Nancy M. Eraca’s Reviews

Nancy M. Eraca

Average Rating

Based on 10 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Attorney Eraca talks a big game but her attention to detail and lack of follow through are questionable. Over $12,000 spent on a divorce. She promised the world in a case involving tremendous abuse but did little in terms of potential witnesses she could have had involved. She failed to include several details in the final trial which resulted in significant problems with the final decree and how it impacted visitation for my children. She held a single mother hostage requiring post-dated checks for payment despite knowing that money wasn't available and said she was sure I'd get paid then when I didn't cashed the post-dated checks anyway. Bottom line is she promised the world up front and an ex-husband with multiple restraining orders and a history of criminal abuse retained joint custody as well as failing to get any temporary hearings or orders established or accomplished during the year the case went on with no child support being paid. Big mistake that has left me requiring further legal assistance just to escape the wrath of ex-husbands abuse to myself and children. Careless representation. I wouldn't go near her - she's too busy and her greed trumps her dedication to her clients.

  2. Dependable

    Posted by Nick,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy 6-12 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    One of the most competent defense lawyers I've ever met, Nancy knew exactly how to handle my case and what would give me the best chances. She was a tremendous help. What impressed me most was her depth of knowledge and her calm, collected and serious demeanor that reflected everything I would be looking for in an experienced and highly professional lawyer such as herself. I would recommend her to anyone seeking legal advice or help, you can't go wrong with Nancy Eraca.

  3. Think Twice Before You Waste your Valuable Time and Money on this Attorney

    Posted by a Business client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy 1-6 months ago.
    • Nancy handled my Business matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    My case involved theft of funds and materials by my contractor. Took a good 2 weeks to get an appt since she only consults with her assistant and the assistant is only available twice a week I believe. Go figure why ! I have extensive experience in litigation matters being a Project and Business Consultant and a Licensed Real Estate Broker with my own company. I send them a concise one page summary of the case prior to the meeting. So we start the meeting and neither of them has even bothered to read the one page summary. I point them to that summary and they still seem lost. So I hand hold them through the summary. The assistant points out that the contract is unenforceable since it does not comply with sec 36A of the NY state business law. So I ask him to be more specific. He says the contract does not have a start and finish date, It's a simple one and half page document and I not only point out the dates but I also point out the delay damages clause to him. The he says that the contract should have an escrow requirement. Again I point out to him that there were no advance payments so the escrow requirement is moot and even if there was one it should be the contractors responsibility. Then he says that there are various other provisions and he doesn't remember them but he is pretty sure that this contract will not be enforceable. Obviously he could have referred to the law which would have only taken a few minutes. But given that he wouldn't/ couldnt even understand a simple one and a half page contract that would be a gargantuan task for him. We are now about 15 minutes into the meeting. I tell him that I find it hard to believe that most contracts would comply with all these provisions and not be enforceable for technicalities when it substantially complies. I tell them that i will do my own checking and get back to them. Its a simple civil matter with about 20000 of damages. She refuses to spend any of her time without a ridiculous 10000 retainer. I consult 2 other attorneys one of them being an AV rated attorney and they validate my opinion. They said that these laws are meant for consumer protection and the fact that I substantially complied and that I was the owner and not the contractor that it would be enforeceable. They also could not find any case law to support the contrary. In summary to say that these attorneys were careless, flippant and incompetent would be giving them a compliment. They were a JOKE !!

    1. Nancy M. Eraca

      Nancy M. Eraca

      Lawyer Comment:

      I am very sorry that this person left my office having had a negative experience. I strive to provide potential clients in a short period of time (in this instance --30 minute free consultation) with information so that they can make an informed decision before retaining my services.

      Initial consultations are designed to get to know one another in order to see whether we are able to meet each other's expectations and goals. They are not intended to provide a comprehensive legal analysis regarding a particular issue. That would be an impossible feat in 30 minutes!

      Again, this person did not retain me to represent her. She had a free 30 minute consultation. Clearly, she was frustrated by her situation and I am sorry that she did not understand that the purpose of a consultation is not to provide extensive legal advise on a complicated legal matter despite her "extensive experience in litigation matters."

      Lastly, I provide zealous, aggressive, and competent representation to those people who retain me to represent them. My experience speaks for itself. My office is not a joke nor do we take our client's concerns, questions, or matters lightly!

      Posted 3 months ago. Flag

  4. one happy customer

    Posted by Mike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Nancy is very professional and very knowledgable. She kept me well informed on what was going on in my case and what steps she was going to take to get me the best outcome. I highly recommend her to anyone who needs a true legal professional.

  5. EXCELLANT LAWYER!!!!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I RETAINED NANCY FOR A ASSULT 3RD DEGREE AND SHE GOT THE CHARGE COMPLETELY DISMISSED. I WOULD RECOMEND HER TO ANYONE. SHE'S VERY RESPECTED AND KNOWLEDGEABLE!!!

  6. Robbery 3rd

    Posted by James Ryan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy 1-3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Nancy was always available to answer my questions. She went above and beyond what I expected to obtain my release from jail.

  7. Absolute Advocate

    Posted by Kathy, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy more than 3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    The first 3x we tried to go it "alone" with Workers' Comp--even though we had all the facts, we just had to keep coming back. Fortunately, Workers' Comp strongly suggested we get a lawyer--and so glad that Nancy was the one we chose. After just one meeting with her (and whatever magic she pulled from there) it was all settled! She knows her "stuff" and she does it well. Would highly recommend!

  8. Always there for me

    Posted by Margaret, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy more than 3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have worked with Nancy and some of her assitants who have always been helpful. She kept me updated and assured me that my meds would be taken care of. Always on top of things and a very caring person. I can't thank her enough for all that she has done.

  9. Outstanding Lawyer

    Posted by Rick, a Workers Compensation client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy more than 3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my Workers Compensation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Nancy handled both of my shoulder surgurys and I could not ask for a better person. I never had to worry about anything she handled it all. I would recommend her to anyone and have sent several of my friends.

  10. Leanne

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Nancy Eraca.
    • I hired Nancy more than 3 years ago.
    • Nancy handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Sometimes people do something only once in thier life that they regret. Looking back I wonder why she didn't fight for me. I was 19, and now I am trying to get my teaching certification after four years in college and nine years have gone by. Here it is haunting me again. I stole $160 on a credit card, and she didn't even try to get me less than a felony. I have done so well for myself. I have never been in trouble again. Sometimes it feels completely hopeless. I never said that what I did wasn't wrong, but I don't think I, nor my husband and little boy should have to live with my mistake the rest of thier lives. I can't get my teaching certification in NY because of this felony. Four years of college to work at subway. If only I had it to do over again. But time doesn't go back.

    1. Nancy M. Eraca

      Nancy M. Eraca

      Lawyer Comment:

      I always provide zealous advocacy to all my clients. Often with criminal cases, the Defendant is not happy with any result whatever it may be! It would appear that this person did not go to State Prison which is a possibility when charged with and convicted of a felony. Using another person's credit card without their permission is a felony for anyone over the age of 16 regardless of what you may do with your life afterwards.

      Posted about 4 years ago. Flag

607-737-2762