Skip to main content
Cassandra T Savoy

Cassandra Savoy’s Answers

31 total

  • In a divorce case is there anything like abandonment of marriage how dose it apply

    how long a person have to be out of home before abandonment of marriage apply

    Cassandra’s Answer

    The specific answer is that one spouse has to stop supporting the family for at least one year. However, most people filing for a divorce in NJ claim irreconcilable differences. You will be able to file within six months after the "problems" began. If you claim irreconcilable differences, you can then focus your attention on resolving issues of spousal and child support, the distribution of assets and liabilities and other matters that will be more meaningful down the line.

    See question 
  • Charges for Copies?

    The court ordered my husbands law firm to produce documents related to his employment (he is an attorney). The lawyer for the firm wants to charge me almost $1000.00 to make copies. Can they do that? I don't need paper copies, I need digital c...

    Cassandra’s Answer

    • Selected as best answer

    The firm is allowed to charge for discovery, but the fee has to be reasonable. The reason for the amount charged is in part to cause you to reconsider your request. If you think the amount is unreasonable, ask the court for input.

    See question 
  • I live in New Jersey and I haven't seen my wife in 17 years. I want to divorce her so I can move on with my life.

    Her last whereabouts were in New York.

    Cassandra’s Answer

    Contact me to file a complaint. In the event you do not know your spouse's address, we can still file. I look forward to hearing from you!

    See question 
  • Child support and alimony

    i have 4 kids we divorced 2 of the kids 18 and more the other 9 and 12 under the agreement she has the phisycal custody and i have to pay 1000/month my ex is math teacher she make 1000/week i am car salesman i mak...

    Cassandra’s Answer

    Your question is complex and I do not have all of the information to give you a definitive answer. However, ifi you are already divorced and you did not get alimony, it is probably too late to get alimony now. If you believe that the child support is unfair, you may be able to ask the court for a reduction. While I believe you need a lawyer's help, you can file a complaint to reduce child support by going down to the court house. Bring all of your financial records with you on the day of the hearing: income tax returns (3 years), 3 recent pay stubs,

    See question 
  • If your boyfriend is a tier 2 sex offender and he wanted to move in with you and your school age children, is that possible?

    do you'll have to be married for him to do that, or have children together for you'll to live together....what are the rules on this? And if you'll were to move in together, would your neighbors and children school be notified?

    Cassandra’s Answer

    You are inviting a problem. The neighbors will surely learn of his status and if you are reported to Child Protective Services it could become problematic for you.

    See question 
  • Can I press charges?

    I had an argument with my (now ex) boyfriend on Wednesday. I lost my temper and slapped his face, which I acknowledge and accept blame for. He then put me in a headlock, and threw me against the wall. My eye busted open and I was bleeding excessiv...

    Cassandra’s Answer

    You initiated the harm that befell you. I would move on with my life and let sleeping dogs lie. You must have expected a response when you slapped his face, and you knew then he is bigger and stronger than you.

    See question 
  • How can I drop a protective order from 12 years ago in New Jersey that I didn't even know about?

    I had dated a women that was a bit unstable. When I left there was no arguing or fighting. When I applied for a pistol permit in Connecticut 12 years later they told me that I have an open no contact order. The detective gave me the case number...

    Cassandra’s Answer

    You have a problem. Restraining orders in NJ are permenent. although a permanent order could not have been issued without you. I would contact the court and request a hearing. Let the court find her.

    See question 
  • TRO and dept payment obligations

    i have a temporary domestice violence restraining order against my husband. i have left the residence and did not request a move out order against him. i requested that he make the house payment on 11/01. all was granted on my request. The court ...

    Cassandra’s Answer

    In general, move out or stay in, the mortgage has to be paid. The court usually does not allow one party not to make payments for household bills even when the court orders the party out of the marital residence, particularly if there are children.

    See question 
  • How can i get a no contact order a parole violation specialist has put on me and my boyfrind lifted?

    they said while hes in anger managenment treatmentwe arent allowed to have contact we have two kids and we are engaged so how can we just not have contact?

    Cassandra’s Answer

    You can always ask the court for an order.

    See question 
  • Can my husband stop me from divorcing him?

    He refuses to get a divorce until my daughter and I go to counseling. I feel like he is just trying to prolong the process. I don not disagree that my daughter will need to go to counseling because divorce is hard on children, but I am a single mo...

    Cassandra’s Answer

    While laws vary state to state, in most states, there are no fault laws which allow either party to file for a divorce at will. The other party need not "sign" to agree to getting a divorce. In most states all you need to do if file a Complaint for divorce and have the spouse served in accordance with the state's court rules. You can't be forced to remain married. Find a lawyer to advise you about the court rules in your state, and file your complaint.

    See question