Randi L. Karmel’s Reviews

Randi L. Karmel

Average Rating

Based on 8 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. The best of the best!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi 1-3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Divorce / Separation matter.

    I can’t say enough about Randi. Here are just a few reasons why.

    I started the process of divorce with another attorney. I hired her to review a separation agreement that my ex-wife and I had negotiated through a mediator. Since my attorney was reducing her case load temporarily to spend more time with her family it was the perfect case for her to take on - quick and easy, separation agreement in hand. Unfortunately, it didn’t turn out to be as easy as we thought.

    Once the separation agreement was done the process stalled, badly. Given her personal obligations my attorney suggested that I transition my case to a lawyer who could dedicate the time to get the job DONE. There was no doubt in her mind that there would now be many challenges ahead. We had a great relationship at that point and so she only wanted me to have the best of the best given the situation. The lawyer she introduced me to was Randi Karmel.

    From the moment I retained Randi she was all over the process. She listened intently to what I wanted to accomplish and some of the challenges I foresaw. She counseled me on the pitfalls we might encounter that I might not have anticipated and she mapped out a guideline of tasks we had to accomplish and set realistic expectations for getting them done. Because this process had gone on for so long Randi and I set a hard and fast deadline to have the divorce completed. I won’t go into all the details but suffice it to say I had been separated for a few years with no divorce in sight and enough was enough.

    Once the plan was in place she immediately got the process restarted and was very successful in setting concrete steps with opposing counsel. While there was some heated negotiation throughout, Randi was able to create an extremely amicable relationship with my ex’s attorney, one based on mutual respect and common sense compromise (kudos to him too for being so professional). She always had my interests prioritized appropriately and refused to present them antagonistically for the sake of appearing tough. Don’t get me wrong, she is tough and people know it, but not because she comes out with showy and unproductive gimmicks or tactics. They know it because she is very intelligent, does her homework, works relentlessly toward her clients goals, surrounds herself with great associates and ALWAYS inserts thoughtfulness and empathy into the process. It illustrates how much she cares about what she is doing and who she is doing it for.

    Needless to say, once the new separation agreement was drafted, negotiated, modified, agreed to and signed, we were only partially done. We still needed to file the divorce and hit our deadline. Once filed we had two months. It was going to be extremely tight, maybe impossible to hit it. At that point there was a great deal of activity after filing and this is where I saw Randi’s associates shine right along with her. Since there was nothing I could personally do to move anything forward at this point it was all about communication from them about where we were at, and it was stellar. Randi was very responsive and informative throughout but if a “billable” conversation only required a yes or no, that is exactly what she gave me. She works very efficiently.

    Long story short, we made the deadline. I am absolutely convinced that I could never have done it without Randi and her dedicated team. Just like my former attorney promised, she got the job DONE. Bottom line: Hire her. Looking back, you will discover as I did that it was one of the best decisions you ever made.

  2. TRUSTWORTHY, PROFESSIONAL, KNOWLEDGEABLE, EXPERIENCED = Randi L. Karmel

    Posted by Peter Vavasis, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi more than 3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    If you are lucky enough to retain Randi L Karmel as your attorney, you now have the best of the best working for you. Starting in April of 2006, I went thru an extremely difficult and nasty divorce- orders of protection, supervised visitation with my own children, false imprisonment and even allegations of child abuse just to mention a few of the horrors. Yet, because of the incredible work done by Ms. Karmel I went from NO CUSTODY of my two sons to JOINT CUSTODY and then finally FULL CUSTODY AND MY EX-WIFE PAYS ME CHILD SUPPORT!!! Ms. Karmel truly cared about my case. Every singe call or message I sent (and there were hundreds) was answered or replied to the same day- some were even while she was away at a conference and even a few while on vacation. I will always remember how hard she fought in court for me. I deeply respect Ms. Karmel's professionalism and I trust her with my life and my children's as well. My name is Peter Vavasis. I am an extremely happy client and I am proud to say I know Randi L Karmel.

  3. Diamond in the Rough

    Posted by a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi more than 3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I hired Randi as my second attorney during my child custody/support case and was very happy with her work. She is honest, caring, moves things forward and is not intimidated nor will she tolerate childish behavior from the opposition. She is kind and warm and makes you feel like her colleague. Having worked for attorneys for 10 years myself, I can tell you that she is not your typical attorney in the best way possible. She takes the reigns and knows what is best. She was very communicative, open, responsive and direct. I wish everyone the blessing I had with her as my attorney.

  4. Excellent Attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi more than 3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Before I met Randi I have changed 2 attorneys for various reasons. When Randi agreed to take my (financially overcomplicated) case I felt relieved. From the very beginning, she has shown full commitment and professionalsm. All my e-mails and phone calls were returned within an hour. I have been receiving her e-mails as early as 5 am and as late as midnight, including the weekends.
    Randi is honest and straight-forward. She tells her clients excactly what to expect, she won't withhold any information from her clients, and she won't promise anything unreasonable. She won't do any unnecessary work to run up her bills, unlike other attorneys I've dealt with. Randi is knowledgeble and highly competent in her field. She brought in her financial analyst whose finacial reports substantially help the case to settle. I do believe Randi takes each of her cases very seriously and she always fights for her cleints' rights and wishes. Every time we had a court appearance, Randi was always well-prepared and she never felt intimidated by the opponets even though the opponents behaved as they "owned the court" and were on the first-name basis with the judge.

  5. Never again

    Posted by a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Fair
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Fair
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi more than 3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Maybe she is too busy and has too many cases, but my experience wasn't good. She never calls back. I left many messages on her mailbox, not 1 time she called back. She did not send me 1 piece of paper to my address. But the billing was correct, there she does not need tutoring.

    1. Randi L. Karmel

      Randi L. Karmel

      Lawyer Comment:

      This is entirely untrue. All calls or emails are answered usually the same day or within 24 hours. All documents are emailed and scanned to clients or mailed to them. My retainer agreement clearly states that clients are entitiled to all copies of documents. This review cannot be from a client of mine. It would be impossible for any one of my client's or former clients to ever have such an experience. As a matter of course, I always check in with clients.

      Posted over 1 year ago. Flag

  6. Amazing, Competent, Caring

    Posted by Treiki212, a Child Custody client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi more than 3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Child Custody matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Randi Karmel is a great lawyer. She is beyond wonderful, as far as lawyers go. She came into a messy situation, where my ex and I had been fighting post settlement now for 6 years. After brutalizing me financially, my ex had started with DV. I finally stood up to him when he went after our 9 year old. Ex is a big law name partner, previous 5 lawyers were afraid of him, and his counsel. Randi was never intimidated by them. She is thorough and decisive. Within 15 minutes of meeting me she grasped the intricate details of years of fighting, and zeroed in on key points to start with. Randi gives you her full attention. I had heard she likes children, this is so true. When I needed to meet with her and didnt have child care, Randi saw my child in the waiting lounge and made my child feel comfortablet. She developed a rapport in no time, and gave my child time, respect and consideration. I respect her, when caught up in the fight she recenters me to focus on our daughter, and her best interests. Randi has a fun personality and knows many people, an added bonus (i.e., mediators, court therapists etc). My ex, who delights in breaching our stipulations, tries to take all things away from our kid. Randi is always there, fielding calls about refusals to pay for x-rays, camp, school activities, tuition etc. Randi is fiesty, she is willing to use her passion to go to the mat for her clients. Once waiting in the hallway while all the lawyers were in the back with the Judge, I could hear Randi's voice roaring to match the Judge. When we had applied for a new private school last spring, Randi called me no less than 10 times the day (not billable and only out of concern) we were to hear from the admissions office, she really cared about whether our kid was admitted. I like that Randi has an unusual trait for NYC lawyers, she is honest. She always tells me her opinion of when I don't have a chance, she does not blow smoke. Over a year ago I was facing eviction ( pulled all my rent money to pay to pursue a TOP, then defend an OSC and TRO to quash my TOP). I had paid a previous attorney an extraordinary amount of money. I was lucky enough to hire Randi. After knowing me only 3 months, she gave me a post dated check back so I could use it to pay back rent; my ex had offered me a "loan"with terms I couldn't possibly repay. Randi saved my daughter and me from being homeless, deferring her payment unprompted. Shhhhh, Randi Karmel is not only a fighter, but she is kind and caring. You want this woman to represent you, trust me. She is a hidden gem in a nasty field of greed and cottage corruption aka nyc matrimony and divorce law. We always have ongoing conflicts, so this will always say I hired her under one month ago. We are going on two years, only 12 more until my daughter is 21! PS - how I got Randi's name. When I was forced to file for my TOP, I called my ex's old law partner from his firm. I had dealt with that woman when my ex's attorney was on vacation maybe 4 years ago (pro se at the time). I requested attorney names, the woman was very kind and almost apologetic for my ex's actions. Her secretary called with a list of names. I wrote them down, and as an after thought, added "Please tell her this isn't [ex's name] economically screwing me per usual, he went after our kid, this is for DV and a TOP." The partner's secretary called back in 5 minutes and said " call these names, in this order..." Randi was the top name. Unfortunately she was on trial, but I was lucky enough to retain her a couple months later.

  7. Excellent Attorney. Terrific Experience

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi 1-3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Finding the right attorney in New York is very difficult. There are thousands to chose from. I researched and interviewed quite a few. Randi Karmel was the attorney I worked with and I remain thrilled with my choice. She is not a part of a huge law firm so when you call, you actually get her on the phone, When you email, you get a response within the day. And most important of all, she is very smart and very savvy. She went up against attorneys I was very intimidated by and didn't blink an eye. She fought for me and won a very favorable settlement. I can not say enough about her. I recommend her highly for anyone going through divorce/ separation/custody settlements.

  8. Verry Good Divorce Lawyer in NYC

    Posted by Bob, a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Randi Karmel.
    • I hired Randi more than 3 years ago.
    • Randi handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    We called for some advice on where to even begin with a separation arrangement that would be amicable for both of us. The first consultation was free and when we finally got to it the divorce was seamless and painless. Great experience.

212-755-0224