I just tinted them yesterday and for some reason, I seem to be a magnet for cops following me now. You can still easily see into my car. Thanks for any advice!
Yes. Most after market window tint is darker than Pa law allows. If your local police department has a light meter they may as a courtesy to you check the light transmittance to see if you are in compliance. Otherwise you are asking to be pulled over.See question
What will be better for me to do right now when I came back to Pennsylvania? Can I go to court here or just pay the ticket? Can I go to some traffic school to reduce the fine? Will I receive any points after paying the ticket?
If you have a class C Pa driver's license there are no consequences in PA--EXCEPT if the FLA ticket results in a FLA driver's license suspension, it would have to be fully served and your FLA privileges reinstated or Pa will not renew your license here---best to consult a FLA driver's license attorney first.See question
If it is my first DUI and I have never been arrested before but when I was pulled over I found out my license was suspended from an unpaid ticket would that disqualify me from ard? Also after being released I found out my insurance had lapsed, tho...
ARD eligibility requirements vary from county to county. There are some counties where an invalid or suspended license can preclude you from entering an ARD program. Check with a local DUI attorney in the county where you were charged.See question
And what if you don't have a car yet
A car does not have to belong to you as long as you have permission to have the ignition interlock device installed and permission to use the car. Not driving during the 1 year period of ignition interlock does not qualify as "credit" towards the ignition interlock requirement.See question
An arrest for DWI occurred and has not yet gone to trial. There may be a chance at avoiding conviction entirely. Is reporting of the arrest mandatory to the PA Medical Board? Must this be disclosed the employer if asked?
The obligations to an employer are typically outlined in an employee handbook or in a company statement of policy. If you are a contracted employee, review the contract. Certain employers require that arrests be disclosed. If you are uncertain I would check with your human resources department. The obligation to the Pennsylvania State Board of Medical examiners is outlined in their regulations. I would recommend consulting an attorney who has experience with that agency.See question
I was not arrested, PA state police said I will receive citation in the mail for public drunkenness and possibly another charge. I will be fighting the charges but am currently accepting an employment opportunity and they are running a background ...
The short answer is if you are at least 18 our court records in Pa are available online for public inspection, even if you have not been convicted. Public drunkenness is a summary offense in Pennsylvania. You have the right to counsel to assist you---would not recommend trying to defend these charges on your own.See question
I actually had a permit and a licensed driver in the car with me (my wife). I did not know that my license was suspended, I missed a payment on a payment arrangement, and penndot decided to suspend my license (well permit I guess) this monday I st...
Under the rules of court pertaining to summary traffic offenses in Pennsylvania, which include the charge of driving under suspension, you have 30 days from your guilty plea to file a summary appeal with the Dauphin County Clerk of Courts office. If you are outside 30 days, the court lacks jurisdiction to hear your appeal. I would recommend you consult with an attorney familiar with Dauphin County as soon as possible. Also, there is a companion requirement that you either file a separate PennDOT appeal from the suspension letter within 30 days of that notice in the county where you reside, or you can serve PennDOT with a time stamped copy of a timely filed summary appeal, and they can delay the imposition of your suspension until the outcome of your summary appeal hearing.See question
I am 19 years old and got an underage DUI. I did not completely stop at a stop sign and got pulled over. I took the sobriety tests and blew into the breathalyzer, then was taken to the station where I took another more detailed breathalyzer, I ble...
If you have no criminal record and have not been placed on ARD previously for a DUI you may qualify for the ARD program in Lancaster county. Each county has the right to establish its own procedures for applying for that program. I would recommend you obtain counsel immediately so not to jeopardize your ARD eligibility. With the ARD program, as a minor, you would face a suspension of your driving privileges in Pa but there is no jail time involved if you successfully complete the program conditions. Additionally you have the ability to earn both a dismissal and an expungement of the criminal chargesSee question
Driver was insured but did not know car she was driving was not insured and she gets in an accident and she is cited for driving an uninsured vehicle. Is there a defense?
The obligation to carry insurance on a vehicle rests with the owner of the vehicle involved. If the driver was not the owner and was cited for 1786 of the Pennsylvania Vehicle code she has a defense. She should hire an attorney to assist her with this.See question
I was travelling from Allentown to Philadelphia on the PA turnpike on route 476. So I was charged with a $256 fine, under Title 75 - Section 3362 - Subsection A1.1. The officer recommended I go to a hearing for this offence. I have a clean driving...
You cannot be sentenced to jail for the offense of maximum speed limits in Pennsylvania. PennDOT's policy is to suspend anyone convicted at 31 over or higher even if motorist has clean record. You should contact an experienced traffic attorney.See question