Michael V. Worgul’s Reviews

Michael V. Worgul

Average Rating

Based on 38 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Awesome lawyer

    Posted by Paul, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Exceeded expectations. Not only is Mr. Worgul's professionalism nothing short of exceptional but he posses a sense of humor, of which, makes his personality welcoming. I would unequivocally recommend him to individuals who are looking for a trustworthy, experienced, and knowledgeable attorney.
    Mr. Worgul, you rock dude!

  2. Couldnt be more pleased!

    Posted by Amy,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.

    I hired Mr. Worgul for a family member who was being held on a probation/IP violation. He went to work right away on the case kept in contact with me as much as his schedule allowed and was very professional as well as easy to communicate with. The recommendation of the court ranged from house arrest to 2-4 years in the state prison since this was not his first time violating probation. He negotiated for a lesser punishment and got the judge to rule in favor of his client agreeing to parole him out. We are expecting him home within the next few days. We couldnt have been more please with work done by Mr. Worgul or the outcome of the hearing. Yes I would recommend Mr Worgul for your need for a lawyer.

  3. Fighting for You / DUI Criminal Defense in Pittsburgh.

    Posted by Arthur, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I am EXTREMELY happy with my results.

    I contacted Michael Worgul regarding a DUI charge. He FOUGHT for what was most important to me... NO Jail time and NO License suspension.

    Michael is very Professional and Accommodating. I highly Recommend Attorney Worgul !!!!

  4. In a panic Mr. Worgul to the rescue!!

    Posted by Jill, a Fraud client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Fraud matter.

    I had recently contacted Mr. Worgul about my legal problems. At first I could not get a hold of him so I left a message within minutes he had returned my call. I asked several questions which he quickly and efficiently answered and explained the process that I will be going through. Mr. Worgul was patient and reassuring about a positive outcome. I would highly recommend Mr. Worgul to all of my family and friends.

  5. Best Ever!!!!

    Posted by Stefanie, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I had a DUI in 2006-- I had done everything that was asked of me ( payed fines, surrendered license, ARD classes) and I had all the paperwork to prove this.

    I had a personal matter that I was in court for (I was obtaining a permanent PFA) when all of the sudden I was put in cuffs, arrested and walked over to the county jail where I became an INMATE!! I was confused and extremely scared. After 24 hours incarcerated my mom came to visit me and said she had already spoke with and hired Mike Worgol for me, I was shocked and put to ease when my mom said to me " I have met with him, he WILL take care of this and get you home where you belong"

    From one county to the next ( I had to be transferred) I was incarcerated for just under 5 days. I went to my hearing (which was a virtual heaing in the county jail) they had said my proof of home ownership and employment had been provided- I have a clean record outside of my one incident in 2006 and I was released within 3 hours OOR ( on own recognance).

    I was released on Friday at which time I immediately texted Mike to thank him. He had assusred me at that moment not to worry he was going to get to the bottom of this, he told me to rest up and call him on Monday. I spoke with him on Monday, I emailed all my documents over to Mike who instantly confirmed what I had thought I spent 5 days in lock up for no reason.... over many phone calls and texts back and forth we had met in his office where he spent about an hour going over everything with me and got me prepared for my court hearing . From the day I left his office to the day of my last hearing he was amazing! Mike was efficient, always availalble and quick to respond and was extremely empathetic with me and how stressed and worried I was and my entire family as well.

    A few days before my final hearing he called me and said" Just relax, all is well. We should be in and out in a few minutes with a full dismissal" The big day came and I most certainly was stressing! Given the past , my faith in the court system was diminished completely and I will not deny I know Mike could see my fear and worry from the minute he walked in. Mike said "Let's go! I am confident this won't take long and I am confident in the outcome" We walked into the courtroom and within an hour we walked out!! I never saw a judge or anything ..... just Mike!! Mike walked up to me and smiled said" It's over!! The case was completely dismissed and I ensured this time all the paperwork is in the court systems records, in a few short months this entire thing will be completely removed and your record will look as if nothing ever happened! "

    Needless to say for the first time in months I went home that day RELIEVED !!!!!! I could never thank Mike enough for all of his hard work in this quite unique case. I knew I did what I was supposed to do and still had this fear that something was wrong or missing.... was I supposed to serve time?? Pay more?? I was constantly consumed by this one bad decision I made in 2006 and for it to be haunting me in 2013 so unexpectedly left me drained in every way possible. Mike was absolutely right, he did take care of it!!! He was the best and I most certainly keep his card with me and his number in my phone!! If you are looking for the best of the best.... it most certainly is Mike Worgol!!

    Thanks again Mike for all your time, dedication and hard work!!!

  6. Excellent counsel during a troubling time

    Posted by AG, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    After handling my first (and hopefully last ever) DUI charge, I realized I had made the right choice by hiring Attorney Michael Worgul. He is the only lawyer I have ever hired, and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

    From start to finish, Michael made me feel confident about my case, and kept me informed as to what exactly was going on throughout the legal process. At times I felt that I needed to know more, but that was just my own anxiety getting the better of me. But even when I expressed these worries, Michael was able to put my mind at rest with his counsel and confidence.

    His services were affordable and thorough. He got me into the ARD program and guided me throughout the whole process. I highly recommend hiring him for any and all DUI/DWI cases you may incur, especially if it's your first rodeo.

  7. great guy!!!

    Posted by shane, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Great guy works well with payments. Does his homework. Great communication. Ontime with everthing would recomend would use him again a+++

  8. great guy!!!

    Posted by shane, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Great guy works well with payments. Does his homework. Great communication. Ontime with everthing would recomend would use him again a+++

  9. outstanding

    Posted by jyjuan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Worgul.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    100% honest is all I can say . Very professional and never leaves me clueless when it comes down to knowing what's going on in your case. As far as I'm concerned I would recommend him to anyone who isn't looking for a sell out attorney and wants to know the truth instead of hearing streams of lies

  10. Not Recommended

    Posted by Ronald, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Michael Worgul.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mike Worgul is definitely not recommended. Mike Worgul failed to prepare for trial and put on the best defense that is possible for this client.

    This lack of preparation includes failing to effectively review file from prior attorney, reviewing evidence therein, and failure to review and investigate discovery materials provided by the District Attorney approximately three months before trial which I know refuted the DA’s charges. Mike Worgul did not provide me this discovery material when he received it for my review and comments. It was crucial and to the point of the DA’s case. I question if even Attorney Worgul reviewed this information from the DA or recognized what he had. This information went directly to the issue of $200 which is the basis of the DA's case. The DA charged $200 was accepted as a bribe (which is was not). The discovery showed $200 cash deposit in to the records of the municipality at that time.

    At trial Mike was not effective in cross-examining the states main and principal witness especially on the discovery material referenced above. He made in appropriate statements which should not ever be made by a defense attorney. When you step in to a court room an attorney should be ready to go and Mike Worgul who claims to be an experienced attorney was not sufficiently prepared.

    The poor preparation, failure to investigate discovery materials, failure to prepare any written motions (especially Motion to Dismiss), poor advice, and other matters clearly tell me Mike Worgul was not putting my best interests forward. It is my opinion that the mistakes and errors made would not have been made by a professional.

    After the trial Mike Worgul commented and then retracted that your money paid for his closing argument. What Attorney Worgul does not understand is that I paid my money to get professional representation with his best efforts for a full four quarters. It is very clear I did not get that and Mike Worgul offers no legal skills worthy of any retention in my view.

    This review is not written because he did not win the case as no attorney can guarantee results. The above is my assessment from my observation with the limited space allowed herein.


    RCB
    October 2013

    1. Michael V. Worgul

      Michael Worgul

      Lawyer Comment:

      Shame on You RCB!!!

      In fairness, it is true that I tried your case and lost but that is where the truth in your statement ends.

      For those of you not familiar with the case, allow me to provide some background. RCB was a local building inspector. The state police were suspicious that he was accepting bribes and, in exchange, he would withdraw expensive citations that he had issued for building code violations. Essentially, a person would pay him a small "fee" and they would avoid big time $$$ fines.

      Eventually, a building owner contacted the state police and informed them that he was about to solidify such a deal with RCB. The owner agreed to wear a recording device and capture his conversation with RCB. With the device recording, this person met with RCB, paid him $200, and RCB agreed to drop the pending citation at the magistrate's office. Guess what ... that is text-book bribery. More importantly, ALL OF THIS WAS CAUGHT ON TAPE. RCB and I knew all of this information months prior to trial. In fact, RCB knew this prior to hiring me.

      Despite the strong evidence against RCB (namely his own words on the tape recording) I was very close to negotiating a last-minute plea deal that would have erased any trace that this case ever existed. But I needed RCB's approval to finalize the deal. I explained this to RCB. Unfortunately, RCB rejected my efforts and arrogantly explained that God would see him through the trial. I politely explained that maybe the deal was God's way of bringing the matter to a resolution that was good for all parties. RCB quickly dismissed the idea.

      The assertion that I did not provide RCB with discovery materials is an absolute falsehood. I can clearly remember RCB delivering a copy of the discovery materials (which I had previously provided to him) to my office with highlighter marks and his notes all over them. This was at least two months prior to trial.

      As for the comment about closing arguments, I stand by them. You are ultimately hiring a defense attorney for his ability to close. Every action an attorney takes, from the inception of a case through the close of evidence at trial, leads up to the most important moments, closing arguments. And your wrong again RCB, I would never retract that statement.

      I expected this type of review back in March of 2013 when you lost, but this late timing is not lost on me. After losing at trial RCB contacted other attorneys (and agencies responsible for policing neglectful lawyers) seeking some error that I might have made at trial so that he could possibly get a new trial. If the allegations that RCB makes were true, the Court would easily grant him a new trial. But they are not true and that is why on October 24, 2013 (a few days before this review), the court denied RCB a new trial on any grounds. My guess is that you received the court order on October 26, 2013, and this review followed out of frustration.

      I have no problem with someone being upset if they lose. That is completely understandable. But RCB, don't lie and don't pretend that your case was a slam-dunk winner. It wasn’t! Out of pride you thumbed your nose at a potentially great plea offer and it came back to haunt you despite my best efforts.

      Posted 10 months ago. Flag