I was intoxicated, hit the victim, and left. I haven't spoken with cops, but I know the victim filed a police report. Should I talk to the cops, or wait for a warrant? Also, my toddler was there but my fiancé grabbed here and took her away from t...
Possible charges include: Assault 3rd , Disorderly Conduct, Breach of Peace, Risk of Injury to a Minor (which is a class C felony). DCF may get involved. DO NOT TALK TO POLICE WITHOUT CONSULTING WITH AN ATTORNEY!!.See question
My attorney immediately requested it or subpoena it and was told it was accidentally destroyed and is not available. Is that grounds for a motion to dismiss in Connecticut? Thanks
If your attorney can establish "bad faith" on the part of the police department then it may be possible pursuant to the US Supreme Court case of Arizona v. Youngblood. Otherwise, a motion to dismiss would not succeed. As previously noted, you should be directing these questions to your attorney.See question
It was a right of way ticket. But I had completed my turn and was in front of the neighbors house. Also the officer was not there on the s cene.
The charges were dropped, right? If so, what is your question?See question
I did 2 years in prison. I have no felonies. 3 years probation. I just want to continue school. Took a plea deal so I could have no felonies. Should I go through the courts or PO? I would need to move to a new address.
This can be worked out with your probation officer.See question
My 18 year old son was apparently caught shop lifting a shirt worth about $40 from Lord and Taylor at the local mall. They confiscated the shirt and took all of his info and said they will be sending home a civil demand letter asking for about $25...
Sure, ignore them and eventually they will go away. You will get letters but rarely, if ever, do they actually spend the time or resources to pursue any claim under the statute to which they refer.See question
I had refused the breathalyser based on my attorney friend's advice to do so. I did not realize he meant if I wanted to challenge it. This is my first offense, I realize now I should have taken the breathalyzer. I work full time and go to school f...
You need to win the hearing at the DMV. It's an all or nothing proposition. You win=no suspension. You lose=6 months suspension with work permit after 90 days. That's it. No other options available.See question
Given misdemeanor Summons / complaint ticket for misdemeanor C. Have to show up in court in 2 wks. Do I need a lawyer if I'm a first time offender with no criminal record? I would like to get diversion or restitution and not have this on my record...
If you are a first time offender than jail is highly unlikely. That being said, hiring an attorney to represent your interests is always a good idea so as to minimize the possible consequences of any disposition, including one which would leave you with no criminal record whatsoever. At the very least, you should consult with an experienced criminal defense lawyer, There are many excellent ones her on AVVO and most offer free consultations.See question
I was driving drunk, impaired, crashed the car. Police arrived and had the car towed, handcuffed me to hospital. At the scene they took a breath test. I was subconscious, but had crashed the car before police arrived. I rested in the hospital over...
Impossible to say. However, you should not be making admissions to driving under the influence on this site or to your insurance company if they ask for a recorded statement from you. You should consult with an attorney before speaking to your insurance company and to the police, if asked by them. Also, are you absolutely certain that no blood was drawn?See question
DAYS to enter a motion to Set aSide the judgment-Sentence IN CT? TECHNICAL QUESTION
Convicted of what offense. Was it a guilty plea or following a trial/hearing?See question
I got a DUI in Tennessee. I live in Connecticut. Will Tennessee report my DUI to Connecticut? How will I know if my license is suspended or not?
If you are convicted of DWI in Tennessee, Connecticut will find out about the conviction and suspend your license as though the conviction occurred in CT. If this is your 1st DWI conviction then your license will be suspended for 1 year. If it's your 2nd conviction then it will be suspended for 3 years. However, if Tennessee offers a diversionary program that, if successfully completed, results in a dismissal of the dwi charges then there will be no consequences to your CT driving privileges.See question