Michael S. Discioarro’s Reviews

Michael S. Discioarro

Average Rating

Based on 35 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. A God Sent. That is what attorney Michael Discioarro is, a true God sent. Very determined and very compassionate

    Posted by Vincent, a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Good
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Abuse matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    It was the eve of Thanksgiving, and also the anniversary to my fathers passing. But for some unknown reason or understanding. ACS came to my home at 10 past MIDNIGHT, yes at 12:10 A M. As a crew of ACS workers pulled up in a mini van. As they decided that is the most appropriate thing to do, and time to do it. As they Banged and Banged and Banged on all reachable sides to my home. If my home was not gated with cameras in place. They would of eventually broken there way in, due to how hard , forceful and loud there attempts were. As my entire family was sound asleep. We were suddenly awoken in a panic. The very next day, morning as ACS sat parked waiting to create havoc and there kind of fear to a S W F, and to my family as well. But for the fear of unknown. We had to stay put that entire Thanksgiving day, and stay together as a family.. No longer able to go to my dads grave, and not going out to our Church Thanksgiving day dinner. But the next most difficult and hardest thing to over come. Was to find a willing and caring Lawyer on Thanksgiving day. After navigating and searching for a competent and hopeful lawyer to retain. I became very unsure with not much confidence. That I can or will get the right lawyer that I needed. Even though I had not 1, no clue to what I could of done. But understanding that it was a holiday. And after making at least a half dozen calls to ACS lawyers. Not one had the care or motivation to offer and express any willingness to help. Until I called Mr. Discioarro. At first I thought he was angry. Maybe because I had called him right in the middle of a holiday. But then when he asked me when are they coming back. I knew I had found the needed and right lawyer. He then said I will be at your home on Monday, as he said expect me there 30 minuets before ACS is to arrive. Not only did he arrive exactly at the time he said he would. But he arrived and entered my home with such concern, determination and compassion. That I have never experienced that ever before. With a person I never met before. As he sat down at out family dinning room table. He assured me that he will work relentlessly to defend me and my family from any accusations, or to what ever ACS will carelessly try. To falsely try to make a report of or about. And I will say this because he never said like most lawyers, or right away mentioned about the M word. But I will say that Mr. Discioarro is very well worth it, and reasonable. As they say you can't put a price on your child. This is a lawyer that is worth every pennies worth. The pathetic and erroneous falsified calls and reports that anyone can just make. Mr. Discioarro had them all dismissed and all unfounded. What I really liked most about this lawyer, is that he is very stern. But very understanding and compassionate. Plus he is a family man himself. If anyone is being set up, being accused or being harassed by ACS. And I did not know anyone that knew him, or nor did I ever hear about him. But I will vouch and assure you. That Mr. Discioarro is a one of a kind lawyer. Especially to fight for your rights as a parent. And to defend and defeat ACS.

  2. I recommend this attorney 100%

    Posted by ms williams,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    Attorney Michael discioarro is a true professional who is knowledgeable and just awesome. From my first meeting in his office I knew I made the right decision. I was at my wit's end after being told by a ACS workers that I was under investigation. Mike explained step by step what was to be expected with my case. I would recommend mike 100%

  3. Assistance with ACS

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael's initial professionalism was impressive, as a result we retained him instantly for an impending ACS Case. Upon retaining Michael he immediately sent a letter to the ACS Case Worker which I knew helped to prevent the situation from getting out of control.

    I liked that he was responsive with either a phone call or text message, and knew that if it came down to us fighting ACS he would be there for us. With strong faith and Michael we are now pass the worse and look forward to continuing our lives without interference from ACS.

    If you are looking for an excellent attorney who is knowledgeable and has compassion for his clients, please choose Michael. You will not be disappointed.

  4. Magic Mike

    Posted by Rich,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    A consummate professional from start to finish. Mike took an uncomfortable, unfortunate situation, and got my life back on track. Mike worked his magic, fought vigorously in the courtroom against some unjust railroading. He was able to get all charges down to a mere traffic violation.
    Mike is a genuine good guy , who believed in me and my case, and cared about the outcome. He answered all questions, as well as calmed all fears. I was not afraid to go into the courtroom with Mike at my side.
    Wish we met under different circumstances , I was lucky to have Mike as my lawyer.

  5. Fantastic Criminal Attorney who knows how to take care of bussiness

    Posted by Mustapha, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Michael is an exceptional lawyer. He understands the NYC criminal court system because of his past experience as a Assistant District Attorney. He also understands the NYPD and how they operate. He was very confident from the beginning and knew exactly what to do. Michael was able to get all criminal charges dismissed for my son because of his dedication and commitment to the client. Most of all he is easy to contact and talk to anytime, even by text or email. I did my research when I choose him and I am glad it really paid off.

  6. saved the day

    Posted by joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael s Discioarro saved the day in more than one way in my case. Not only was he able to keep my license from being revoked he was also able to have charges reduced to a violation. I am eternally grateful for all his efforts.

  7. DWI case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Discioaro is an absolute pleasure to work with. From my consultation, I knew he was the lawyer to hire because from day one he said the charges would get dropped, which they did. During my court case, he tried to let me now how long it would take since I had work. He is always available to talk, via text which I liked because I am not available to talk on the phone much. It is because of him I won't have a criminal record. Not only is he professional, but really personable which was helpful when feeling nervous. I would and already have recommended him to others.

  8. Got the job done

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.

    I hired him after mediocre assistance from my court appointed counsel and was glad I did. He was straight forward and forthcoming with helpful advice. His knowledge of the courts and his vigorous defense on my behalf brought my case to a successful resolution after working hard on it for over a year and a half.

  9. The fight against ACS

    Posted by Elena, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Discioarro
    Provided his services for an ACS case that I was involved in. I was a victim of harassment and numerous ACS reports were made about me. ACS assumed I was guilty without doing a proper investigation.
    Mr. Discioarro, listen to my case, he was attentive to my concerns as a professional and understood the ramification such allegations could pose for my family. He made sure to fight for a formal investigation of my case and was successful. It was ultimately discovered that the allegations were false and the case was dismissed without me or my family having to be subjected further to ACS's bullying techniques or demands.

  10. Great lawyer, although I hope I never need to see him again.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had zero experience going into this and Mike provided excellent counsel during what was hands down one of the most difficult periods of my life. I always left his office and came away from phone calls with him feeling encouraged. As far as my legal issues were concerned, he was always a straight shooter. He knows that cases and events are often quite complex, that fact and truth are rarely as black and white as we'd like to believe, and he never loses sight of the humanity of the people he represents.