be well represented, have a lawyer that can handle a wide range issues and divorce processes, work with someone that commands respect, someone that is compelling in the court room, and someone that has high standards of ethics and performance, then Stuart Skok is your hands down choice.

  2. It pays to hire the very best.

    Posted by Audrey, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart 1-3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I needed a divorce attorney, my brother (also an attorney) advised me to hire Stuart. He stated she was by far the best divorce attorney, and it turned out he was absolutely correct. We wrapped up all issues with my divorce in Jan 2013. I am so blessed to have had the expertise and legal advice provided to me by Stuart. She guided me through this most difficult period of my life, step by step. She is an extremely professional attorney who is very easy to talk to, and she is able to explain the intricacies of the legal system to those who are not familiar with it. More importantly, she has extensive experience in litigation against all the other divorce attorneys. This was apparent in her amazing ability to “read the mind” of my ex-husbands attorney. She was able to anticipate correctly each and every move his attorney made, and was able to use this skill to my benefit. Thanks to Stuart, I made out remarkably well in my divorce settlement. I thank God Stuart was available to represent me. I cannot recommend her highly enough.

  3. The best advice I encountered

    Posted by Gabriel, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I only met with Ms Skok once a couple years ago. I meant to post a review but just never got around to it. During my divorce, I met with several lawyers to get their take on my situation. Some offered no useful advice. Another one seemed very competent but was clearly trying to steer me toward a drawn out and expensive contest. Only Ms Skok offered me really shrewd, useful advice. I am a small fish. She treated me very well anyway and made a huge difference for me. I recommend her without hesitation. I'm really grateful for our meeting. Worth every last penny and then some.

  4. Highly recommended

    Posted by James, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I came into the collabritave process I had very little self esteme and felt like my world was going collapse. Thought my Ex was gonna take me for everything including my daughter.
    Stuart helped me regain my dignity and my self esteme by working through this process. I not only have custody of my daughter but feel like I have a backbone again. The collabrative process was the only route for our family and left no stone unturned. It made me realize that the negotiation and compomise is well worth it and with input from my daughter things worked out for all. Thanks again Stuart for helping me at this time of need you are awsome!!!

  5. Awesome Family Law Counsel!

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have one of the more unusual/convoluted child custody cases. Stuart was able to focus on a strategy to get some resolution to it. She was able to read the likely response of the other party and OPC. -I can't stress how important this "clairvoyance" was to my particular case, since irrationality dominated. I doubt that anyone can find a better Family Law Attorney in Rockville.

  6. Stuart Skok review - by Barry Cohen, MD

    Posted by bp, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    With five children, multiple businesses, and many levels of complexity associated with divorce, selection of an attorney was absolutely critical to me. I interviewed many high profile lawyers, but 2 years ago, made one of the best decisions of my life, to go with Stuart. Today, I finalized a settlement decree, after two years on constant litigation. Due to Stuarts efforts, I came out with joint custody of my kids (I am a working Dad and divorced a non working mom), and with an exceptional outcome financially. At every juncture, Stuart provided insightful and careful counsel. She was shrewd in her litigation and motions. She kept me from becoming unduly emotional in this very difficult process. She NEVER over billed. Her legal fees were 1/3 of my X wife, and I had a spectacular outcome. Stuart is a consummate professional, who was unflappable in the court room as well as in deposition and settlement negotiations. Her counsel was sage. Her goal was always with the long view of what was best for me and especially my children. She is bright, personable, and clearly respected by the judges (the case was so long we had two over the years). I always felt welcome to call or email. Her staff was fantastic.

    As a physician MD with Ivy league background, I do not suffer fools well. Stuart rose, in EVERY instance to exceed my expectations as a lawyer. I would recommend her to anyone, unhesitatingly, regardless of the stakes. She will not disappoint. Finally, her model of practice does NOT utilize the junior - senior attorney which invariably costs more and produces training for the junior associate at your expense.

    In short, Stuart is absolutely the best at what she does! My name is above. I am happy to serve as a reference for her. I am in the book!

  7. Excellent negotiating skills

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Ms. Skok managed my divorce from a very emotional former spouse who was difficult to communicate with. The settlement was fair and reasonable, with provisions for non-compliance.

  8. Cool, Calm and COLLECTED

    Posted by Lori, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Stuart is a true professional, she meticulously presented relevant material with intentional timing and the guided entire divorce process with grace, expedience and thoughtful consideration to an excellent result.
    In the throes of my emotional upheaval, she displayed reason and passion for the desired outcome, never wavering from the goal. She lead me to a rational, peaceful and joyful resolution with ease. I can highly recommend Ms. Skok for all matters of Family, Custody, Business Entanglement and complicated Alimony issues without question.

  9. SHE IS FABULOUS: HIRE HER!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Stuart Skok.
    • I hired Stuart more than 3 years ago.
    • Stuart handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Stuart handled my divorce five years ago. I am eternally grateful to her for her brilliance, kindness and all around professionalism. I had no idea what i was doing and i was scared, broke and an all around emotional mess. her patience, legal guidance and sense of humor made an incredibly painful time for me very bearable. I have a great life now and it is due in no small part to Stuart's legal brilliance. She made sure I was protected financially and also protected the welfare of my minor child. If you live in Montgomery County Maryland and need to hire a divorce attorney call her right away!!!!