Shari Jo Reich’s Reviews

Shari Jo Reich

Average Rating

Based on 13 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. PHENOMENALLY OUSTANDING ATTORNEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted by Adam, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari 1-3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shari Jo is my attorney and represented me throughout my child custody case. What you can expect from her is woman who will dilligently fight for her clients rights to the bitter end and beyond! She is an INCREDIBLEY cunning and very creative attorney who gets results and is very cost effective! She did an OUSTANDING job in my case with the exact results I wanted! If you're a single father living Erie County I can tell you first hand that the odds ARE NOT IN YOUR FAVOR. Shari Jo Reich is the counter to that! I highly recommend her! In fact if your a single father I would tell you straight out there simply is NO OTHER CHOICE!
    Shari looks at every aspect of your individual case from the very first day that you meet with her to formulate the best possible outcome for you. She doesn't pull ANY punches or sugar coat the facts. I personally will NEVER STEP FOOT in Family Court with out Shari Jo as my attorney! The time to find out how good your lawyer really is isn't when your standing in front of a judge.

  2. Excellent experience !!!

    Posted by Dawn, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shari was my second attorney, my first one could not handle my case. Thank goodness for Shari Jo , she handle my case as if her own children were involved! She was always compassionate and understanding even when I was being unreasonable at times. I have already recommended her to a few friends and they are pleased. She is extremely knowledgable and professional. She is busy and for good reason, she is excellent at her profession!!!

  3. Excellent Lawyer

    Posted by Kate, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Shari Jo Reich is an excellent lawyer. I was pleased in her handling of my divorce. She looked at every angle possible to held me get a fair divorce agreement but what I respected is that Shari Jo also listens to what you want or think will be best. My divorce was not very complex or a lot to negotiate but I do believe if there was that situation, Shari Jo would be excellent in handling and seeing that her client gets the best possible representation.

  4. divorce client

    Posted by Larry, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shari Jo is an outstanding Lawyer to have in this type of situation. As far as Shari Jo being called a Tiger, she deserves this title due to her tireless determination and unwillingness to be pushed around. Honesty, integrity, and an absolute refusal to ''blow smoke'' about the possible outcome are a few of her trademarks.

    If you are looking for someone to hold your hand and paint an unrealistic rosy picture, she may not be the one for you.

    However, if you are looking for a lawyer to vigorously protect you and your interests, while being conscious of minimizing the effect on your wallet, Shari Jo is that person. Shari Jo will not waste your time or money on pointless phone calls or emails. She limited contact to times when she had solid information to give.

    After my very recent experience with Shari Jo, I highly recommend this seasoned professional.

  5. review

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I came across this site and decided if I can be helpful to someone else then I need to write this. too bad I came across this too late for me.

    ALWAYS late! NEVER ready, very unprepared..doesn't answer phone calls or emails.
    She drags everything out so the hours are racking up. PROMISED me one PRICE /COST wasn't even close!!!! Now my children and me will suffer. She hasn't got a clue what's that like. She sent me on wild goose chases for things that were unnecessary. Came to an agreement with my Ex spouse yet she kept making more changes and mistakes.

    She'll tell you anything you want or need to hear at the time but this is just Talk.. Laura Emerson was great and without her I can't see how Shari Jo can make it. Shari Jo needs to get into some other profession like politics because that's where we expect lying, hypocritical people to ruin your lives without a conscience. I never met an attorney who was so discombobulated as her. Like I said it's sounds all right and good out of her mouth but what she says and does is not even close.

    She's heartless and as a mother of two adopted children you'd think she's would be more compassionate to another mom going through struggles and stress that a divorce brings when you have children involved. She forgets shes suppose to be on your side. And that you hired her to represent YOU. I wish I would have read the reviews before I hired her. She will take every last penny you have no mater how straight forward your divorce should have been, she will find a way to drag it out, for her pockets to be filled. You CAN'T TRUST HER!!!.

    Normally I believe that it's not our jobs on earth to worry about how bad heartless people can sleep at night. because i believe they will have to answer to our maker. I'm only writing this in hopes to save another person from trusting she cares bout you. I will pray for her because I know its the right thing to do..

    Do your homework read the reviews I wish I would have done mine. Because I could not stand up for myself I happy for this site..

  6. RUN!!! WISH i WOULD HAVE

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari 1-3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was leery of hiring her for my divorce, because I did read that she was horrible about returning emails and phone calls amongst other complaints. I don’t know.. I wish I would have just made my decision on that first gut feeling. How many times have we all been told, go with your gut instinct?

    Not only is Shari Jo a bully, it’s true she only returns phone calls and emails right in the beginning. After that Good Luck! She’s Rude, and she talks out of both sides of her mouth. This how she bullies you., and covers up when she’s wrong. Beware!!! You can’t believe ANYTHING she tells you verbally. This is what in my family we call liars! Scattered brained is an under statement. From one meeting to the next she was lost. I don’t know how many countless days and hours I spent stress-fully gathering material she requested, just for her to look at me dumbfounded when I would bring them into her.

    Her usual respond along with the lost look would be “What‘s this for? ” and then say "I don't need this" This happened time and time again. I made notes and made her repeat her request as I wrote them down. It nearly always ended up being a HUGE waste of my time. She made so many critical mistakes it’s unbelievable, I ended up having to literally pay for them, which is wrong and unfair. If she was decent person/lawyer she would have made right by them. She misrepresented me and she knows it, yet never made right of her mistake or even apologized. Her way of handling her scattered, unfocused ways ,is to ignored.

    Trust me, she will leave you with your mouth hanging open in disbelief. Our family comes from a long line of lawyers and legal secretaries, sadly not here in NY State. She’s unprofessional. Please go with your Gut Instinct! I wish I would have!

  7. She is a great lawyer, but is very busy.

    Posted by Elaine, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Good
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Average
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I recommend her, in the end she did well for me. That being said, she has too many cases to effectively handle. I do not know if I had to go back, if I'd use her again. Even though she is a very good lawyer. I felt so uninformed at times. I do not think it was intentional, but there were documents that I never received and had to ask for them myself. I was very worried about the outcome because of that aspect. On the other hand, she did a good job representing me in court and I love her personality. She will not promise you things that she doesn't feel that you will get. She will try her best.

  8. Perhaps she's improved...

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Shari Jo had been recommended to me as being a "tiger". In our initial meeting, I found her to be matter of fact and informative, in contrast to the first divorce attorney whom I'd consulted. In fairness to her, she seemed to get things going in a timely manner and was reasonably responsive to my questions.

    My ex-husband and I came to a sort of understanding about what we wanted/needed out of the divorce. I wrote these things down and we each took them to our attorneys, who agreed that his attorney would actually craft the divorce and ShariJo would then amend it.

    ShariJo had some personal things going on in her life at that time; she gave me the draft of the divorce and told me to go through it and see what I thought. I had a few questions, but was pretty much stumped by the legal language. One of my questions was why, when we sold our marital home, did I need to reimburse him for "principal paid" on the mortgage while he was occupying the house after the divorce and I was paying child support? Her response was "That's just standard language." She did iron out a couple of minor issues that I had, and the divorce went through, about 5 months after the paperwork had initially been drawn up.

    A few years later, when my ex decided to sell the house, he called me with the totals of what we could expect when we completed the sale. According to his calculations, he was going to make considerably more on the sale than I was, due to my responsibility to "reimburse him for principal paid". I told him that there was no reason why I needed to reimburse him for HIS HALF of the principal paid; he told me that it was there in black and white, and, even though I'd given him a substantial child support payment each month that would have gone a long way toward the mortgage payment, since the mortgage was ending, and almost all the payment was going toward principal, I owed him that money. I called Shari Jo immediately; she told me that his supposition was ridiculous, that was just standard language, and I would not have to pay the principal. The real estate lawyer told me that he did not see that my ex was incorrect; it said what it said, and also, told me as an aside, that he did not like to criticize a colleague's work, but there were many things in that divorce that could put me at a real disadvantage. The money in question was reserved in escrow pending a thorough examination of the divorce document. A couple of weeks later, Shari Jo left a message on my machine to the effect that the money WAS due my ex, and, furthermore, if I had further questions, she would have to begin charging me for her time.

    She may be a decent lawyer now, but I suspect, in my case, she neglected to carefully check through the documents because she was preoccupied with developments in her personal life. She did not use due care, and what was obviously her oversight cost me thousands of dollars. She is no longer has a private practice, and perhaps this helps her to be more focused.

  9. Best family law attorney in town

    Posted by Mike, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I would not hesitate to hire Shari Jo for any family law related matter.

  10. Great Family Law attorney

    Posted by Colleen, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Shari Reich.
    • I hired Shari more than 3 years ago.
    • Shari handled my Child Support matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Very effective. Shari Jo used her extensive knowledge of the Family Court system to generate the best possible outcome for my situation. Seems to have the respect of both judges and fellow attorneys.