Alexander Korotkin’s Reviews

Alexander Korotkin

Average Rating

Based on 11 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Zero for the money spent and lost

    Posted by Roger, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander 1-3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    My wife and I retained Alex November 10th 2012 for a relocation case. I live an hour from Buffalo and it was to move here with her 2 children. After thousands of dollars and a parting invoice for $ 3000.00 , he told us the judge will likely rule against us at the trial. This was after the pretrial meeting. The incredible thing is, these were the facts in the deposition:
    The father pays no support (52 dollars a month for 2 boys)
    The mother supported them for 13 years alone and is now unemployed.
    She had a job offer where I live.
    The father never see's the children Monday to Friday. (this under oath in disclosure)
    Father has not been to their school in 5 years. Has never taken them for a medical check up,
    and does not attends any sporting events.
    The mother also agreed to maintain the current visitation schedule with NO changes.
    The father also has a history of physical abuse.(in court documents)
    With all of this, the result ALEX came back with was it was not worth going to trial.

    I believe that because we were in a financial crisis (the main reason to relocate),
    ALEX was not interested in going to trial for fear of getting paid later than what he would prefer.
    We had already paid him over 4000.00.

    He Never returned calls. Was always Late to court. Not prepared.
    In addition, he offered no ideas as to how to present our case nor seamed interested.
    Incompetent bordering on exploitative.

  2. Very unresponsive and not trustworthy.

    Posted by Joe, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    I worked with Alex to draw up my separation agreement approximately 6 months before my ex even had a lawyer. It was very difficult to reach Alex by phone or email. I found he'd respond after 3 voice mails and three emails. Even then I had to schedule to meet with him as he was busy in court or on vacation. After months of playing phone and email tag, my ex found an attorney and filed an action for divorce which Alex himself served to ME! I fired Alex and hired another attorney. Overall, I wasted time and thousands of dollars with nothing in return.

  3. He's a HORRIBLE

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Alex was hired to deal with my mother's divorce back in 2010. The divorce was finalized in December 2010, with a settlement of splitting retirement benefits. My mother tried for almost a year to receive the settlement money before she died from cancer in Fall 2011. Her settlement is now part of her estate, and I (her son), along with my brothers have tried to get ALEX to submit the paperwork. He has procrastinated for more than 2 years now, he does not return phone calls or emails, he has filed the paperwork incorrectly on 2 separate occasions meaning we had to start over. He has lied to us about documents being submitted and avoids all means of contact. And he has already been payed for the job. It is now 2013 and my family has still not been able to settle this.

  4. A true disappointment

    Posted by Serge, a Litigation client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Litigation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired this lawyer to represent me in a legal proceeding. Needless to say by my lack of stars he did not represent me very well. He was late to court, he was not prepared and he did not know how to negotiate.

  5. Handled my divorce

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Alex handled a divorce case for me that had pretty complex equitable distribution issues. The case was handled well and I was very satisfied with results.

  6. HORRIBLE

    Posted by a Chapter 7 client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Chapter 7 Bankruptcy matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I used Mr. Korotkin as my lawyer in a bankruptcy proceeding 2 years ago. I am still dealing with the aftermath left by this attorney. He had a lack of concern, unprepared, never notified me of any actions by any parties and left me with a repossession of my only vehicle.

  7. I am left heart broken and disgusted by Alexander Korotkin

    Posted by Molly, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    From the beginning, as other people have mentioned in their reviews, I was promised a great outcome. I had a simple case in family court as well. There was absolutely no planning or effort on Alex's part. He didn't return phone calls or emails from me. He SHOWS UP LATE TO COURT. He is heartless, and only is interested in your retainer fee. After receiving the retainer fee, he must think his job is done. I am left battling with an abusive ex, and feel so disappointed. I want my money back Alex! Have some decency and return a phone call.

  8. Very poor effort

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    There was a simple case. Child support was simple and over with right away, custody dragged on a little but, with the assistance of the legal guardian, got through. Once he was hired for the divorce case, all help disappeared. He did not answer phone calls, emails or texts. Always heard the same "I tried to get in touch with the opposing lawyer but haven't heard anything back". Other lawyer didn't seem to have a problem getting in touch with his/her client.

  9. Did nothing but take money

    Posted by John, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I meet him at his office, he assured me the case would be now problem. Gave him deposit to start petition and more money later. Well after 3 months no return calls , no text or any other way of communication. He would not follow up. I filed petion myself and i am in process of reporting him to the NY bar Association.

  10. POOR representation

    Posted by a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Alexander Korotkin.
    • I hired Alexander more than 3 years ago.
    • Alexander handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This attorney had a very easy case, he was unprepared, wishy washy and did not present my case in any way shape or form- When we did not recieve the ruling he expected to recieve with no effort, he did not return my calls but continued to bill me