Judith S. Charny’s Reviews

Judith S. Charny

Average Rating

Based on 9 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Collaboration - That's what working with Judy is all about

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith 1-3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Over the years, I had heard horror stories about friends who've gone through a divorce. What a difference it makes when you find an attorney who not only really knows the law and how to navigate it but also really communicates in a way you can understand. Judy is all that and more. She really cared about me and my family ~ helping us through the tough time. Months after my divorce was finalized, I still pick up the phone and call to keep in touch.

  2. Stay away!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith 1-3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Her firm did absolutely nothing for winning my divorce case or protecting me AND made sure to bill me and take every cent they knew I had! And I did all the work!! Avoid them at all costs

  3. A consummate professional in every sense of the word

    Posted by Paul K. Conti, Jr.,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.

    I first met Judy earlier this year and whether she is involved in a case, participating at a community event or spending time with family, her enthusiasm is truly contagious. It's so nice to have someone whose energy matches mine and she is thriving as part of our networking group. Not only do I trust in referring her to family, friends and peers, I know Judy is equally committed to reciprocity. She is definitely a mover and shaker in every positive sense. Moreover, Judy is a pleasure to be around. I'm so happy we forged a solid working relationship and friendship.

  4. Judy helped me move forward

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    When I met Judy, we were both raising our children and as we sat on the playground, I never thought needing a divorce attorney was in my future. But, when my marriage began to unravel, I reached out to her. Judy was a woman I'd long respected and I knew she had the knowledge, expertise and confidence to help me move forward. It was a very emotionally difficult time and her energy and compassion kept me on track. I truly felt she was in the trenches right beside me and was there when I needed anything. She understood the total picture and offered tremendous support, encouraging growth through an awful time. I would recommend her highly.

  5. Efficient, fair and definitely the right choice.

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I was referred to Judy by a number of friends when separating from my husband. While I did interview other attorneys, there was a connection right from the start. Judy was (and is) kind but also direct. She doesn't sugarcoat the issues, which is important. Once we met, I felt as a woman she would have a true understanding of the challenges we face working and raising children. The idea that she was multi-tasking as I was made me know we would relate well. Judy is efficient, fair and definitely the right choice. Her professionalism and reputation speak volumes. My friends were right and through the difficult time, I came out with a new friend, Judy.

  6. Referring attorney

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith 1-3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    I am a practicing attorney that practices exclusively in the criminal law area. So when I get a client with a matrimonial problem, I need to refer them to an attorney who is competent, hard working, and will do a good job. Judy Charny is all of these. She makes me look good as the referring attorney--and she does a great job for her clients. She is aggressive when she has to be and smart enough to take a low key approach when it benefits her clients. I would highly recommend her.

  7. Judy's all that and more!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I'm not the first 40-something woman to go through a divorce and probably won't be the last. What I do know for certain is how fortunate I was to have Judy right beside me. She came highly recommended by a close friend and I could not be more grateful. Judy is a consummate professional. She communicates extremely well and her clarity helped immeasurably as I dealt with so many emotions. I needed someone with experience and who could guide me. Equally important was for me to find an attorney I could trust at a time filled with uncertainty. Judy was (and is) all that and more. I highly recommend her.

  8. Unparalleled Knowledge and Compassion

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    When I first met with Judy, I was so lost. My marriage was ending and I was in the dark when it came to getting divorced. I had watched friends have such awful experiences and that scared me. However, after one conversation with Judy, it was clear I was in the best hands. She listened intently, asked detailed questions and shared valuable insight. Judy's attention to my case never wavered from that very first meeting. She was always there with helpful advice and a compassionate ear. I couldn't have asked for more in an advocate for my best interests. Judy truly helped me successfully move on with my life.

  9. STAY AWAY!

    Posted by a Divorce client,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Knowledgeable
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Judith Charny.
    • I hired Judith more than 3 years ago.
    • Judith handled my Divorce / Separation matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    This attorney is all about making money and does not care about her clients at all. Do not let her advertisements fool you. She did nothing to help me in my divorce and I ended up paying thousands to her and did not get a dime back. She was a major disappointment. I ended up hiring another attorney who finally helped me out and he told me that she has had a bad client reputation for many years. Do not go to this attorney. You will be sorry if you do.