Yurika Saito Cooper’s Reviews

Yurika Saito Cooper

Average Rating

Based on 31 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. made me loose a job!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika 6-12 months ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.

    Yurika made me loose a job. Instead of making me apply for a J1 waiver she suggested me to ask for an advisory letter to state department. I'm a citizen of Italy and she should have known that the only way to get rid of the two year rule on a J1 is to apply online for a waiver. I had a job offer at American Chemical Society in Washington DC and lost it because she made me take a very long route that ended up in nothing but a response from state dept. saying that i have to apply for a waiver. After 2 months of wait my employer told me that i lost the job because they could not wait any longer for me to get a visa.
    She charged me a lot of money for nothing. Good job Yurika!

    1. Yurika Saito Cooper

      Yurika Cooper

      Lawyer Comment:

      J-1 visa waivers can be very complex. The process of changing from a non-immigrant J-1 to a work visa can be very frustrating, and some people really want someone to yell at. This client had multiple and conflicting DS 2019s. The only way to determine if she was actually subject to INA 212e and needed a waiver was to request an advisory opinion from the Department of State. This is very well established as the best practice in this situation. Sometimes these take 4 weeks, sometimes 12 weeks. In this case it took 8 weeks. The processing times are clearly out of our control. Her program sponsor at the Department of Agriculture assured us that US government and foreign government funding was not involved. Additionally, the skills list was inapplicable to this client. Due to the conflicting forms and sponsor information, we could not determine whether the 2 year rule applied without requesting the advisory opinion. If the rule applied, we would then pursue the proper waiver. If the rule did not apply, the client would not need a waiver, thus saving thousands in legal fees and a less complicated process to change status. This client retained us to figure this out and the proper path was to initially obtain an Advisory Opinion from the US State Department. The advisory opinion was rendered on February 1, 2012 and contrary to her program sponsor’s assertions, this client was found to have actually received government financing. We explained this to her in February 2012 and offered to pursue the appropriate waiver. She declined to retain us for the waiver. By this point, the client became rude, abusive and simply mean to myself and to our staff. Over one year and ten months later, this former client now states that we should have skipped the Advisory Opinion process all together. I firmly stand by my contention that requesting the advisory opinion was the only appropriate first step in her waiver process.

      Posted 8 months ago. Flag

  2. 4 years later........

    Posted by Joe Dixon, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    It was summer and autumn of 2009 when I called upon Ms. Cooper. I never have met her face to face and wouldn't know her if we bumped in an elevator.

    What I remember most vividly is that my fiancé s K1 visa application was denied because of my income. I called Ms Cooper, I do not remember the specifics, just that she took care of it in a span of about 3 months and she didn't charge some unreasonable amount of money. As a matter of fact, she probably didn't charge enough.

    My wife and I will be celebrating our 3rd anniversary on May 6th.

    Thank you Ms. Cooper!!

  3. Post-Case Review

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Average
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Excellent service; but hard to get her to return my calls in less than a week if its not an emergency.

  4. Excellent attorney

    Posted by B, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We were introduced to Yurika through a friend which was very pleased with how Yurika had handled her case. Yurika quickly responded to my call and was very helpful even before we officially signed her up for our case. She's very knowledgeable, professional, helpful, trustworthy and overall made the process very straightforward. There might be a lot of lawyers that handle immigration issues but there are very few like Yurika! We would recommend her wholeheartedly

  5. Excellent Immigration Services with Personal Touch, Patient and Professional Excellence to Meet your Specifc Needs

    Posted by Sanat, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Good
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Yurika hasbeen an excellent attortney to us in our Immigration related cases. She is very well conversant in her area of dealing and can suggset the best way out for a win-win solution. She is reliable and trustworthy and does not take you on a ride for her fees / charges.

    Yurika is not money-minded and is very much reasonable in her charges which many of the new immigrants look for. She is very much reasonable and patient about their clients' personal needs and difficulties and and is sympathetic too.

    She is flexible in her opinion and approach to solve any given problem which suits her clinets.

    Yurika is very much experienced, knowledgeable and respects her clients' needs and expectations and gives very reliable feedback and answers to queries raised - leaving no gap for you to look for a second opinion.

    We are very much Happy with her overall services and will always look foward to avail her services again.

  6. Thank You

    Posted by Teresa, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I am very grateful to Yurika, for her services over the years. i truly believe that she was divinely given to my family. Keep up the great work.

  7. Outstanding Representation

    Posted by Candice & Derek, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Yurika Cooper is so informative of the current practices and updates concerning immigration issues. To start, her office is such a welcoming environment staffed with caring and patient individuals. Ms. Cooper is very flexible in arranging appointments and will accompany you every step of the way. She is successful in the courtroom and is highly respected by her legal peers. We have been pleased with every service and outcome provided by Ms. Cooper. I highly recommend this attorney !

  8. Review of Yurika Cooper

    Posted by Nnedi Ifudu Nweke, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Yurika is knowledgeable, responsive, and a strong advocate with a pleasant disposition. My mum and I thoroughly enjoyed working with her.

  9. She did a great job

    Posted by steve, a Employment client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Employment / Labor matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    She did what she said she would do. Fees were given up front and did not change. She worked very fast.

  10. Outstanding service and knowledge

    Posted by Prashant, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Yurika Cooper.
    • I hired Yurika more than 3 years ago.
    • Yurika handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Yurika Cooper is the best immigration lawyer I've dealt with -- and given my business, I've seen a few. She's knowledgeable, extremely responsive and reliable.