Michael S. Discioarro’s Reviews

Michael S. Discioarro

Average Rating

Based on 33 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Assistance with ACS

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael's initial professionalism was impressive, as a result we retained him instantly for an impending ACS Case. Upon retaining Michael he immediately sent a letter to the ACS Case Worker which I knew helped to prevent the situation from getting out of control.

    I liked that he was responsive with either a phone call or text message, and knew that if it came down to us fighting ACS he would be there for us. With strong faith and Michael we are now pass the worse and look forward to continuing our lives without interference from ACS.

    If you are looking for an excellent attorney who is knowledgeable and has compassion for his clients, please choose Michael. You will not be disappointed.

  2. Magic Mike

    Posted by Rich,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.

    A consummate professional from start to finish. Mike took an uncomfortable, unfortunate situation, and got my life back on track. Mike worked his magic, fought vigorously in the courtroom against some unjust railroading. He was able to get all charges down to a mere traffic violation.
    Mike is a genuine good guy , who believed in me and my case, and cared about the outcome. He answered all questions, as well as calmed all fears. I was not afraid to go into the courtroom with Mike at my side.
    Wish we met under different circumstances , I was lucky to have Mike as my lawyer.

  3. Fantastic Criminal Attorney who knows how to take care of bussiness

    Posted by Mustapha, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    Michael is an exceptional lawyer. He understands the NYC criminal court system because of his past experience as a Assistant District Attorney. He also understands the NYPD and how they operate. He was very confident from the beginning and knew exactly what to do. Michael was able to get all criminal charges dismissed for my son because of his dedication and commitment to the client. Most of all he is easy to contact and talk to anytime, even by text or email. I did my research when I choose him and I am glad it really paid off.

  4. saved the day

    Posted by joseph, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Michael s Discioarro saved the day in more than one way in my case. Not only was he able to keep my license from being revoked he was also able to have charges reduced to a violation. I am eternally grateful for all his efforts.

  5. DWI case

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael more than 3 years ago.
    • Michael handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Discioaro is an absolute pleasure to work with. From my consultation, I knew he was the lawyer to hire because from day one he said the charges would get dropped, which they did. During my court case, he tried to let me now how long it would take since I had work. He is always available to talk, via text which I liked because I am not available to talk on the phone much. It is because of him I won't have a criminal record. Not only is he professional, but really personable which was helpful when feeling nervous. I would and already have recommended him to others.

  6. Got the job done

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.

    I hired him after mediocre assistance from my court appointed counsel and was glad I did. He was straight forward and forthcoming with helpful advice. His knowledge of the courts and his vigorous defense on my behalf brought my case to a successful resolution after working hard on it for over a year and a half.

  7. The fight against ACS

    Posted by Elena, a Family client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 1-6 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Family matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Discioarro
    Provided his services for an ACS case that I was involved in. I was a victim of harassment and numerous ACS reports were made about me. ACS assumed I was guilty without doing a proper investigation.
    Mr. Discioarro, listen to my case, he was attentive to my concerns as a professional and understood the ramification such allegations could pose for my family. He made sure to fight for a formal investigation of my case and was successful. It was ultimately discovered that the allegations were false and the case was dismissed without me or my family having to be subjected further to ACS's bullying techniques or demands.

  8. Great lawyer, although I hope I never need to see him again.

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Good
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I had zero experience going into this and Mike provided excellent counsel during what was hands down one of the most difficult periods of my life. I always left his office and came away from phone calls with him feeling encouraged. As far as my legal issues were concerned, he was always a straight shooter. He knows that cases and events are often quite complex, that fact and truth are rarely as black and white as we'd like to believe, and he never loses sight of the humanity of the people he represents.

  9. Happy I Hired Him

    Posted by a Child Abuse client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.
    • I hired Michael 6-12 months ago.
    • Michael handled my Child Abuse matter.

    I had a case with ACS which was completely ridiculous, but they were being relentless, so I decided I needed a lawyer. Michael was very knowledgeable and responsive. He laid out, in a very straight forward manner, what could happen and what we needed to do. I hired him the same day I met with him and he immediately contacted ACS. It was such a relief to have his help. He kept me up to date with everything that happened. ACS changed the case to "unfounded" which was what I wanted, without having to go to a hearing, which was wonderful. I am so happy I hired him.

  10. Great DWI Defense Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Michael Discioarro.

    Mike did a great job for me. I was charged with a misdemeanor DWI. He was able to get the charge knocked down to a traffic violation. He went above and beyond to get me this result. He is very knowledgeable about the process and felt he always had my best interest at heart at all times. I would highly recommend him to anyone facing a similar situation.