Skip to main content
James O Ruane
Avvo
Pro

James Ruane’s Answers

8 total

  • I am a double 1st time dui offender my susp. is up and another year passed instead of an iid can i just wait longer?

    Double first offender with 3 driving under sus. I did my time, probation, community service and 2 susbstance abuse programs. my license expired over 2 years ago and my 2 year suspension ended july 22nd of this year.

    James’s Answer

    You can, but the DMV may simply make the IID a condition to get your license back. Plus, the longer you go without getting it back, the more likely you would be to get caught driving without a license. The IID program is a pain, but the people at Smart Start make it pretty easy. I would recommend them.

    See question 
  • Can you get a DUI if an officer suspects your high on cannabis?

    Can you get a DUI if an officer suspects your high on cannabis after he has pulled you over?

    James’s Answer

    Yes, the law allows you to be prosecuted for being under the influence of marijuana.

    See question 
  • On probation after doing 1+years in jail for 3 DUI's. Have been charged with my 4th.What will be the consequences.

    On probation after doing 1+ years for 3 DUI's. Have since been charged with a fourth. What are the likely consequences?

    James’s Answer

    The answer above is a good reason why attorneys who are not licensed in Connecticut should not be answering questions about Connecticut law. We have no "habitual" offender law here.

    The first thing you should do would be to inform your probation officer about your arrest. Your probation agreement requires that. Because of your post, I am assuming that your license is still under suspension, which may mean that your probation can be violated for the crime of Operation Under Suspension (14-215c)

    The sooner you speak with an attorney, the faster you can take steps to get into a treatment program which will not conflict with your court dates and could help in mitigation if you are found guilty.

    Feel free to contact an attorney of your choosing. Most attorneys will give you a free consultation. The Connecticut Criminal Defense Lawyers Association has a website which lists it member attorneys. They are ccdla.com

    Good luck.

    See question 
  • Is a dui a felony in connecticut

    happened in 2003, 2nd offense, no jail time. license suspended for 1 year (now reinstated). had to go to course and do community service in additin to paying a fine

    James’s Answer

    Since there was no jail time, this means the person was treated as a first offense, which is a misdemeanor in Connecticut.
    Best
    Jay Ruane
    www.RuaneAttorneys.com/DUI

    See question 
  • I did not finish paying my restation

    What can happen to me if I didn't pay all my court order restitution.can I get arrested

    James’s Answer

    You can be violated on your probation if you did not pay back all your restitution. You should check into when your probation expires. If your probation has ended and you did not pay, they cannot go after you if the time for a civil suit has ended.

    See question 
  • Am i eligebale for probation or ne other program instead of jail?

    i was arrested recently for poss of narcotics, poss with intent to sell, sale of certain illegal drugs, conspiracy to sell narcotics, ill. possesion of weapon in mv, and drug paraphanellia. i co-operated with policeand told them where my safe was ...

    James’s Answer

    Your best possibility for this is to consult with your attorney. No attorney can give you this type of advice without know more of the facts of your case, and knowing how the prosecutors are treating the case. You cooperated, and that should count for something, but you need to have faith in your attorney. The final disposition will either be a trial or you can have your attorney negotiate with the prosecutor or judge, so work with your attorney to earn the best possible result.

    See question 
  • Friend needs criminal defense (CT), but SSDI check exceeds PD income limit.

    Accussed of ID theft (numerous counts)(drug related). Has a criminal (felony) record, drug related. Bank pressing charges.This person has NO FINANCIAL RESOURCES beyond his monthly check (2,000).He is currently in treatment and has expenses. PD was...

    James’s Answer

    You may want to contact either the UConn Law School Legal clinic or the Quinnipiac Law clinic, both of whom service people who cannot afford attorneys but who exceed the Public defender Guidelines.

    See question 
  • How does one handle from CT a minor consumption charge in Indiana?

    Court date is May 25th in Indiana and my son, who was with fraternity brothers sleeping in a tent, when Indiana police raided the campsite. He, along with 3 dozen other students, was arrested, after police did breathalizers on all of them. Is ther...

    James’s Answer

    You should contact a local Indiana Attorney, and a good starting point are the attorneys that are members of the NCDD. You should make sure that whatever the resolution in Indiana that your Indiana attorney check with a lawyer in Connecticut (like me) to make sure there are no adverse consequences to your son's license here in CT BEFORE you resolve the case in Indiana.

    See question