Elliot S Stomel’s Guides

Elliot S Stomel

Cherry Hill DUI / DWI Attorney.

Contributor Level 14
  1. Driving While Suspended/Revoked License in New Jersey

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, over 4 years ago. STAFF PICK

    The penalties for driving with a suspended/revoked license in the State of New Jersey are set forth in N.J.S. 39:3-40. They include mandatory fines, an additional suspension of driving privileges, and even mandatory jail under certain circumstances, as well as for second and thir...

    5 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  2. Personalized License Plates In New Jersey

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    Personalized license plates are available in the State of New Jersey for a one-time fee of $50 (in addition to the regular registration fee. RESTRICTIONS: No personalized plate combination which is considered offensive will be approved for issuance. The law governing issuance of ...

  3. NEW JERSEY MUNICIPAL COURT: MERGER VS. DISMISSAL

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    Sometimes an individual has the misfortune of being issued two or more moving violation violations with exposure to incurring points in large quantities. For example, if you have been issued a ticket for speeding at a dangerously high speed (a 5-point ticket), it is not uncomm...

    2 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  4. FIELD SOBRIETY TESTS - NEW JERSEY DUI/DWI

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    In New Jersey, police are generally required to conduct Field Sobriety Tests before issuing a summons for driving while intoxicated or driving under the influence. These physical and psychological tests are intended to provide the police with information necessary to determine...

    2 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  5. NEW JERSEY: POSSESSION OF DRUGS IN A MOTOR VEHICLE

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    In New Jersey, possession of drugs in a motor vehicle is governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1, which states: No person shall operate a motor vehicle on any highway while knowingly having in his possession or in the motor vehicle any controlled dangerous substance as classified ...

  6. NEW JERSEY: THE PRETRIAL INTERVENTION PROGRAM (PTI)

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    The Pretrial Intervention Program (PTI) provides first-time offenders with an opportunity for an alternative to ordinary prosecution. PTI seeks to provide early rehabilitative services when such services can reasonably be expected to deter future criminal behavior. The PTI prog...

  7. SHOPLIFTING IN NEW JERSEY

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    The New Jersey shoplifting statute(N.J.S.A. 2C:20-11) specifies the various acts that constitute a shoplifting offense. A person commits a shoplifting offense if he/she, (1) takes or carries away merchandise offered for sale; (2) hides or conceals merchandise; (3) switches or alt...

  8. New Jersey Marijuana Cases: The Conditional Discharge Program

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    The law in New Jersey provides individuals with one opportunity to avoid a conviction for simple possession of marijuana. This diversionary program is known as a "conditional discharge." Certain conditions must be met in order for an individual to qualify for a conditional discha...

    5 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  9. PENNSYLVANIA DUI: AN OVERVIEW OF THE ARD PROGRAM

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, about 4 years ago.

    Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD) is a program offered to first offenders charged with DUI in the State of Pennsylvania. By successfully completing the program, first-time Pennsylvania DUI offenders are able to avoid lengthy court proceedings and are able to have their...

    4 people found this Legal Guide helpful

  10. Megan's Law

    Written by attorney Elliot Stomel, over 4 years ago.

    How do I know if I have to register? That depends on the offense you were convicted of and when the court's decision in your case occurred. The registration requirement may apply if you were convict

Call now for a free consultation.

856-216-1700