Geanine Towers’s Reviews

Geanine Towers

Average Rating

Based on 17 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Superb, level-headed and fair to both sides

    Posted by Mabel,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.

    The moment I met with Ms. Towers I knew she was the person who will look at my case fairly and objectively. And she did! Ms. Towers cited case laws related to my specific case. Ms. Towers was proactive in relating issues to me, she was very responsive to my emails and calls. Ms. Towers was very sensitative to my concerns. She is a true professional and knows the law. And more importantly, you have a friend in her. She is a real person. I would highly recommend her with any and all legal matters.

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was my pleasure to garner a stipulation leading to a $43,000 judgment, over a period of time. I am also honored that you would recommend me to others and for you to consider me a friend. That is the highest praise. Sometimes being fair and compassionate to the other side is the best way to get the redress my clients deserve. Other times, aggressive representation is necessary. I pride myself on knowing the difference. You were an asset to your own case both in your comprehensive financial preparation all the way through and your even tempered nature. Thank you again!

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  2. "Strenght, knowledge, perseverance and a personal commitment!"

    Posted by Susana, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 1-3 years ago.
    • Geanine handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Geanine represented me during my recent contested divorce proceedings. My ex husband filled an uncontested and no fault divorce, in which, I would decline any marital estate, after 13 years of marriage.
    I was compelled to immediately sign the papers and grant him the divorce immediately. With all that I was going through, I did not want the stress of the complex legal process added to it. Besides, I was entirely unfamiliar with the law and divorce process of divorce laws. I imagined there was nothing I could financially gain by contesting it.
    Fortunately, I had a moment of clarity when I decided to seek for some professional advice before simply signing the divorce papers I was served.
    I did an internet research of divorce attorneys in my area. I selected five different attorneys and have consulted with each one of them.
    In this process, I have learned I of my legal rights, and then decided I should claim what I am lawfully entitled of.
    I chose Geanine because she explained each step with thoroughness and clarity. She made me feel like she could get a fair settlement, and she was right!
    She not only advised me of my legal rights, what I could expect and realistically achieve, she also gave me guidance, support and everything I needed to know to protect myself legally.
    Geanine has great empathy, care and ability to communicate all intricacies of a complicated legal case. When it came time to deal with the opposing counsel, she was courteous but very tough.
    You can be certain that she will fight hard for your case.
    Geanine exceeded my expectations and I couldn't be happier with the outcome. She made me feel like she really cared about what I was going through and made sure I got what was rightfully mine.
    Money was a real concern for me, but her billings and fees were very fair and reasonable. She worked with me to accommodate me on my financial hardship.
    I highly recommend Geanine and I am sure she will do an excellent job for you!
    Thank you Geanine!

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Susana,

      It was my pleasure to get you through this divorce. Nobody should walk away from a 13-year marriage with nothing. You were an asset to your own case through your poise, confidence in me, and the truthful and intelligent way you summarized your positions for our papers. Thank you for this stunningly positive review. I am very grateful and proud.

      Geanine

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  3. great attorney ! satisfied clients !

    Posted by lucille, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 6-12 months ago.
    • Geanine handled my Elder Law matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    The minute I met Geanine Towers I felt very confident with her. She was very professional and knowledgeable. She handled a case I was involved in for guardianship of my mother. Her work was very thorough, efficient and she always made herself available to answer any questions I may have. I would highly recommend her.

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Lucille,

      It was my honor and pleasure to represent you. I feel that other counsel involved in the case did not get to know and understand you and how strongly you were aggrieved by the events leading up to the guardianship proceeding. Thank you for your excellent reviews of my work.

      Geanine

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  4. Towering above all

    Posted by Sterling, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 6-12 months ago.
    • Geanine handled my Divorce & Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I was going through a tough divorce/child custody case and Geanine Towers was my 4 attorney. I felt the other attorneys wasn't listening to my concerns and wanted to do things that was best for me without my input. I wanted a knowledgeable attorney that first listened, then act accordingly. Ms. Towers did just that, she listened intently and jumped into action. I was very happy with the outcome, not only did I get my divorce but she made sure I was protected. She was terrific!

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Sterling,

      Thank you for this excellent review!
      As a client, you have also lived up to your name. Your no-nonsense attitude made you a pleasure to represent. Your confidence in me allowed me to think outside the box. You've helped me grow as an attorney and while I've always been attuned, I'm listening to clients' ideas in a new light, ever since.

      Geanine

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  5. satisfied client

    Posted by lucille, a Elder Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 6-12 months ago.
    • Geanine handled my Elder Law matter.

    The minute I met Geanine Towers I felt very confident with her. She was very professional and knowledgeable. She handled a case I was involved in for guardianship of my mother. Her work was very thorough, efficient and she always made herself available to answer any questions I may have. I would highly recommend her.

  6. Child custody/ Visitation

    Posted by Milton, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 1-3 years ago.
    • Geanine handled my Child Custody matter.

    My son's mother denied me visitation and was trying to remove me from my son's life. Ms Towers was able to get me not only visitation with my son, but joint custody. Ms Towers was able to get me visitation with my son within days . Ms.Towers was able to bring my family together .

  7. My ex husband has issues

    Posted by Milagros, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 1-3 years ago.
    • Geanine handled my Divorce & Separation matter.

    My Ex husband was using the family court system to harass me. Geaine Towers put an and to my problem the first time she represented me on Fed 7, 2014 . I truly recommend her for any legal situations.

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      So glad I could help you Milagros. Giving you a long overdue thank you on this nice review and wishing you well!

      Geanine

      Posted 6 months ago. Flag

  8. Geanine Towers is the Truth.

    Posted by Abayomi, a Child Support client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 1-3 years ago.
    • Geanine handled my Child Support matter.

    I will recommend Geanine Towers to everyone I know. I came to her with my child support case in February 2014 and immediately felt at ease. She shows compassion when you explain your situation with the case and how its affecting your life. Geanine Towers filed for a retrial of my case and several motions against the Support Magistrate due to a big error made at Family Court. The case came up and it went lovely. I had to give her a hug after the case was finished. Geanine Towers is the Truth.

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      It was great to get a hug from a client. Our case was not really against the magistrate, but against your ex who was unjustly enriched by an order entered in error. I thank you for your very kind review and it was my pleasure to help you.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  9. An updated review from a thankful client

    Posted by a Prenuptials client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine more than 3 years ago.
    • Geanine handled my Marriage & Prenuptials matter.

    I had posted my review regarding Ms. Towers some months ago, and continue to hold her in the highest esteem and wholeheartedly recommend her. Through a difficult 1+ year battle with an impossible opposing counsel and client, she never wavered in her resolve to secure the fairest outcome for me as there was much at stake that could have had financial ramifications that would have affected me for countless years to come. In essence, through Ms. Towers's diligent efforts, I was not forced to sell property and the settlement arrived at was over 60% LESS than opposing client's attorney was originally demanding. I still feel Geanine is a complete professional in every aspect - she is a warm, caring, empathic person who has a clear understanding of all the emotions a client may have during their matrimonial, custody or family law cases. I am very lucky in having been referred to her and would endorse her without hesitation to anyone requiring her expertise in her areas of law.

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear Matrimonial Client,

      I appreciate your updated review very much. Here is my long-overdue thank-you. It was my great pleasure to work with you and I was very proud of what we achieved in your case. Now that your divorce has been finalized, I hope that your new life is chaos-free and full of joy and solace. Plant your garden. Best Wishes, Geanine.

      Posted about 1 year ago. Flag

  10. A true genuine expert and professional!

    Posted by MS, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Geanine Towers.
    • I hired Geanine 1-3 years ago.
    • Geanine handled my Child Custody matter.

    I am very pleased to write a review for Mrs. Towers. She was very good listening, communicating, and just overall simply caring & dedicated!

    First off I would like to say that this has been by far the best lawyer I had ever retained!!!!

    Mrs. Towers is super thorough and knows her profession pertaining to family law very well. One of the truths that she told me initially was “When hiring a lawyer you have to know if they will always be available for you to reach them, because if not then you should probably reconsider”. And she was right because she was always available with any question that I had via email or phone which made me even more confident in her abilities and showed me that she was concerned.

    She assisted me in an interstate custody case where I felt I had no hope of winning. There were a lot of wrongs that I experienced in the legal system in Brooklyn that was not in my favor. I explained to Mrs. Towers everything and after sharing my paperwork and speaking with her she understood the facts and without any hesitation she was more than willing to take my case and present it to the judge.

    Even through all of the repeat trips to New York I felt comfortable in court while she represented me. To make a long story short the bogus cases against me filed by the mother were dismissed and I felt that justice was served. I owe it all to Mrs. Towers through all of her efforts as she worked tirelessly to make sure that all motions were in order and stressing to the judge that all cases should be dismissed. As far as payments and rates are concerned, Mrs. Towers was always fair and was by far the least expensive of all of the other lawyers I called initially. But do not confuse her low rates for an inefficient attorney because she is definitely not.

    I would hire her again in a heartbeat and I wish all lawyers were as understanding, caring and strategic as her when it comes to winning cases!

    1. Geanine Towers

      Geanine Towers

      Lawyer Comment:

      Dear MS,

      I'm humbled by this heartfelt and comprehensive review, and by the strength of your good opinion of my work. Truly thankful for your generosity in writing this. It was my pleasure to work with you.

      Geanine

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

Call a Family and Divorce Lawyer Who Cares.

718-759-1000